We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have read all reviews before booking...beware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Williamsburg Historic District
Ranked #56 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Loveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Should have read all reviews before booking...beware”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Awful hotel in a prime location. Up the rates if you need to because people will pay for a hotel in such a great location. First, the halls smelled like bug spray. On our floor (3rd) it smelled musty and moldy, the room looked OK upon arrival but then I went to the bathroom and there were hairs. Then I noticed a stain on the bedspread, the sinks wouldn't drain and some black stuff came out of them, the toilet wouldn't flush properly and to top everything off a dead fly was found on the floor. We demanded a refund and went to the Residence Inn. Disgusting hotel and I see the manager keeps promising that the hotel will be fixed but when? Unfortunately, it appears housekeeping is failing. Nastiest place I have ever been in and I am so glad we left before enduring a night here, I would have rather slept in the car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seashells988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    90
    88
    76
    57
See reviews for
156
114
17
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Booked hotel because of it being pet-friendly. Read reviews and knew that you have to stay on 1st floor because of pet and that room had "musty" smell. I was prepared for that and it did have an odor. However, room was DAMP. The rugs, bed linen, and bath towels were damp. My clothes in luggage became damp feeling. We even changed rooms (kept on same floor) but the problem continued. I requested to be moved to another floor but that was not allowed since we had a pet. Due to this, we decided to leave and go to another pet friendly hotel down road and that hotel did not have a moisture problem. Stayed only 1 night before leaving.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Lyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel needs some renovating and I understand from one of the staff that this will be happening very soon. Our room was ok. The staff were very nice from the front desk, housekeeping and the restaurant. The beds were very comfortable.
The pool was not so great - The pool and the Jacuzzi were both cold and the the Jacuzzi had so much chlorine and/or bleach in it that you couldn't stay in it 30 seconds as your eyes burned and it was way to strong to breathe.
I will probably try it again if and when I go back to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Wi-fi worked sporadically. Bathroom was tiny. Hottub water was freezing. All The cable equipment in the Gym was broken. The rooms were shabby. Cleaning service knocked on our door every morning and woke us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tutie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Right across street from Colonial Williamsburg...walking distance to main entrance. Great value for location and quality of hotel. Clean spacious rooms, better than average fitness center and large heated indoor pool. Only complaints...pool hours too restrictive; no free continental breakfast. Restaurant on premises has adequate buffet breakfast for $8. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvstrawberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Every time I go to Williamsburg I can count on A clean room and Good meal at this Clarion Hotel. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The Pool is an extra bonus and being between Colonial Williamsburg and Busch gardens Is so convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The whole place smells musty, especially the first floor. Also the people at the front desk were rude and not helpful. The only positive is that it is pet friendly. Will not be using this place again.

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the first floor. Musty, moldy odors throughout the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangomommy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#47 of 73 in Williamsburg
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort Magruder Hotel
Fort Magruder Hotel
#62 of 73 in Williamsburg
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#53 of 73 in Williamsburg
497 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
3.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#64 of 73 in Williamsburg
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Williamsburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Williamsburg Historic District

Property: Best Western Williamsburg Historic District
Address: 351 York St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4516 (Formerly Clarion Hotel Historic District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Williamsburg Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western® Williamsburg Historic District hotel is located just steps away from where it all began! The hotel is within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg; two miles to Busch Gardens® Europe and Water Country USA®; only minutes to Jamestown and other area attractions. The College of William and Mary is less than two miles. Williamsburg Premium Outlets® is less than five miles. Whether visiting the colonial capitol for sightseeing, golfing, or shopping, the Williamsburg Historic District hotel is the perfect choice for your accommodations. The Best Western® Williamsburg Historic District hotel features 140 contemporary guest rooms. Guest rooms have coffee makers, spacious work desks, hairdryers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail, cable television and include free local calls. Select rooms also have microwaves and refrigerators. Guest amenities include an indoor heated pool, hot tub, exercise facility, free wireless high-speed Internet, free parking, free coffee, free daily newspaper and onsite security. We are pet-friendly and a non-smoking hotel. We have an onsite full-service restaurant and lounge. In addition, we have 3,000 square feet of flexible meeting/banquet facilities and a dedicated catering staff to ensure your meeting or banquet is destined to make history! Just choose from one of our pre-planned meeting or banquet packages and we will take care of all the details! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Williamsburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Historic District
Clarion Hotel Williamsburg
Sheraton Williamsburg
Williamsburg Sheraton
Williamsburg Four Points
Four Points Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing