We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waynesboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed for three nights over Labor Day weekend so we could visit nearby Monticello, Ash Lawn Highland, Montpelier, and Skyline Drive. We have stayed in many B&Bs over the years and this one ranks in our top two for sure. The B&B itself is a beautiful home situated in a quiet neighborhood. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and great consideration has been given for the comfort of visitors. The breakfasts are delicious and the desserts even better. We really enjoyed dessert time and the conversations. Jim and Kay are warm, friendly, and willing to share information about the area. It is apparent that they enjoy their business.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 77Theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
Hi Theresa!
WoW. Thanks so much; we think you are WONDERFUL, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Having never stayed at a B&B before I wasn't sure what to expect but Jim and Kay made me feel like I was home. My husband and I, both early 30's and newly weds, arrived received a tour and lots of info on where we can go to see things in Waynesboro and Charlottesville. Breakfast was AMAZING, my husband loved every minute we were there. Dessert is waiting for you when you come back as well as tea, coffee or juice at your door in the morning. You couldn't ask for more. The proof they really care for travelers is when you go out for the day they are always interested on where you have been so they can pass it on for the next guest. I will make these place a yearly treat for the hubby and I.

Room Tip: They have several rooms to pick from some with adjoining bathrooms, one does not but is the best roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
You both were a lot of fun and we are very happy that you had a great stay. See you again next year!

Thanks,
Jim & Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here on our 26th anniversary and could not have been more pleased. Jim and Kay were the friendliest hosts and worked hard to make us feel at home. They have a beautiful home in a lovely neighborhood. We originally chose it to be nearby to Monticello, which we visited earlier that day. We will be back because we truly enjoyed our comfortable stay there. I have included some photos.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Quill Gordon room with private bath. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
You were wonderful guests! Thank you for your kind words and great photos!
JIM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hosts Jim and Kay made us feel welcome and catered to in their lovely home. Whether it was with a refreshing beverage upon arrival or a sweet home made dessert at bedtime, their genuine hospitality will be remembered. And the location is ideal for hiking along the Blue Ridge Parkway or sight seeing in Charlottesville.
Sincerely, Hector and Amy-Syracuse New York

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for your kind response! Please come back anytime... you were wonderful guests!
Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My wife found the Speckeled Trout on Tripadvisor and everything written in the reviews lived up to our expectations. We could not have been made to feel more welcome into their home. Jim was there with us each evening helping us plan our day trip for the following day. If there is a complaint it is only that breakfast each morning and dessert each evening were wonderful and my wife and I will carry them with us for a few more days.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the house and it was great but not sure there is much difference betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
You were great guests and we hope that you will consider us again when you are back in the area!
Thanks for a wonderful stay,
Jim & Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott Depot, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My husband and I traveled to Waynesboro for a nice weekend getaway and stayed at the Speckled Trout B&B. It was such a wonderful experience. The B&B is simply beautiful and the hospitality of Jim and Kay was above and beyond. Breakfast was amazing and they also served dessert each evening as we sat and enjoyed watching the Olympics in the quaint sitting room they have set up. We are definitely looking forward to returning. Thank you Jim and Kay for a wonderful experience. God Bless.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
You were great guests and we hope to see you again. It was wonderful to connect with fellow Alaskans.
Thanks for the great comments,
Jim and Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Speckled Trout for a mini-getaway without our toddler. The house was beautiful! Jim and Kay made us feel right at home and were very knowledgeable about things to do in the area, particularly where to go hiking. Breakfast was excellent each morning and we had a very relaxing time. Would recommend staying there to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim H, Owner at The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Hi Megan, how nice!
Guests from Charleston, S.C. just left, they also hiked up on the Blue Ridge Mountains; the Rip Rap Circuit Hike, almost 10 miles, they loved it!!! They plan to come back for several other hikes they had in mind. We'll be watching for you two, also!
Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
610 reviews
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
#5 of 9 in Waynesboro
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Waynesboro - Rt. 340
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Speckled Trout Bed and Breakfast
Address: 607 Oak Ave, Waynesboro, VA 22980-4428
Region: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speckled Trout offers a quintessential bed and breakfast experience-an elegant home in a historic Waynesboro, Virginia neighborhood...luxurious guest rooms with vintage four poster beds...delicious gourmet breakfasts...beautiful gardens for outdoor relaxation. The home is decorated in the delightful Virginia Hunt Country Style; a blending of traditional furnishings and sporting themes that convey a refined sense of adventure and comfort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing