We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected, excellent value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Little River, South Carolina
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Better than expected, excellent value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We only had pleasant surprises on this trip. The property is conveniently located in a central location in a popular family vacation destination. The facilities are not perfect, but the management is actively working on improving all aspects. The pool looked very inviting and clean. It was definitely near capacity, but was not noisy. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Birdsfishnfrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    56
    26
    19
    13
See reviews for
93
29
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was a great place to stay on our latest trip to Williamsburg. We usually stay a higher tier of Choice Hotels, but we decided to try this place based on the reviews. The beds were super comfy and the room was clean. We a pool view room and I thought that it might get loud, but we didn't hear a peep from outside the room. The rooms have outside doors which scared me a bit, but it was fine. The manager was very nice. The only thing to mention is that the bathrooms are ready for an upgrade. They were clean though. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ALK22193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Booked through Expedia based on trip advisor reviews. At check in discovered Expedia over-charged by $50. Front desk staff were very kind, but it took over an hour of me, my husband & 4 kids sitting in the lobby to work everything out.

Finally got to the room and was overwhelmed with a smell of old wet towels and stale cigarette smoke. We were so exhausted at this point we justwent to bed. The next morning walked into bathroom in bare feet and found the carpeting to be sticky. Gross! went to take a shower and there was mold all around the edges of the tub. The shower curtain was filthy, under the sink was disgusting with mold and dead bugs. There were also dead bugs all over the windowsill.

Went to the front desk and asked for another room. Front desk worker (one of the same who was there when we checked in the night before) was again very pleasant. She apologized and have us keys to a new room.

We moved to the new room which was much better. It didn't have the smell, but it still wasn't very clean. There were things that has been left behind on the floor. Dirt in the corners of the bathroom floor, and of course the dead bugs on the windowsill.

After we finished moving all of our things, we went down for breakfast...not realizing it ended at 9:30 we got there at 9:40. There is nothing kind I can say about the breakfast worker. Thwere were still several people in having breakfast, but she glared at us as we got cereal, which was the only thing left out. when there were only a few of us left in the room, she turned off the lights and left...The next morning we got to breakfast around 9:00. There was one waffle maker with a line of about 10 people. There were about 5 frozen danishes stuck to the bottom of a box (that was not a danish box), and there were about 4 poppyseed bagels. They also had one kind of cereal and a fe slices . The apple jYuriice nachine was broken (which I later discovered that the breakfast lady knew about, tet there was not a sign on it, so several people got to taste God only knows what.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katnjohn1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

After staying at a less savory Econo Lodge in Charlottesville earlier in the week we approached the Inn & Suites at WIlliamsburg with some trepidation. Upon arrival the lobby was bright and cheerful, and the pool was in use by some pretty happy looking youngsters. Things were looking up. Our room was just right for our 5 night stay. It was in actuality two rooms that had been converted into a suite: two EXTREMELY comfortable double beds, a TV, dresser, and bath in one and a pullout couch, desk, armchair, dresser, refrigerator, microwave, a second TV, and a second bath in the other! The extra bath was a welcome and pleasant surprise given my husband and I were staying with our two sons (10, and 7.) The room was clean, and though the beds and sofa were certainly newer, the dressers are in want of replacement, the drawers were difficult to open and close so we never used them. The baths were clean and the towels were plentiful and smelled and felt very fresh. Some of the plaster patchwork was a little haphazard, but it didn't detract too badly from an otherwise neat suite of rooms. Luxury, it is not, but the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites at Williamsburg is a place I'd definitely recommend to families staying in Williamsburg and looking for a friendly hotel for a great price. Can't wait to return and see what other updates the new management will continue to make.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elbygrl97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Room had very comfortable beds and refrigerator and microwave. Bathroom was a little dated but clean .... A good value. Staff was very accommodating & I would stay here again. I was a little disappointed with breakfast but there are a lot of places nearby for heartier breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for staying at Econo Lodge inn& suites williamsburg ,.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay .we will pay more attention over our breakefast area.And thanks for letting us know your reviews.Hope we serve you better at your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We read the reviews and decided to give this hotel a try. The only good thing about this property is the location. We requested a "renovated" room as recommended by another reviewer and upon entering our room found that the room was in very poor condition. The A/C unit was off leaving the room damp, there was dust on the legs of the desk chair, the furniture was held together with white tape, the bathroom door wouldn't lock, the bottom of the bathtub was dirty and there were holes in the bathroom wall where fixtures had once been, but the wall was never patched. On a positive note, we didn't find any bugs and the sheets were clean, so we stayed. The breakfast choices are very limited. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busymomtothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear guest,,
Thank you for your feedback. We regret to read that although you had an overall pleasant stay, you do not wish to visit us again. As it is our absolute priority to ensure that our guests have a memorable time with us, it very disappointing to learn that we have not fulfilled your expectations.Just let all our guest we have finished our renovation as of last week and we have made our house keeping and maintenance department aware of the situation.we do heartily apologized for your inconveniences.
But we promise to make your next visit much much better if you can give a chance one more time.
thanks, see you soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We spent our honeymoon in Williamsburg nearly 10 years ago and this was our first return since then. We decided not to go super high end and find a very nice hotel at a decent price. That's exactly what we found in the Econo Lodge Inn & Suites. The room was nice, the staff was very responsive and we thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool and location of this hotel. If you are looking for 5 star luxury, this is not it but it's a very nice place at a reasonable price. Thanks for the great experience!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a decent safe, clean and conveniently located room, this this is the place fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiavatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#34 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#52 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Williamsburg Historic
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Colonial
Econo Lodge Colonial
#46 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg
Address: 119 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is in the heart of Williamsburg offers FREE continental breakfast; located 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg. All the area attractions are close by like Busch Gardens, Prime Outlet Mall, pottery factory, etc.we offer FREE WI-FI . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Americas Best Value Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing