We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation spot great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I was there the week after the 4th of July, 2014. It was very easy to locate and very convenient to every thing. Price was good. Staff was excellent very accommodating and friendly. Hotel was very secure needed room pass key to access the building. Stayed 7 days had breakfast there every morning, which should say it all about the breakfast. (Eggs, french toast sticks, sausage link and patty or bacon, several types of cereal, milk, juice, donut, muffins, oatmeal, fruit, and yogurt and very hot coffee. Would recommend and would stay again. Please don't hesitate staying here. If you read the reviews it looks like we had a better staff than the other people. We had no problems what so ever.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbercreek3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and hotel. Good to hear you enjoyed the breakfast which we believe offers a wide variety. Always a joy to read reviews such as yours which lets us know we made someone's stay truly enjoyable.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,006)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 1,006 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overall, the hotel rooms were very nice and clean. Some of the photos on here are older and do not capture some of the updates that have been made. The rooms have flat screen tvs and there are two washer and dryer sets on the first floor. The hotel is very close to local attractions including theme parks and shopping. Breakfast is providing from 7 to 10 each morning, but we did elect to go out for breakfast later in the week. What seemed to be lots of options at the continental breakfast on day 1 dwindled as the week went on. There was an issue with the elevator getting stuck, but it was repaired within an hour of contacting the front desk. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review, good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the elevator issue but Im happy to hear we resolved the issue quickly. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We couldn't complete our stay. When we arrived, one of our reservations was lost. The other half of our family had to go to another hotel. When we got to our room the AC did not work and the fridge was missing. We were there in August and the room was hot. The staff was not helpful in fixing any of these issues. They could not offer another room, and did not offer to make reservations elsewhere. We were traveling with two small children, ages 4 and 1, and could not have them sleep in a hot room. The staff was unsympathetic. We finally moved to the hotel our other family had gone to earlier. We will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel. Avoid room 212.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your review, We apologize for the difficulties you experienced during your stay. We will look into the situation and find out why one reservation was missing. We never like to hear reviews such as yours but thank you for sharing it because we need to know in order to improve, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here while making a vacation with our grand kids to Jamestown and Historic Williamsburg. The motel was sufficient enough for our stay but we wondered how it held the 'Plus' designation. The first night the pool was over run by 12 year old kids without supervision. Several with a lack of respect for others. The room was average in comfort and amenities. The breakfast was slight in comparison to others we have experienced. If you qualify for a discount of some type this may be alright, otherwise it's a pricey stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DDague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your review and we apologize for the overcrowded pool area. The pool is very popular especially in summer time when school is out. We are sorry for not exceeding your expectations. We hope to see you again in the future, we appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This Best Western was a serious disappointment - from check in personnel who could not help with finding late dinner, to trouble getting a missing remote, to uncomfortable pillows, to, worst, an unresponsive manager. I love Best Western but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your review, we are very sorry to hear that we were unresponsive. That is something a hotel never wants to hear but thank you for letting us know. Please accept our apologies and we hope we can make it up to you someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Took the Grand kids to Jamestown for the day. The hotel accommodations were excellent as the room was clean and met our needs. In room refrigerator and microwave was nice touch. The pool was clean and made for a refreshing end of a hot day. Breakfast was okay, typical breakfast choices. Kids were disappointed that they didn't have a waffle maker but toaster waffles instead. We have and will come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for the kind review and it is great to hear that you plan to once again return. Your business is definitely appreciated. Please contact us directly when you plan to return. Once again thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed only one night at this Hotel so that we could visit the historic area in Williamsburg. There are two major issues that would cause me not to recommend this hotel to others:
1. Training of the staff. When we arrived, on our way to and from our room, we had to move vacuum cleaners inn three spots because they blocked the entire hallway. In two situations, the cord was completely crossing the hallway. This could have been an accident and a lawsuit for anyone who might have been less observant.
2. They really do need to update this hotel. Though it seemed to be clean enough, the entire hotel seems to be rundown.

I won't be returning here, and certainly don't recommend it to others. There are many other options available in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexis W, Manager at Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for mentioning the issue with the housekeeping equipment in the hallway. As for the updating of the hotel, there are plans coming soon which we are very excited about. We are sorry for not making your stay exceptional but will use your comments to address the issues. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
740 reviews
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn

Address: 201 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £53 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance to several restaurants. All rooms come with a microwave and refrigerator. Continental breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Best Western Williamsburg
Waller Mills Inn
Williamsburg Best Western
Waller Mill Inn Williamsburg Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing