We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #63 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Arnold, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meh.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Would not recommend. Beds were uncomfortable (hard). Pillows had labels on them indicating "firm" or "soft" but they all felt the same to us (lumpy). Dirty washcloth left hanging in the shower. Dog in room next door was barking (are pets even allowed??). Hallway stunk like smoke. Elevator did not work. Poorly lit halls around stairways.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Kimberly C,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bed, cleanliness and the hallway condition. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    62
    66
    74
    68
See reviews for
157
58
19
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
507 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

After reading the other recent reviews we came expecting the worst. Well the facility is ok. The side entrance door did not work so went in the rear door. Thought it was a key problem but found our keys worked in the room and the back door.

2nd floor had an odor like new carpet. Room was lacking electrical outlets but we used the bathroom outlets to recharge our cellphones.

Overall, decent rooms for the price

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank C H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear C H L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my apology for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

There are too many nasty things to write about this hotel. I do not plan on writing a novel since the manager (josh) will write a GENERIC hotel response. This place is gross, outdated and the staff is terrible. The rooms are gross, things dont work and the floors smell like weed. DO NOT STAY HERE unless you like a room that has water on the carpet and the smell of mildew

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Frank M,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annandale, va
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

What makes a good place is also how the hotel stuff and management react to problems. Things happens and it is not necessarily the hotel's fault, but how the problems are dealt with is what separate the good from the bad. And this one might be in a category by itself. Here is the story:
The room we got was nothing fancy, just a middle of the road motel room.
The problem arise when we tried to get to sleep, our timing was coincidental with the arrival of a ( maybe more) bus load of teenagers. Needles to say that doors were slammed around, shouting and so forth..... after a while we called the lobby and where told that they would look into that. One hour later, noting changed we called the lobby again, and a snotty receptionist said that the manager had been notified and was working on it. when asked if we could be put on a different floor the response was " sorry the hotel is full, we can do nothing about that... just be patient!"
well another 30-45 minutes passed, by now midnight was ringing and the noise did not decrease at all. We decided to pack and take our chance and find another quitter place. While trying to check out the receptionist had the nerve to say: " Oh! they just came in, so it will be quite shortly". Right! So now insult my intelligence this will help.... During the check out time the manager sitting by showed us only his back, never tried to engage us, or offer an apology or pretend to help us finding another place. Might have gone to a very good service school...
So we left and find another place near by where we got a restful night. But the story doesn't end here. I wrote to Mr. Holiday Inn to complain a little bit and more importantly got the points I paid my night with back. yep I am part of their frequent travel plan.... But this might change in the future....
I was told that they were very sorry and would forward my message to the local general manager.... was a month ago and I have hear nothing ( and do not expect to hear anything) and I am still waiting to get my points back... maybe the problem is more generic that I thought with this chain.... and that it is a top-down issue.... do not know.... but I do know that this place is on my to ABSOLUTELY avoid list !

Room Tip: avoid this place.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear chguy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the behavior of other guests prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are pleased to see you have been in contact with our Customer Care department, and they have been able to address your concerns.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklinton, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

While staying briefly in the Williamsburg area, we were hoping for a clean, well maintained hotel. Neither were true. The room was supposed to be ready between noon and 3:00; we got in our room at 4:00, only to find it untouched: the entire floor had not begun to be cleaned. Luckily friends we were with had theirs cleaned so we had somewhere to go. Complained at front desk and were moved to another room, only to find the housekeeping cart parked in this room's door! We had an event to be at had no choice but to come in and get ready. The pool area was dirty, broken chairs, NO landscaping, and just overall worn down. Was hoping for much more, shame on you Holiday Inn. Won't be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Wendy W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased your concerns were addressed during your stay. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience experienced with our facilities and the service you received. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

My family and I stayed here Memorial Day weekend 2013. My stay was ok although I probably won't stay here again.

Let me start with the positives:
1. Centrally located to restaurants, fast food, outlets, and other local activities (i. The Bounce House and miniature golf, Busch Gardens)
2. The room was clean.
3. The bed was comfortable.

And now the negatives:
1. The heater/ac unit makes a loud banging noise
2. The business center (computer/printer) is a single desk in the lobby right in front of the door where guests are entering/exiting...Absolutely no privacy.
3. The pool...they describe it as having an indoor pool and an outdoor pool...Don't be fooled...Its only one pool; part of it is outside and part of it is inside...So, if the temp outside is cool/cold (which it was that weekend); the water is freezing in the "indoor" part of the pool. The indoor pool is not heated.
4. The hot tub is old and tiles are missing; not appealing at all...It looks more like a cauldron.


Overall the hotel is old and needs to be renovated and upgraded. I was under the assumption that all Holiday Inns were undergoing a makeover/renovation. If you only plan to sleep and shower and be out all day then I would recommend you stay here...Otherwise; I recommend that you stay somewhere else...

Room Tip: Corner room is best b/c you only have to worry about noisy guests on one side of you. Also, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNikki511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Dear MissNikki511,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am pleased that you have noticed the cleanliness of our rooms. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions may have caused you. Our goal is to provide clean and comfortable stay to all of our valued guest and make their stay a memorable one. Rest assured that your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

This average hotel is classic Hoilday Inn of the 70's era. I really dont think they have upgraded anything since then. The decor, the bar, the ballroom and the pool are all classic 1970. The arcade still has pin ball....well almost.

The staff tries really hard and they will bend over backwards to assit. This hotels bread and butter are the big tour groups of kids that come to Williamsburg in the Spring. Expect nightly arrivals of 5-6 buses full of kids rolling in. Thus expect large packs of kids roaming the halls nightly.

This is not a hotel for a romantic getaway, but if your school group is looking for a place this is it.

Room Tip: 3rd floor away from the groups!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear oldensign,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel and for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#54 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fort Magruder Hotel
Fort Magruder Hotel
#61 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Williamsburg Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#55 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 3032 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Colonial Plaza Williamsburg)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel and Conference center located on the main dining and shopping district in Williamsburg. All rooms have new beds and bedding. Newly renovated indoor and outdoor pools. State of the art Fitness room, with all new equipment. 11,000 SQF of meeting space, and full service catering for your events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Patriot (Old Williamsburg) Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing