We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Olde world charm combined with Marriott luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Olde world charm combined with Marriott luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

My wife and I had stayed in the Williamsburg area before and love the location of the Ford's Colony. The entrance driveway is very impressive and the check-in process was full of old fashioned southern hospitality. The apartments are luxurious and spacious with super comfy beds, well equipped kitchens and modern bathrooms.

The grounds are well kept and there are lots of forest walks in the area in and around the golf courses. Being a golfer I played several times and I must say that there is something for golfers of all levels on the three different courses. Just keep on the fairways as I did see a couple of water mocassins near one lake.

The clubhouse at the golf course has two super restaurants. One informal "19th hole" type with good beer and lovely southern style food and one formal restaurant that is well worth a visit.

Overall I cannot fault the resort which is well managed with knowledgable and friendly staff. Let's put it like this we'll be going back in the future :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterClaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    401
    80
    27
    22
See reviews for
637
426
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

My husband and I decided to plan a last minute 3-night get away within three hours of the DC area with our 4 year old. Since all the beach areas were sold out, we decided to try Williamsburg. Based on reviews, we chose to give the Manor Club a shot. We enjoyed the stay and it was certainly relaxing. It is off the beaten path so spent most of the days by the pool. (Tried to do the downtown area, but it was just too hot/sticky to spend much time walking around with a little one) I agree with previous posters that it wasn't quite as clean as I feel other Marriott properties are, but I certainly didn't feel that it was filthy. There was wear in the carpets, furniture, etc... We were excited about the activity room for children. I must admit that was a disappointment. It was really messy. My four year old and I tried to sit down with 3 different games....all of which were missing half of the pieces so we gave up. While I understand how this can happen, someone needs to be getting rid of the items that are no longer usable. We went for the "daily craft" one day that was supposed to be a "memory of Williamsburg". We got there and it was painting a ceramic magnet. The box was labeled "holiday magnets" and the children chose from Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter and Halloween magnets. It was August?! My 4 year old enjoyed it and was quite proud of her jack-o-lantern magnet, but I thought they easily could have come up with an equally simple, inexpensive craft that was more appropriate seasonally or for the area. The grounds are beautiful and we enjoyed the pool by our room (the one with a splash pad). We must have been in the same building as a previous poster because there was a really odd smell in the hallways one day (brussel sprouts?!?!) that lingered all day long and the elevator was down one day. I actually found the pool to be relatively quiet although there were children there. I would be willing to stay here again for a quiet get away during the summer for 2-3 nights. However, the indoor pool is very tiny and there isn't much going on in general so we certainly wouldn't return in any other season.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandTerps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Like a previous reviewer, we are Wyndham owners, but had a much better experience than they did. This was a last minute trip and this was the only condo-like option available. Ok, that's only partly true. Wyndham's Kingsgate was available, but we really dislike that particular property so we steered cleared (see below). We are a family of 4 and had a 2 bedroom unit. It's was updated and the perfect size for us. The second bedroom also had a king bed, which worked for us because our kids are only 5 and 7 and they shared the massive bed. We didn't have any housekeeping issues and they came daily.

What we liked:

- Pretty grounds - it feels high-end when you drive up, nestled in a country club community
- Nice unit - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room kitchen, reasonably updated (much more so than any of the Wyndham properties
- Indoor and outdoor pool (although the indoor pool was closed when we were there)
- Marketplace to buy coffee, snacks, etc
- Friendly staff
- No mention or pressure to buy a timeshare
- Has other amenities, like a game room and kids activities, but we didn't use any of these. We are usually out and about and rarely on the property

What we didn't like:

- Location - it's hard to find, and not centrally located or convenient to anything. 20 minutes to Busch Gardens, 20+ to Water Country USA, 15 minutes to Colonial Williamsburg, you get the picture
- The pool area is pretty, but small
- It's a little pricey

That said, we would go back.

Other place we have stayed in Williamsburg:

Wyndham Governers Green - Best Wyndham property of the 3 in Williamsburg, units are outdated but large and bright and airy, grounds are not well manicured, but the both the outdoor pool is huge, we also like the indoor pool, has a playground and mimi-golf. We also like the location.

Wyndham Kingsgate - Congested, crowded, units are dark, halls are smelly, but the pool area is hoppin', has an arcade, pool side cafe, both indoor and outdoor pools, good location

Great Wolf Lodge - Rooms feel cheap, not condo-like living, location is not central, BUT it obviously has the perk of the waterpark, great arcade, dining options on property and just across the parking lot. Different kind of vacation. We prefer to go here in the winter or when it's raining.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank live4wknds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We are Wyndham owners but stayed here through a week we had in Interval. I would say that i am a experienced traveler being that i have stayed at numerous timeshare properties and hotels. We had very high expectations of Marriot mannor at fords colony since it is a marriot property. It is a little off the road that gets a little annoying at night but you adjust to it. It is a small spot in fords colony the grounds and outside of the buildings are beautiful and put on the idea of a nice place to stay. Check in went well and the guy was very friendly and there was no push over a time share tour we were never even asked about it. We entered the building taking note that each building does have a guest key lock which is a good safety idea.
The halls are long and all indoors making you feel as if you are in a hotel, I am used to outdoor halls and not the closed in hotel look. You can tell that the carpets in the main ares have been worn and show their age with stains and it is obvious that they do not vacuum the halls and common areas daily since we took notice to the dried leaves, dirt and dust laying around there was also a carton of eggs sitting in the window sill by the elevator that stayed until the following morning. Now onto our room, we stayed in a studio or as they call it a hotel style room and man they are not lying! The room is so tiny and is just a basic hotel room with a king size bed a pull out couch and a small table with 2 chairs all in the same area. There is a tiny fridge, sink and microwave with a few dishes in the cabinets. The room says it holds 4 guest but being just 2 people and we were bumping heads so i don't know where 2 more people could possibly go. I am a clean alcoholic which is why i love Wyndham because their rooms are always so clean and updated. I began my walk through to notice many things. Our walls were scratched, and dented almost everywhere, from behind the bed, behind the couch, all around the table, in the closet and so forth. Our mini fridge had a rust spot on one of the bars, a missing bar to hold in your drinks on the shelf and the flap for the freezer was missing. We noticed under our bed was dust bunny central and the bed rails on the head board were covered in dust. The floors around the furniture etc had dirt and crumbs laying around as if they did not vacuum , there was a cheese doodle under our nightstand and more dust. In the bathroom we found pubic hair under the toilet seat, in the corner of the bathroom and along the cabinets. There was an old 25 cent plastic shower curtain in the shower that was covered in mold and mildew. Also the pillows for the pull out couch were hard as rocks and when we removed the covers they were stained yellow and brown also the closet had a very strong odor almost like stinky feet that was flooding out yuck. Our shower head barely had any water pressure because there was a steady flow of water constantly coming from the bath faucet while the shower head was running also our ice container was filthy.
We called and spoke to a Mark Mahane who said he would send someone to take care of the issue. Well the house keeping supervisor came up and turned out to speak no english and never introduced herself or said sorry just i speak spanish and than we showed her the complaints and she went to the phone and started speaking spanish, really??? We left and came back to find the same issues were still here after she " cleaned" and we than called Mark back who from that point on became phone tag because he kept calling the room phone even though we gave him my cell number because we were out everyday all day. So we did not talk to him but one more time and he wanted us to meet with someone again to show them the problems but we did not have time for that and left him another message and from there on we never heard from him again.
Eventually i got tired of this after 3 days and finally called the corporate office in Orlando FL and spoke with a angie who was more than helpful and within a half an hour there was a knock on the door and it was house keeping. It was the same " supervisor" as the first time and yet again all she said was house keeping and never spoke, smiled or even said sorry. You could tell that she got in trouble and now clearly had an attitude with us but can clearly not be professional. They finally cleaned everything properly we thought everything would be fine. Nancy Miller the assistant resort director spoke with us numerous times and she was the friendliest most helpful person that we spoke to at the resort. We called one morning around 11Am for new towels and came home around 10Pm to find that they were never brought as promised, one evening we came home from sweating all day to find out that the hot water in our building was not working and they did not have anyone in engineering until the morning to fix as we were told. We woke up to find a funny smell lingering in the hall and the only elevator in the building to be broken and had to take the stairs the rest of the day to find nothing but dirt, dust and dead bugs EVERYWHERE it looked as if they did not sweep this area in months. I am a bug walker and took notice to well over 10 street lights out in the parking lots etc and saw a couple families walking with their children carrying flashlights. We tried relaxing at the pool one evening to find kids kids and more kids! screaming and jumping and running and throwing and splashing. They were playing marco polo and using pool tennis toys. I had ear phones on sitting on the side of the pool and they were so loud i heard them through my music so we never went back down their again. We had no washer and dryer in our room but had guest use ones on the first floor, but in our unit they never gave us a starter pack of detergent nothing not even a clothes basket. And don't plan on watching a movie in your room because this room does not even come with a DVD player.
8 out of 10 employes we encountered during the week never smiled or spoke and i must say over 95% did not speak any english i have never seen such a thing at a resort like this. I saw employes with facial piercing and ear phones in listening to music walking down the hall. We woke up daily to hear nothing but employes radios and people talking and non of it was english trust me you will hear it all through the door. We did not get a new fridge until the day before we checked out even though it was supposed to be done days prior. The entire week we did not see one security guard nor car which is not a good thing at all how can you feel safe like that? And parking is a joke you will have to park 2 buildings over because there is very limited parking at each building.
The same house keeping supervisor that we had "clean" our room in the beginning of the week ended up running into us in the hall the day before we left and never spoke, smiled or said anything but had a look to kill on her face showing giving us dirty looks now isn't that professional, i actually show talking about us to another cleaner and you could tell because i heard her talking as the other girl kept peaking around the corner looking at me making it clear. They don't clean the room during the week and we are used to that being timeshare owners but they do not even provide a vacuum or broom in the room so what are you supposed to do.
I would never stay at another Marriot resort now that they put a bad taste in my mouth they should be embarrassed to run a place like this.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NJ2492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Guest Relations Manager at Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
I'm sorry to hear about your experience at Marriott's Manor Club. Our customer care manager will personally follow-up with you to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We loved our 1400-square-foot condo with two huge bedrooms, and full bathrooms. Plus a wonderful living, dining room and full kitchen. Our family of five stayed here during the heat/humidity of late June, and appreciated all our space...especially me, since I decided to forgo a visit to Williamsburg due to the weather. Lots to do around the property, plus I could enjoy the patio. We dined at the nearby country club, in the casual restaurant downstairs.

Great choice for families...highly recommend.

Room Tip: We received a condo closest to the check-in building, so we had a very short walk to go get basics i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avaleigh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Only stayed a night but could easily have made this home base in Williamsburg. Location for this small town is not that big of a deal. You are 10 minutes from downtown and 15 from Busch Gardens, so this is a great option especially for a family. Having a condo in this town is a great idea because the food options at night are sparce. Plenty of pancake houses during the day, but night options close early. These are beautiful grounds to walk in the shade by day or to the tune of crickets at night. The large pool is resort worthy and the golfing adjacent to the property is excellent. Williamsburg is a quiet hamlet, so be sure to stay in a comfortable location where space and relaxation are part of your plan. Loved the screen porch here for that reason.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wysfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We just arrived home from our stay in one of the one bedroom villas. King sized bed and flat screen TV in bedroom with sink and spa tub; separate bathroom with toilet, sink and shower; Living/kitchen combo with pullout sofa bed, flat screen TV, dishwasher, full size fridge, washer/dryer; microwave, oven and dishes supplied. Our unit was clean and comfortable, just steps away from one of three swimming pools and a newly opened poolside grille and bar (strawberry daiquiri, yum!) The hotel is on the outskirts - but close enough to reach all of the popular destinations in less than 15 minutes! To clarify about another reviewer's comments concerning lack of housekeeping - the reservation web site does stipulate they ONLY provide clean towels and straighten up beds -no changing of linens; therefore they received the services promised. We found the housekeepers to be responsive to our requests for extra towels, and all of the staff we encountered were very friendly and accommodating. We had a screened in patio - but due to the heat, we didn't use it. We did utilize the fitness center - which had a good variety of equipment and the little market was convenient.

Room Tip: I would recommend "Jamestown" building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lupiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony

Property: Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Address: 101 St. Andrews Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188-7498
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Villas set in Ford's Colony community; minutes away from Williamsburg, Busch Gardens & Water County USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Manor Club At Ford`s Colony Hotel Williamsburg
Marriotts Manor Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Williamsburg
Marriott Williamsburg
Williamsburg Marriott
Marriotts Manor Club Fords Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing