We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than sleeping in your car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Ok, so this is not the best place I have stayed in Williamsburg, but at least it was clean, cheap, bug-free and convenient. Our room was one with the king size bed, which included a couch, coffee table and even had a safe. Yes, the amenities are very sparse, but at least we room service and clean towels every day. The staff was very friendly and made sure that any issues were addressed immediately. The free breakfast is only cereal, instant oatmeal, toast, muffins, coffee and juice. If a continental breakfast is not enough, then there are several restaurants and pancake houses within a short drive (or even walkable) nearby.

This is the type of hotel that is your basic sleep, squat, shower and shave variety. If you are looking for lots of amenities, super-comfy beds and a free hot breakfast, then look elsewhere.

Would I stay here again? If nothing else available within a reasonable price - "yes". If I had better options - "no".

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazrBlzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deedee p, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you for your review of our property. Thank you for choosing us for your stay here in Williamsburg, VA and we hope to have you back as a future guest. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
deedee p, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank 310reneec
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
deedee p, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
deedee p, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
deedee p, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We needed a double room or suite last weekend at the very last minute. By the time we planned to travel over Memorial Day weekend, almost everything was full. I was happy to find a double suite available at the Travelodge for our family of 5.

Because the room was only $85 for a double suite (separate living room, bedroom with 2 queen beds, 2 bathrooms, 2 tvs), I was definitely worried about how safe, clean and nice the hotel would be. Honestly, I was very worried that it would be in a bad section of town and/or have bugs.

We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The 3 employees at the front desk were all very nice and helpful and we were checked in quickly. The hotel is in a very nice area with lots of other hotels and restaurants within a couple of miles.

The double suite was apparently once 2 hotel rooms in the past that are now connected through the adjoining wall with double glass doors.The doors can be closed so we were able to put the kids to bed early and stay up to watch tv without disturbing them. Travelodge provided a pack-n-play for our toddler at no cost. It was clean and in good shape.

There is a flat-screen tv in each room (bedroom and living room), bathroom on each side and a microwave and mini-fridge in the living room.

Everything was clean and we were very comfortable while we stayed. It's not a super-fancy hotel, but for the price, we would absolutely recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

(Also, we stayed there while spending time at Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. The Travelodge was only about 5 minutes away.)

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the double suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickeyCoutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deedee p, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so very much for your review of our property. I am so glad that you allowed us the opportunity to provide your accommodations during your stay here in Williamsburg and we certainly hope to have you as a returning guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Rodney L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
deedee p, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#39 of 73 in Williamsburg
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#46 of 73 in Williamsburg
93 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Williamsburg Colonial Area
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area

Address: 120 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range: £32 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Brick Motel Centrally located in Williamsburg. We have standard 2 queen bed rooms, 2 double bed rooms, single king rooms and our 2 room suites. Our property consists of 2 buildings with 3 floors and an elevator for your convenience. We also have an outdoor pool, volley ball net, picnic tables and a grill for guest use. There are several restaurants within walking distance to us. We are located 2 miles (7 minutes) from Colonial Williamsburg, 13 miles (22 minutes) to Historic Yorktown, 8.3 miles (22 minutes) from Historic Jamestown and the Ferry, 8.2 miles (12 minutes)to Busch Gardens, 7.9 miles(13 minutes) to water country, 2.9 miles(10 minutes) to our Premium Outlet Mall. We look forward to Accommodating you during your visit to Williamsburg, VA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Inn and Suites-Historic Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Inn And Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Travelodge Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area Hotel Williamsburg
Travelodge Williamsburg
Travel Lodge Williamsburg
Williamsburg Travelodge
Williamsburg Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing