We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Gasthaus Edelweiss

Gasthaus Edelweiss
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Weber City
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had dinner at this lovely place on Friday May 3. Everyone in our party enjoyed the many different entrée selections and had to have take out boxes so we would have room for dessert! If you enjoy authentic German food in a wonderful, cozy cottage then this is definitely the place for you! Make sure you order the red cabbage as a side, YUM! Don't pass up the Black Forest Cake. It's to die for and I am not even a huge chocolate fan!
Call for reservations, expect a leisurely pace, bring cash, and enjoy a taste of heaven in the tiny town of Weber City. The owners are very hospitable as well. Just thinking about our meal there makes me smile! Cant wait to return:) Next time I will order the rouladen ahead of time when I make reservations. It's got to be just as fabulous as everything else!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rugzmom37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
156 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Like a Visit to Germany in Southwest Virginia”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants. Since we live only about 20 minutes away, we have the benefit of getting to go often. As soon as you drive up and see the restaurant, you feel like you have already been transported to Germany. The Gasthaus is designed and decorated in beautifully authentic fashion. As lovely as the setting is, the real treat is the food ... delicious German dishes prepared and served by the owners, Ingrid and Edwin. Dining here is like going to their home for dinner. Plan a leisurely meal since each dish is prepared from scratch when ordered. Any short wait for that preparation is certainly worth it. The restaurant is small and cozy which allows for lots of personal attention from the owners; so, reservations are a must for dinner. They are only open Thursday, Friday, and Saturday for lunch and dinner. Every dish we have tried has been excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeTraveler420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Still Traveling
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Recommend! Authenic German cuisine in a cozy home atmosphere.”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Reserve ahead! I lived in Germany 16 months and the food there is unique, gourmet, and tastes the same all over Germany whether a sidewalk stand or elegant restaurant--sooo delicious!!!! American prepared German food tastes differently (eg, German red cabbage has apple in it..American German red cabbage does not). This is the real deal and worth the visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepACruisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, TN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I've eaten here with family twice. Wonderful food, authentic cuisine, great atmosphere, very clean, defintely affordable, very nice owners, she grows some of her own stuff in a garden next to the restaurant, best weisswurst and bratwurst I've ever had and the schnitzel and rouladen are also delicious. You'll need to call and make reservations. Let her know when you call if you'd like to have spaetzle, it takes a little more time and she can have it prepared before you get there. This place is quiet, intimate and charming. I live in Johnson city and its a little out of the way....but SO worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllSunshineAndRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
353 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Could not believe how good it was.”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

We tried sausages, lunch meats, the Reuben, and a veal dish that I cannot spell. Authentic imported meats, that surprised us. The best German food we have found in this area. Actually the best restaurant in this area, and very reasonable. Our new favorite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Giuseppes1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gasthaus Edelweiss also viewed

 

Been to Gasthaus Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing