We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorial Day Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Frederick MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorial Day Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here two nights over the long weekend. The motel was very conveniently located for us to be able to visit the historic area of Williamsburg. There are several restaurants nearby, including Golden Corral, Cracker Barrel, and a Dairy Queen next door.

We stayed in one of their suites which consist of two regular rooms combined into one room. It even included two bathrooms which was great! The room was clean and comfortable and the bed was super comfortable. There are two TV's plus a microwave and fridge.

The continental breakfast was OK--just bagels and sweet rolls mostly. They had hard boiled eggs but ran out before I got any. The breakfast room was very crowded with no place to sit and there is a sign on the door that says you can't take food out so that is not very accommodating.

The most disappointing aspect of our stay was the condition of the pool. When we checked in I
noticed one of the guests was skimming the pool which I thought was odd but when I went to the pool myself the following day and saw the hair and debris floating on top of the cloudy water I understood. I couldn't bring myself to use the pool under those conditions, although some other guests didn't seem to mind. The pool area itself is large and inviting with plenty of lounge chairs and it would be a simple fix for management to take better care of the pool.

I will probably stay again if I am in the area because of the comfortable room and convenient location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RDH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear guest. Thanks for taking time and letting us know your thoughts about your memorial day weekend stay at our hotel . We appreciate your kind remarks about the comfortable experience you had. But we also do apologized about the cleanliness of pool .Yes there was some mechanical issue in the pool which was not letting the water in the pool filter run properly. But the pool mechanic came yesterday and fixed it. We are heartily sorry for your inconvenience.
But we promise to serve you much better next time. look forward to see you soon. thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    56
    27
    19
    13
See reviews for
94
29
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I went away for the weekend to Williamsburg and stayed at this hotel. The hotel has bee renovated and our room was fantastic. We enjoyed the beautiful historical area especially the horse and carriage ride. It was like traveling back thru time. Nice area to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Miss G ,
We are grateful to you as you have spare your valuable time and put your thoughts on this site. We are really happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay. Yes you are right Williamsburg is a beautiful area to visit. Have a wonderful summer and look forward to see you soon,
thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh,North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

On another Spring break visit with family to Busch Gardens we stayed at our favorite hotel " Econo Lodge Inn & Suites" at 119 Bypass Rd . This is our third stay at this hotel and won't be our last.. as usual our regular adjoining rooms were ready for our family-this time for a late arrival about 9:pm on a Saturday evening with no worries of not getting what we requested on our prior phone reservations. We were very happy to find on this visit that "NO SMOKING" signs were posted outside and inside each room( as discussed on our visit last year) and we had no problems with any smoking on hotel grounds - this hotel is completely smoke free!! Our grandchildren find the breakfast to be filling and like the fact of making their own waffles (2 waffle makers are available) and the fresh fruit (as Vinny's wife buys fresh fruit daily).I have never found our rooms not to be CLEAN and if you need anything, just call the front desk and they will be most helpfull. A PLUS for us is that each room has a mini-refrigerator as one of our grandsons was on medication at time of our visit which needed to be refrigerated. We have not on each visit had a problem with any outside noise affecting our sleeping.
As we were checking out of hotel we learned of the up-grade that Vinny (mgr.) was in the process of dealing with a contractor for installing a laundry area for his hotel guest to use!!!! So when making your next reservations please be sure to ask if that service is completed and ready for our use...Vinny and his wife are doing what will make their guest feel right at home and make repeated stays at his hotel, as this new addition comes from hotel guest sugestions. Again, a great stay and plan on another visit this year with family.Thank you Vinny, as you have really turned this hotel around in only the (one) year since you took over as manager, GREAT JOB !!

Room Tip: We stayed here in early April so the outside pool was not open but a nice plus in warmer weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toothfairy915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a great weekend getaway in Williamsburg. We stayed at the Econo Lodge for one night. The room was very large and clean. It is also very convenient to Historic Williamsburg and to Busch Gardens. It is beside Dairy Queen and kmart so also very convenient. I had to wait to check in because the lady at the front desk was coloring her hair in the back, but it was not busy at all so maybe that was why. Breakfast was ok. The usuals for continental breakfast. It would be great if they added one more waffle maker though. There is only one and you have to wait forever to use it which is hard with small children. They could also use at least one kid friendly cereal option. They had plain cheerios and corn flakes only. Other than this the staff was friendly, the value was great for the cost and the only noise we heard was from our own kids. We will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Rhurley,
First of all thanks for choosing Econo Lodge inn & suite colonial( w) for your spring break vacation . We appreciate your suggestion for second waffle make and another option for kids cereal . Both of your request took in consideration and implemented right away too. Sorry for your inconvenience .and we promise to give you much much better service in future.
Look forward to see u soon. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

My sons and I got away for the weekend to explore Colonial Williamsburg. We needed a clean, simple, and inexpensive place to stay. We had a great time and enjoyed our weekend. The hotel met our expectations and we highly recommend this hotel to others seeking the same qualities. The staff was very friendly and always greeted us with a smile. The rooms were clean and efficient. We were on the ground floor and experienced no noise problems even on the weekend. The breakfast available was simple and filling. Being early Spring, the pool was not open so I cannot accurately grade that aspect. We will definitely plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt28374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinny R, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hello Mr Matt,
Thanks for giving us opportunity to server you on your family get away last weekend.We are delighted to see your positive feed back on trip advisor about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know that we could accommodate you well. It was nice to see that you really loved our location too. On the behalf of our entire staff and myself ,we really appreciate your business and reviews . Hope to see you soon.
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goochland, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

After traveling to Williamsburg several times now we have stayed in a few different hotels. We were pleasantly surprised by the Econo Lodge since it doesn't rate many stars. The room was clean and well put together. There was little noise to speak of outside and we enjoyed having a light breakfast the next morning. For the price, we found our stay comfortable and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinny R, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
we are so thankful for giving your valuable thoughts for our hotel. we do appreciate that you really enjoyed your stay . Looking forward to serve better and better in the future. Thanks and have a HAPPY NEW YEAR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Williamsburg Historic Area
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#55 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#36 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Williamsburg Historic
1.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#41 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Colonial
Econo Lodge Colonial
#47 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg
Address: 119 Bypass Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is in the heart of Williamsburg offers FREE continental breakfast; located 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg. All the area attractions are close by like Busch Gardens, Prime Outlet Mall, pottery factory, etc.we offer FREE WI-FI . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Americas Best Value Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing