We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Family Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Family Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The room was nice, the staff were kind and we had a breakfast that was good.

The only issue we had was the AC was a bit loud in the room and it didn't really get it cool; the thermostat said "64" but it wasn't much below 70-71 and humid. I didn't say anything because we were rushing out of there on Sunday.

We'd go back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly4god
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Good Morning!!

Thank You for choosing us as your choice of hotel during your visit to Williamsburg, Va. We really do appreciate it. I am very happy to know that you had a wonderful time here, and that our staff and facility was able to accomdate your needs. I would like to apologize about your AC not working. We have contacted the right department so that they will be able to look into this. When you are able to get a chance, can you please contact me at (757)220-0880 about your previous reservation. Have a great day!!


Alexis Williams
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Historic Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    297
    169
    78
    45
See reviews for
450
278
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
louisiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We Stayed 5 nights at this location. Staff was helpful when I had questions. Nice and polite.
Our room was cleaned and replenished with towels and toiletries daily. Our location was on the 2nd floor, nice and quiet.

very close to Historic Williamsburg, Great price and great location., eat breakfast somewhere else.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank born2travelLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Good Morning!!

I would first like to say "Thank You" for choosing the Best Western Plus Historic Area, we really do appreciate it. While looking over your review, I was very pleased to know that my staff as well as the hotel was able to provide you and your family with an experince that will last a lifetime. I do want to apologize on our behalf of the breakfast qualitiy. By letting us know about your concerns, we are more knowledgeable on the things we need to work on. If you every decide to come back to the Williamsburg, Va area please feel free to contact me at (757) 220-0880 and I will personally take care of you and your family. Have a wonderful day!!


Alexis Williams
Front Office Manager
Best Western Plus Hsitoric Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Clean room, friendly staff. First experience w/ a Best Western. Would most likely recommend to somebody visiting Williamsburg. Had an issue with air conditioner (didn't work), repairs attempted. Moved to another room which was a bit of an inconvience...but upgrade provided for party that was traveling w/ us at no extra charge. Had an issue with room keys not working on third night, but to their credit issue was resolved quickly. Breakfast was worst that I have encountered in 20 years of traveling. But for the price... an overall good experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danicraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your response concerning your recent stay at the Best Western Historic. We apologize for the difficulties with the AC and room keys. As for the breakfast, we are currently looking at options to improve the selection. We are glad to hear that overall your stay was enjoyable. Once again thank you for your response.

Bill
AGM
Best Western Historic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, Delaware
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed at Best Western this past weekend while attending a school trip with my daughter. Overall, the hotel is nice however, there were signs of wear and tear. When the room I was staying in was cleaned, the crew missed the ice bucket and left the emptied trash can on top of the toilet. Breakfast buffet was no more or less than expected.

Now for the bad part. First, about an hour after our group had checked in they evacuated the hotel due to a gas leak. While the leak was beyond the hotel's control, the coordination of getting guests out was awful. No calls were made to individual rooms, nor alarms sounded, to alert anyone of the problem. The entire evacuation was done by word of mouth with guests alerting other guests to leave the building.

Second, the housekeeping staff was quite rude to the group leader Saturday morning as we were going room to make sure all of the kids were on the bus. They thought she was checking in on them and made a sarcastic comment about how they "looked like" high school students.

Third, when we arrived home my daughter realized her Ipod had been left in the room. She and I were the last ones out and shut the door behind us. She called the hotel immediately Sunday evening and was told to call back the next day. I took over from that point on and called Monday morning and again Monday afternoon. I received a call back from the hotel only once on Monday evening. This was to tell me to call on Tuesday to speak with housekeeping. Called on Tuesday and was told the Housekeeping Mgr. was off until Wednesday at 9:00 and to call then. I did, left a message and had to call back again to be told the Ipod was not found in the room. No suprise, a pair of brown shoes left by another student in a different room were recovered.

I would never stay at this hotel again and would recommend others avoid it as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlhandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Good afternoon,

I would like to thank you for the response regarding your recent stay. At the sametime I would like to apologize for the inconvienances you experienced while at the Best Western. We did receive claims of gas fumes during your stay and we immediately called Virginia Natural Gas. After precautionary procedures were suggested to our hotel by Virginia Natural Gas our front desk attempted to contact all rooms by phone. Virginia Natural Gas responded much faster than anticipated so we were unable to contact all guests. After an inspection was completed no leak of any kind was found.

We are not responsible for any items that may be left at the hotel. The hotel recovers lost items on a daily basis and we research each claim with the same urgency no matter how small or large the value of the item. We do hope that you will reconsider returning to the Best Western Williamsburg in the future since you found the hotel overall to be nice, Please contact me directly in the event that you decide to do so. Thank you and once again we apologize for the inconvienances you experienced during your stay.

Assistant Manager
Bill Saccardi
Best Western Historic Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Being in Williamsburg during spring break for public schools, the hotel had lots of young children and families so it was a bit noisy at times. The room size was good. It was clean and had a refrigerator and microwave. It was close to restaurants and a K-Mart if you need to pick up any last minute items. The breakfast was very crowded and probably could have used more staff to re-stock and clean the tables. Overall our experience was good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locolomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Thank you for your response concerning your stay at the Best Western Historic. Yes, spring break is challenging but we are pleased your stay was enjoyable. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
va
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Despite a miscommunication with the checkin (wrong room type) we had no issues with our room, except the noise from being right across from the stairwell.

The only thing I have to comment on negative was the breakfast. It was terrible. Everything that didn't resemble pet food was cold or looked like it was from yesterday. It's not really difficult to keep something in a chafing dish that looks appealing and stays warm...that's the entire point.

Increase the quality of the breakfast offerings and we'll return again next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soulslayer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Assistant Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your response to your stay at the Best Western Historic Williamsburg. We apologize for the miscommunication of room type and more importantly we are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations for breakfast. Please contact me directly in the event you return to Williamsburg VA. We would appreciate the chance to make this right for you.

Thank you
Bill Saccardi-Assistant Manager
757 220-0880
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainview, New York
Level Contributor
295 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel was conveniently located between Busch Gardens and the historic sites. The rooms were clean, stafff was friendly, breakfast included, and a nice pool area. The price was right as well. We would definately come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Insbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for your response concerning your recent stay. It is always good to hear positive responses. If you return to Williamsburg please feel free to contact us at 757 220-0880, we would be happy to be of any assistance. Thanks again!

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#34 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Address: 201 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing