We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent make over but very noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Recent make over but very noisy.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

They've had a recent makeover and we had a very lovely room. Sadly, the walls seem VERY thin and we had the misfortune to be there when several families with small children were also there. We were also only half way down the hall from the front lobby and the breakfast traffic Sunday morning was very loud.

The Continental breakfast is just that and nothing special. The coffee machine was somewhat confusing to use the coffee was terrible. Also, they ran out of several food items very early including half and half for coffee.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandiW063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear SandiW063,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the families that surrounded your room and the traffic going to the breakfast area. We are in our peak season at this time, so the hotel for the most part will be filled with families, however, the next time you plan to stay with us, you are welcome to request a higher floor room. We are sorry to hear also that you were having problems trying to work our coffee machine. We do have attendants available during the breakfast hours that will be more than happy to help you. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    282
    77
    20
    8
See reviews for
439
342
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is clean, comfortable and convenient to Colonial Williamsburg Historic Area. Breakfast is included so what more do you need. Our only concern was that the hotel, like many, asks you to recycle towels by hanging them up to cut laundry costs which I understand. What we don't understand is why there are NO TOWEL RODS in the bathrooms. Recently remodeled. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear jmhard,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be very nice at a great value. You are correct, we do not have shower rods in our bathrooms, however, we do have towel hooks behind the door and on the wall to hang towels if you wish to participate in our green initiative programs. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Exceeded my expectations in every way. Bed is firm, linens are higher quality than most tourist hotel. Water pressure in shower was excellent. Overall appearance is new, updated, modern, soft colors. Nice large mirrors in room and bath.
Has small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker.
Lobby has several computers for guests to use.
Complementary breakfast in lobby includes waffle maker, sausages, eggs, cereal, oatmeal, juice, coffee, tea, toast, peanut butter, jelly. Everything you need and more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Linda R,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your expectations were exceeded. There are many hotel options in Williamsburg and our goal is to provide a one of a kind service that will create a special memory for each of our guests visiting Historic Williamsburg. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Room was clean and nice. Entire property appears to have been recently updated. Very convenient location with outdoor pool. Only complaint is that the free breakfast was probably the worst I've ever had. I mean how hard is it to have a variety of muffins and maybe a bagel or two? Eggs(if you can call them that) were horrible and there was often no bacon or sausage offered. If this place could revamp the breakfast it would be really great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank spurgeon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear spurgeon35,

Thank you for taking time out to let us know about your recent stay. Our property recently completed a $4.5M renovation and shortly after opening received the Days Inn Renovation Property of the Year Award. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our breakfast. Wyndham Hotels has recently changed the breakfast menu at all Days Inns Worldwide and wants customers like yourself to know our breakfast as a healthier choice which is why we have added the kettle style oatmeal with toppings, we also added the yogurt and the egg patties. Let me know ahead of time next time you plan to come to the area and I am more than happy to go out and purchase you muffins for your stay. Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PERKASIE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Manager David Smith was the most helpful, friendly manager and seemed to be everywhere in the hotel. His ready information, directions, and general personality made this spotless hotel even better. We stayed 2 nights May 19-20 and knew next to nothing about the area... The room was large, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was a bit sparse, but free, so no problem. A Denny's is right next door if you need more options. The hotel is conveniently located and we'll maintained. I would recommend a visit!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbysfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear abbysfamily,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. There are many fine hotels in Williamsburg, but we believe that customer service is what takes a fine hotel and makes it a great hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed this past weekend for Memorial Day 5/23 - 5/26. A few days before I was freaking out because I could not find my reservation email. I actually thought I had forgot to book the hotel (I am way to busy...). I called and spoke with Ron. He calmed my fears and forwarded me a copy of my reservation. We arrived on Friday and the lobby was just as pictured on the website, clean and modern. Check-in was easy. The room was clean but the beds were a little small. They are advertised as Queen size but I am convinced they were only full size. We were constantly given 3 towels although I had booked the room for 4 people. No big deal, my husband was easily able to get extra. Even the groundskeeper was nice. I ran into him a couple of times. Always a friendly "Hello." Pool is kind of small but adequate. Breakfast was the usual fare, waffles, cereal, breads, juice, coffee, etc. We took advantage of this on park day and grabbed a few pieces of fruit for later. On the other days we opted for a full breakfast at the Denny's next door. All in all this was a great stay for us. We have stayed at many hotels in this area and this was by far the BEST TO DATE!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mieasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mieasha D,

Thank you for taking out time to share your experience. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the value, location and overall stay. We do have Serta queen size mattresses in most rooms and also have some King rooms available. We are conveniently located next door to a Denny's which is open 24 hours daily. Thank you again for choosing to stay at our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GETTYSBURG
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for Drummers Call 2014. Completely remodeled and was beautifully decorated. The staff was so helpful upon our arrival and took the time to explain the renovation as well as time for breakfast and things to do in the area. When returning to Williamsburg, this is definitely our choice of stay.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAKOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear LAKOR,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our team took such great care of both of you during your visit. We look forward to hosting you'll again in the very near future. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.4 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Property: Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Address: 331 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2922 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Gateway hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Premium Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing