We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room with a very noisy hallway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My children (ages 11 and 9) and I stayed here for four nights in July 2014. The room was very clean and nicely updated. The shared spaces, such as the pool and lobby, were well-maintained and pleasant. I would rate the hotel higher, but our room was on the basement level, across from the hotel laundry services. The location and the tile floor in the hallway made for a very noisy early morning. We were often awakened at 6 am or earlier by slamming doors and rolling suitcases. All the doors made a very loud noise when shut. If you stay here, request any level but the basement, and you should have a positive experience.

Room Tip: Avoid basement level rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank KansasTraveler156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2016

Dear KansasTraveler156,

Thank you for taking time out and letting us know about your 2014 stay with us. We are pleased to announce that we just completed another upgrade this past year and we are now a Comfort Inn hotel. We offer a larger variety on our breakfast bar as well as upgraded bedding. We hope that you will come back and see the improvements. Email me at dsmith@hmphotels.com and I will make sure you get an upper floor room that is quieter. Thank you again for your business!

Yours in Hospitality,

David N. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Usually when i think of "days inn" it is old, dirty and has a lot of people you wouldn't want to share a floor with let alone a hotel. But this one is different. The hotel is clean, updated and the staff is super courteous and friendly. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have a very modern chic design to it. The manager was greeting guests as they checked in and was helping them find affordable attractions. I would definitely recommend this place to a friend. Give this place a try, you and your wallet won't regret it

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank 0diah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2016

Dear 0diah,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you were blown away by the price for the quality room that you had. We are excited to announce that we have even a better value since the last you stayed with us as we just completed another update and we are now a Comfort Inn hotel. We have a larger variety breakfast and upgraded bedded. Come back and see the improvements. Thank you for your business!

Yours in Hospitality,

David N. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed 3 nights here. Hotel was gorgeous and had all the amenities we were looking for. Booked based off reviews and was not disappointed. As previous reviews have stated, breakfast was not the best but was doable. Very convenient to restaurants and shopping. Rate was super reasonable. Would stay here again!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Uncchic9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2016

Dear Uncchic9,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be super clean and that we had gorgeous decor. We are excited to announce that since you stayed here last, we have upgraded the property and we are now a Comfort Inn hotel. We offer upgraded bedding and a larger variety of options on our breakfast bar. We hope you will come back and see the improvements. Thank you for your business!

Yours in Hospitality,

David N. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel definitely gave me great bang for my buck! The staff was very friendly, the lobby was gorgeous, the rooms were nice, and even their free breakfast was decent! There were, of corse, normal hotel noises, but those are the fault of the other guests - not the hotel. I would definitely stay here again... Well worth the money! Oh, just a tip... Calling the hotel directly gave me a much better rate than calling the 800 Days Inn number.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2016

Dear Sara M,

Thank you for taking time out to let us know about your 2014 stay with us. We are pleased that you felt it was a great bang for your buck. We are excited to announce that since the time you stayed with us last, we have completed another update and we are now a Comfort Inn Hotel. We offer upgraded bedding and a larger variety on our breakfast bar. We hope you will come back and see the improvements. Thank you for your business!

Yours in Hospitality,

David N. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spent several nights here while at a conference at the College of William & Mary. We chose this hotel based on the complimentary reviews on Tripadvisor, and as usual were not disappointed. This is not your average Days Inn (no offence, Days Inn!), and everything seems new and in tip top condition. The outside pool is pleasant, with an adequate seating area and plenty of towels provided. The fitness center is equipped with two treadmills only and one rowing machine, but they all work; I think they might usefully invest in an elliptical machine too.
The bedroom boasted a flat screen TV, easy chair and desk, and two very comfortable Queen beds. The bathroom was well equipped with toiletries, towels and hairdryer. There was no coffeemaker in the room, but coffee was available at all times from the breakfast area. Breakfast itself seemed the typical range for this type of hotel, from oatmeal and cereal to toast, pastries and fresh fruit. However, the presence of a new Denny's next door was too tempting, so we ate breakfast there each morning. In fact, this locality is blessed with numerous eateries, and several were within walking distance, including Cracker Barrel.
There's very little to complain about this new Days Inn, with its excellent parking outside and new facilities inside. The only drawback is a design fault of the architects' making and not the staff or even the other guests who cause the problem. We stayed off of the first floor corridor that leads from the breakfast room; that is one very noisy corridor! Guests probably don't realize how their voices carry, and the doors aren't thick enough to absorb enough of their sound waves! The only solution for those rooms is for the staff to post a sign or remind returning guests to lower their voices as they walk past those bedrooms. Tripadvisor guests who are light sleepers should ask to be accommodated anywhere but that corridor.
Finally, book early if you want to secure good rates. When I first researched the hotel, the nightly rate was approx. $80; by the time I booked it was closer to $140.

Room Tip: avoid the first floor rooms on the corridor leading from the breakfast area
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank twoteachersSt.Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2015

Dear twoteachersSt.Louis,

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our new hotel. Our renovation team at HMP Design Group did a fantastic job! Thank you again for taking time out to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

David N. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

All I can say is.. WOW! We walked into this property and we were blown away. The assistant general manager was at the desk training a new employee. He was very professional with her and with us. This property is very modern looking. From the very open foyer and large room with open areas for seating and the breakfast area with very large windows...very bright, to our room. We were even several hours ahead of check in, but got us in a room quickly. The room was very bright and cheery, no way at all being drab and dark. Swimming pool, exercise room, and very close to restaurants and shopping, and only 1 mile to the Colonial Williamsburg area. Every area of this motel was very clean. Very nice, almost fancy, lighting in hallways, not dark at all. Very spacious bathroom. Everything modern looking, flat screen tv, a wardrobe, fridge and microwave, an upholstered chair and large work desk with chair. Very nice and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Pool area entrance on bottom floor, if a close room is desired. Choose rooms 108 through125, but ot...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2015

Dear donna b,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Ron our Asst. General Manager has been with the hotel for about 8 years and he is definitely an asset to the company. We appreciate your business and hope that you will keep us in mind the next time you are in the area.

Yours in Hospitality,

David N. Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We got a deal on this hotel late one night (Hotels Tonight app) and the desk staff was very very nice. The remodel is attractive with lots of nice details, the beds comfy, and the hotel convenient. Only complaint was the breakfast - almost nothing healthy to eat, and the breakfast area was a total mess - both around the food and across all the tables. We'll stay again, but plan on eating out even though breakfast is free!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pirategirlross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S, General Manager at Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear pirategirlross,

Thank you for taking time out to share your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that you didn't find anything healthy on our breakfast bar. We offer items like egg patties, kettle style oatmeal and yogurt. Please let me know what other healthier choice items were you looking for that we didn't offer. I would love to speak with you further. Please email me at dsmith@hmphotels.com. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
732 reviews
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway

Address: 331 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2922 (Formerly Days Inn Historic Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £53 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway! Get in touch with a slice of history while basking in southern hospitality at the Comfort Inn(R) Williamsburg Gateway hotel in Williamsburg, VA near Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens. Our non-smoking family hotel in Williamsburg puts guests within steps of popular attractions like: Busch Gardens, Water Country USA, Williamsburg Premium Outlets, William and Mary, and Williamsburg Winery Get going with a great breakfast. Start your trip to Williamsburg with our free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs, waffles and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Soak up the sun on our patio deck or take a dip in our oversized seasonal outdoor pool. You can also break a sweat in our 24-hour fitness center or take care of family needs in our guest laundry facilities. All guest rooms offer a coffee maker, desk, sitting area, microwave, refrigerator, iron and board. Some rooms feature a sofa sleeper, in-room tea and coffee and kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Williamsburg Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Days Inn Williamsburg Virginia
Days Inn Colonial
Days Inn Historic Williamsburg
Williamsburg Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing