We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Found the Days Inn in the Williamsburg Historic Area a nice departure from most chain hotels. It was fresh, clean, and quiet. The rooms are nicely decorated, the staff polite and helpful and the service was above average. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are going as a couple, do the king bed. The room is spacious and fit for a king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvdabrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear dvdabrn,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be different from your typical chain hotels. We are glad that our team took great care of you during your stay. We have a variety of King rooms available including our upgraded corner rooms which adds space and additional window(s). Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel has recently been refurbished and it shows, the rooms are bright and modern and the decor feels fresh. The rooms are a good size and each comes with a coffee maker, fridge and microwave. The small swimming pool on the front lawn looked nice although we didn't go for a swim. There's ample free parking and a 24hrs Denny's next door as well as loads of other food places within a short drive. Less than 3mins to the Williamsburg Visitor Centre.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Michael R,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are glad to hear that you found our hotel to be comfortable, modern and clean. With many hotel options in the area, our goal is to provide "The Best Value Under the Sun" for those visiting Historic Williamsburg. We appreciate your business and hope that you will keep us in mind the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

They've had a recent makeover and we had a very lovely room. Sadly, the walls seem VERY thin and we had the misfortune to be there when several families with small children were also there. We were also only half way down the hall from the front lobby and the breakfast traffic Sunday morning was very loud.

The Continental breakfast is just that and nothing special. The coffee machine was somewhat confusing to use the coffee was terrible. Also, they ran out of several food items very early including half and half for coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandiW063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear SandiW063,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the families that surrounded your room and the traffic going to the breakfast area. We are in our peak season at this time, so the hotel for the most part will be filled with families, however, the next time you plan to stay with us, you are welcome to request a higher floor room. We are sorry to hear also that you were having problems trying to work our coffee machine. We do have attendants available during the breakfast hours that will be more than happy to help you. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is clean, comfortable and convenient to Colonial Williamsburg Historic Area. Breakfast is included so what more do you need. Our only concern was that the hotel, like many, asks you to recycle towels by hanging them up to cut laundry costs which I understand. What we don't understand is why there are NO TOWEL RODS in the bathrooms. Recently remodeled. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear jmhard,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be very nice at a great value. You are correct, we do not have shower rods in our bathrooms, however, we do have towel hooks behind the door and on the wall to hang towels if you wish to participate in our green initiative programs. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Exceeded my expectations in every way. Bed is firm, linens are higher quality than most tourist hotel. Water pressure in shower was excellent. Overall appearance is new, updated, modern, soft colors. Nice large mirrors in room and bath.
Has small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker.
Lobby has several computers for guests to use.
Complementary breakfast in lobby includes waffle maker, sausages, eggs, cereal, oatmeal, juice, coffee, tea, toast, peanut butter, jelly. Everything you need and more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Linda R,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your expectations were exceeded. There are many hotel options in Williamsburg and our goal is to provide a one of a kind service that will create a special memory for each of our guests visiting Historic Williamsburg. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Room was clean and nice. Entire property appears to have been recently updated. Very convenient location with outdoor pool. Only complaint is that the free breakfast was probably the worst I've ever had. I mean how hard is it to have a variety of muffins and maybe a bagel or two? Eggs(if you can call them that) were horrible and there was often no bacon or sausage offered. If this place could revamp the breakfast it would be really great.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank spurgeon35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear spurgeon35,

Thank you for taking time out to let us know about your recent stay. Our property recently completed a $4.5M renovation and shortly after opening received the Days Inn Renovation Property of the Year Award. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our breakfast. Wyndham Hotels has recently changed the breakfast menu at all Days Inns Worldwide and wants customers like yourself to know our breakfast as a healthier choice which is why we have added the kettle style oatmeal with toppings, we also added the yogurt and the egg patties. Let me know ahead of time next time you plan to come to the area and I am more than happy to go out and purchase you muffins for your stay. Thank you again for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
4 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#7 of 73 in Williamsburg
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Address: 331 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2922 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £40 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Gateway hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Premium Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing