We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This one I enjoyed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Williamsburg Hotel Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Williamsburg Hotel Historic District
Ranked #61 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Albany, New York
2 reviews
“This one I enjoyed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This hotel is just outside of the historic district. You can walk to everything, the area is nice, has a steakhouse attached to the hotel, indoor pool and spa, a few higher-end hotels in the vicinity All clean and quiet for my taste. A lot of value for the low price point charged. Would repeat (not that i ever plan to return to Williamsburg torrid summer days, but if i did then i would).

Oh - and no breakfast offered (which i never take anyway). So - there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    85
    79
    71
    53
See reviews for
133
108
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Feels safe but for the price being low you end up with all the riffraff, blue collar types hooting and hollering in the halls and slamming doors all night. The hotel needs a top down cleaning, its dirty and sticky. The hallways are never vacuumed
I could not wait to check out.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Trekster37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed here for a few days and it was a nice hotel. Walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg. The only problem we encountered was keys had to be reswiped twice. Also the front desk couldn't give much help on busses and getting around the town. But very close to Bush Gardens, Yorktown and Jamestown. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

First of all I have to confess that neither my wife or I are pet lovers and it was our mistake that we did not advise our travel agent of this fact.However this does not excuse the fact that our room was dirty damp and smelly. If you are not travelling with pets I suggest you avoid the lower floor accommodations at all costs which is where the pets appear to reside. we were not amused either by the fact that dogs barked at various times in the night and very early morning.Big mistake and a huge lesson learned.We are very experienced travellers and should have known better.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank DiscerningTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branchburg, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We visited the Clarion Hotel Historic District during Easter break with two children and a dog. The fact that we could bring our dog was a huge upside. Although when we checked in we were told that we could only stay in a certain rooms of the hotel. (Make sure you call ahead and tell them that you are bringing Fido, so you have a room!) By the end of the week, we referred to our hallway as "the kennel" as most owners would leave their barking dogs during the day. The good news is that at night, when the owners were home, it was quiet.

The best part of the hotel was the proximity to Colonial Williamsburg. After crossing the street, It was a pleasant 10 minute walk to the town, and it is a great town to walk the dog. Also, the restaurant was perfectly suited for traveling families. We were able to get up every morning to a good, healthy breakfast buffet that was always ready and very affordable. The wait staff was very pleasant.

We were able to experience several great days at Colonial Williamsburg and other local attractions. At the end of each day, the hotel pool/ hot-tub was a nice place for the kids to blow of some extra energy. We never had any issues with parking, checking in or out, or housekeeping.

The main downside from my perspective is that both the WiFi and cell phone coverage were spotty. I needed to take work meetings during the trip, and this posed a bit of a challenge.

Room Tip: Call ahead to tell them if you have a dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark, de
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The front desk staff seemed very preoccupied with their phone while we were checking in, and we were the only ones doing so at that moment. It was almost like we were interrupting her texts. Our room was in the hallway where the side entrance to the hotel was, and while it was nice to be able to park so close to the room, it was a horrible experience. The designated smoking section for the staff and anyone else was literally 3 inches away from the side door entrance, so the entire hallway was full of cigarette smoke. Since there was about an inch of space at the bottom of our door, a lot of cigarette smoke got under there, filling our room with cigarette smoke. I woke up at 2am and had to bury my head under the covers because of all the smoke. I won't even mention the dozens of cigarette butts all over the ground by the side door.
My husband had gotten toothpaste all over one of the towels, and I had cut myself shaving, and didn't find out until I started drying off with a different towel than his. I put both towels in the tub when we left, so the housekeeping staff could take them and give us new ones. When we got back to the room that night, I grabbed a towel that I thought had been newly replaced by the housekeeping staff, and noticed that there was toothpaste all over it. Sparking my curiosity, I checked the other towel, also thought to be newly replaced by the housekeeping staff. There was the blood I had gotten on it that morning. The housekeeping staff took our used wet and dirty towels and just refolded them and put them back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lorraine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our most recent stay at the Clarion Historic Districr was excellent as always.Totally forgeot about spring break and oh boy were they busy.Alice did her usual good job housekeeping though and Judy was her usual unflapable self in registration.

Unfortunately I must pass along a warning to future guests--do not leave open baggage with clothing in your room when you go out as we have always done but will not do again.I don't want anyone else to have the same very unpleasant surprise I did and find that the Dockers pants I had planned to wear were gone---and nowwhere to be seen.While they can be replaced I'm not sure I'll ever have the same feelings---almost like family--that I had for the staff we see every trip.
Did not want to say anything bad but future guests need to know.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank snookiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
0.8 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#50 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#42 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fort Magruder Hotel
Fort Magruder Hotel
#60 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations Patrick Henry Sqr, Ascend Resort Collection
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Hotel Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Hotel Historic District

Property: Williamsburg Hotel Historic District
Address: 351 York Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Historic District)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Williamsburg Hotel Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Williamsburg Hotel Historic District is located just steps away from where it all began. The hotel is within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg; two miles to Busch Gardens Europe and Water Country USA; only minutes to Jamestown and other area attractions. The College of William and Mary is less than two miles. Williamsburg Premium Outlet is less than five miles. Whether visiting the colonial capital for sightseeing, golfing, or shopping, the Williamsburg Hotel Historic District is the perfect choice for your accommodations. Guest rooms have coffee makers, spacious work desks, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail, cable television and include free local calls. Select rooms also have microwaves and refrigerators. Guest amenities include an indoor heated pool, hot tub, exercise facility, free wireless high-speed Internet, free parking, free coffee, free daily newspaper and onsite security. We are pet-friendly and a non-smoking hotel. Daddyo's is our full-service restaurant and lounge. In addition, we have 3000 square feet of flexible meeting/banquet facilities and a dedicated catering staff to ensure your meeting or banquet is destined to make history! Just choose from one of our pre-planned meeting or banquet packages and we will take care of all the details! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Williamsburg Hotel Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Historic District
Clarion Hotel Williamsburg
Sheraton Williamsburg
Williamsburg Four Points
Williamsburg Sheraton
Four Points Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing