We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth Your Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel style rooms are not worth the money, I cannot comment on the villas. They rooms are about the same quality as a Springfield Inn. Also, the website states that there is a restaurant on premises, there is not. The restaurant is at the Country Club down the road and it does not serve breakfast. During our stay the children next door to us decided to have a "Let It Go" sing-off and dance party at 6:15 in the morning, so much for sleeping in. The connecting door between rooms has no sound deadening properties at all. When we reported this to the front desk the lady said, "Next time let us know and we can call the room or send Loss Prevention to their room." I told her, "It is still happening." She replied, "I'm sorry, next time let us know and we can call the room or send Loss Prevention to their room." What could she not understand about "now", it is happening "now."

Room Tip: Don't stay in hotel style room, opt for a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorktownBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for visiting Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony! We appreciate your feedback on your stay with us and apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Our Guest Rooms can be a tight fit when traveling with the whole family. The villa accommodations do provide more space and a full-sized kitchen for your convenience.

For the most accurate resort information, we recommend using Marriott.com as a resource. There, it lists the on-site dining and nearby locations as well. Our team has verified that Harry's Tavern located at the Country Club is listed under "near-by restaurants" online.

We also take noise concerns seriously and apologize the front desk associate did not take immediate action. Your comments will be shared with our front desk manager so we may ensure our associates know the proper procedure to handle these concerns.

Thank you for your feedback and providing us your review on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome your family again in the future so we may truly exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We are not members of the Marriott Vacation Club so we were given one of the smaller rooms in the Jamestown Commons building (Room 2202.) Unlike the one and two bedroom suites, this was more of a regular hotel room. This was fine for my wife and I because we were just using the room as a base to explore the Williamsburg/Jamestown area. We did not take advantage of most of the events or activities at the resort though we did attend a nice wine tasting event near the office.

The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. There was a small sink/kitchen area as well. Laundry detergent was included with the room and we took advantage of the free washing/drying machines located on the first floor. I did, however, have to be careful as the tile in the entry and the bathroom was slippery when I went barefooted. Also, the air conditioner in this room was quite loud as was the pool area when there were a bunch of kids using it (the even numbered rooms of this building face the pool). Fortunately we were gone most of the day so it didn't bother us too much. The pool closes at around 8:00 or 9:00 and it's much quieter then. There are also adjoining doors to the next room and we could hear the people in that room at times.

Service at the resort was excellent, particularly Hayley at the front desk and Denise in the Concierge Office. It is a 10 - 15 minute trip into Williamsburg but it is a nice drive and there are many restaurants along the way. Overall, it was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauigirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Four of us spent a four-day weekend in a two-bedroom villa In June 2014 and it was exceptional. It had great bedrooms, a comfortable living room with a gas fireplace, and a fully equipped kitchen. The facility also has one in-door and two out-door pools. The staff was efficient, friendly and made sure our stay was great. One of the best things about this property is that it is adjacent to the Ford’s Colony country club and hotel guests can use the golf course. I was surprised how cheap the course was ($40 per person for 18 holes including cart and range balls). We played two of the three courses and they were both challenging - but doable for even novices like some of us - and they were beautiful. I will be going there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DelightedDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The title kind of says it all. I've stayed at many Marriott properties over the years, probably 40-50 different locations, and this is the nicest one of them all!

Where to even begin? I booked my upgraded king suite room for $170 (w/AAA discount), and when we arrived the room was bigger than most apartments that I've walked into. Full kitchen, full bathroom with walk in shower, jacuzzi tub, large living room, and large screened in patio area is what we got with our room, and they have rooms larger than this available for families with kids! The kitchen was stocked with pots and pans, glasses, forks, knives, etc. It has all the comforts of home.

So on to the area: Ford's Colony is a very upscale residential area with a nice golf course, big homes, lots of money flowing through it all, and most importantly: it's very safe. Nestled in towards the back in a wooded area is the Marriott property. The only Downside to this property was that it was a smidge further away from Colonial Williamsburg than most of the other hotels. But folks, we’re only talking a 10 minute drive to get to Colonial compared to 2-3 minutes for some of the cheaper hotels. I think what you will also like about this location is that it has plenty to do on site too. There are 3 pools, 1 indoor, and 2 outside, tennis court, bike riding, golf, movie theater, and a host of other stuff I probably don’t know about. We arrived on a Thursday in the evening, got some groceries to load the refrigerator, and enjoyed time by the pool with live music playing. This is not the standard hotel that most people have in mind, this place is special, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is going to Williamsburg.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room one notch below the 2-bedroom, it's about $30 more a night but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PackPride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Found the grounds and facilities in fine condition. Our quarters, 4206, was spotless and quite lovely. Would recommend the Club to anyone looking for a first rate alternative to hotel-motel life.

The only reservation I have relates to noise. I have no idea who was in the room above us or their weight but there was endless tramping back and forth for hours that was most disturbing. In the future if I returned I would only accept a top floor reservation.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank greybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan N, Corporate Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for your review! While we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Marriott's Manor Club, we are sorry for your inconveniences regarding the excess noise coming from surrounding villas. Your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with our team. Thank you for staying with us and we hope we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms are incredibly spacious. Beds are super comfy. Working fireplace. Great kitchen with granite countertops. Great bathrooms. Seems like the kitchen and bathrooms were very recently renovated. The shower in the master is a generous size. Full size washer and dryer!! This is such a rarity! It's going to be nice to actually have things dry in one cycle instead of three cycles in the stackable dryers. The furniture is a little weird, the big couch is not comfortable, but they have plans to remodel these rooms. The plans are near the check-in and it seems like the décor will be a little more modern. Looks appealing. This condo was in our network for a week swap. We are very pleased with this choice! Staff is friendly. Like other Marriott places, there are activities for the kids. Only wish it had a zero-entry pool, but the large splash pad is really nice. For better views, you need to ask for the condos on the other side of the check-in (Jamestown, Colonial or Federal)- otherwise you'll just be looking at the parking lot.

Room Tip: For better views, you need to ask for the condos on the other side of the check-in (Jamestown, Colon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently returned from a visit to this resort. I requested and was given third floor accommodations overlooking the beautifully landscaped grounds. We were in the Jefferson Building. I believe this may be the older section. We had a two bedroom two bath with well equipped kitchen with granite counter tops, large dining table and living room room with flat screen tv. Living room furniture was not that comfy. My sister was in a one bedroom and her villa had stainless steel appliances as it had been recently updated. The beds were very comfortable. There were only 4 condos on our floor and we were the only occupants on the whole floor. Needless to say, it was very quiet. We arrived very early at 1130 am. Check in is 4 pm. Front desk personnel were very friendly and accommodating and gave us an access key to the pool while we waited for my sister to arrive. They had our villa ready at 1:30 and allowed us to check in. Check in went very smoothly. At check in they gave us a list of activities during our stay. One activity was a complimentary wine and cheese gathering for all guests of age. Others included children's activities. We used the larger swimming pool near my sister's villa which the kids loved. There was a small grill there that served lunch items and mixed drinks. We found everyone at the property to be friendly and the villas were very clean. We visited Busch Gardens, Yorktown, downtown Williamsburg and Jamestown settlement. We found all of these places a very convenient 15 to 20 minute drive away. Getting around was easy and many restaurants were nearby. The resort does not have a restaurant but has a small marketplace where you can get a few things and breakfast and lunch items. Coffee was provided in the villa.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suite building we stayed in only had 4 villas on our 3 rd floor in Jefferson Building. Par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
4.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
5.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony

Address: 101 St. Andrews Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23188-7498
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#2 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £108 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation Villas set in Ford's Colony community; minutes away from Williamsburg, Busch Gardens & Water County USA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Manor Club At Ford`s Colony Hotel Williamsburg
Marriotts Manor Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Williamsburg
Marriott Williamsburg
Williamsburg Marriott
Marriotts Manor Club Fords Colony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing