We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay; best bang for your buck!”
Review of Cascades Motel

Cascades Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cascades Motel
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay; best bang for your buck!”
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Pros:
Clean
Value
Continental breakfast ... at the Woodlands and its HOT! Highly recommend!
Quaint

Cons:
Bedding probably dates back to the 18th century
Paper-thin walls
Obnoxiously loud heating/cooling system

The Cascade Motel suited our needs perfectly; we would and will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jackpot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stumbled upon this wonderful little place. The rooms look like they are still from 1950, and are so precious and cozy and comfortable. They are cleaned very well - almost spotless. The beds are a little hard, but it is worth it! The price is terrific. You can park right in front of your room and unpacking and packing is so easy that way. The area couldn't be better! You can walk to the cutest little restaurant, Hurah! Pizzaria - YUM!!! Everyone is super nice. You can walk to the Visitors Center where you can either walk a very cute (recommended!) trail to Colonial Williamsburg, or you can ride a tram. Colonial Williamsburg is so much fun! Eat at a Pub!!!! Do a tour - we did the ghost tour - it was fabulous!!!! I would recommend this hotel to EVERYONE! Everything is so close. We wanted to do Williamsburg for so many years and stumbled on this gem by accident and we plan to go back at Christmas to see the wonderful decorations. We will go back many times!!! This hotel is part of The Woodlands Hotel there and you get the free continental breakfast there, and it is very good. You can use the pool there too. Within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vacouple1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garner, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

tThis is the most peaceful,relaxing place. You park right at the door of your room. I feel so safe there whether I am alone or with family and friends. It reminds me of traveling with my deseased parents when I was a child. We stayed at places like this. There are taverns to eat in which is a must for the 18th century experience. Other restaurants are close by. The shopping is great. The visitors center is right there with shops and the bus to take you to the historical area. I am notlooking for modern when in colonial williamsburg. I love the feeling of the passed. I have loved staying there for the passed 25 years. The staff are so helpful. The setting is so picturesque Love it. Mary D..

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank red1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

The Cascade is the Woodlands Motel that allows dogs. It is behind the putt putt golf area and a very short walk from the main Hotel and Williamsburg Visitors center. The beds were comfortable and everthing was very clean. We had excellent service from the house keeping staff and we enjoyed the free breakfast. It is a bit off the beaten track and you feel like you're in a special club because most of the other guests in the motel are dog owners. We joked and told people we were at the Dog Motel... The room furnishings were very clean and neat though 50's colonial style, not partical board modern; our room also had some peeling wallpaper. Would we stay there again? You bet!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jacki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Clean, old, quiet, and over priced. Immaculate, and believe me I even looked for dust. Very quiet the only sounds came from us. Horrible beds - we changed our room after the 1st night because the beds were so poor, even our 9 year old daughter complained about her bed. Unfortunatly the beds were equally as poor in our 2nd room. The Cascades uses the same pool, park, golf, breakfast, etc. as the newer Woodlands hotel but for 1/2 the price (so that is why we decided to try this hotel). Had the beds been comfortable I would give this place a much better review...but after all, isn't one of the most important things in a hotel room SLEEP! Nice size pool.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DobermanCamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I agree with everything that PARoadtrip said. "Rustic" is an excellent way of putting it. As PARoadtrip said, it is a motel from another era (built in the 1950's). The room feels a little bit like a cabin at a summer camp. To help clarify how it is different from a run-of-the-mill cheap hotel, the rooms have hardwood floors and solid wood furniture.
We have 4 kids. We stayed there in July 2008, and got 2 rooms with a connecting door, and enjoyed it thoroughly. We will return in June 2009. This time I found out that there are corner rooms that can sleep up to 7 people, so we will be in one of those.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 68flapjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

My wife and I have loved and visited Colonial Williamsburg since the mid 1970s. OK, we are ancient. Had our honeymoon there. Coming up from Key West this spring (2009) with our ancient Westie Harry, we had time to revisit CW -- and the only place where dogs are allowed was the Cascades. It was lovely. We felt a bit banished to Siberia; there was no one else around, usually (they did stick another couple in the room next to use for a night: humans noisy, dog silent). The gutters were rotting and the distant parking fields were decaying. Still, the room was excellent -- far more comfortable and in its way: stylish even, and far more than what you'd find for twice the money along I95 -- and convenient to Col. Wmsbrg's fine attractions, if you are willing to walk, take the CW bus or a short drive. Quiet, comfortable, with IRONED SHEETS! We had the feeling the "Cascades," as they call it (once known as the Motor House, the former Cascades was what is now the conference center, which years ago had a terrific buffet breakfast with stewed oysters and real Smithfield Bacon, all you could eat, in pre-Lipitor days) was not long for this world -- a bit of rot in the gutters, decaying parking areas, outdoor lighting long since turned off and left to corrode. Still, it was cool. We usually stay in the Inn (lots of bucks and very very well worth it) or the Colonial Houses (fabulous and, though not cheap, a bargain), but with our dog it was the Cascades -- and we found the usual attention to detail, finesse, charm, eccentricity, comfort that we've always expected from Dear Old Colonial Williamsburg. Go. It's a good dal, if you are in the right mood.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#44 of 74 in Williamsburg
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.4 mi away
Budget Inn Williamsburg
Budget Inn Williamsburg
#60 of 74 in Williamsburg
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.8 mi away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades Motel

Property: Cascades Motel
Address: 102 Visitor Center Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Cascades Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing