We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“live, huge cockroach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Colonial
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“live, huge cockroach”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel due to its proximity to Colonial Williamsbug. However, we were shocked to see a live, crawling, huge, 3-inches long cockroach in our room!! Carpet was very dirty,old; room had a musty, moldy smell; insect under the bed sheets; a/c took too long to cool. Definitely would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JVDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kambala, General Manager at Econo Lodge Colonial, responded to this review, 21 July 2012
Dear Guest

For our motel to have as big cockroaches as you describe is impossible. We have certified pest control every month.
No such insect activity has been EVER reported.We do take of our motel maintenece
very deligently.
Thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    53
    22
    11
    6
See reviews for
52
28
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

The room was clean and the hotel was quiet. The bathroom is very small, but the shower had an extended curtain and nice shower head. The TV was very old and TV reception was awful. Breakfast was very disappointing! Breakfast options consist of only muffins, bread and cereal, with a toaster and microwave for preparation. The breakfast room is also very small and seats only 12 at capacity.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Room and bathroom were clean. Bathroom was a little small and the shower curtain was very thin. Water basically dripped through the curtain and ran down mostly back into the tub but some onto the bathroom floor. Air conditioning was excellent. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast was disappointing. It was basically toast, cereal, muffins, apple juice, orange juice, coffee. I may have gotten my hotel reviews confused but I thought there would be a waffle maker =)

Oh and location to Busch Gardens / Water Country was great

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I loved the little continental breakfast and even though pool was freezing cold - LOVED IT!!!!!!! Very convenient to Colonial WIlliamsburg!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aidan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Very clean room, people were friendly, nice location

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jakerantz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way to the Outer Banks. This hotel exceeded our expectations in all areas and was much more than we had dared to hope for. The spacious room was VERY clean, as was the bathroom. The bedding on the king-sized bed was extremely clean and fresh (the quality was definitely above a level found in hotels anywhere close to this price point). Location is excellent. Having a clean microwave and under-counter sized fridge (not micro) was a nice plus. The breakfast was pretty limited, but the quality of the items made us more than satisfied with it. If we are in the Williamsburg area in the near future, this will definitely be where we stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in building where office is enter from hall; others have only outside doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank INtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Spent the night on our way from New York to the outer banks. Spacious room and clean, great for a night or two, would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scot0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#43 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#46 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Parkway / Historic Area
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites - Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Williamsburg/Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Colonial

Property: Econo Lodge Colonial
Address: 216 Parkway Dr, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Colonial 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming 2-story brick inn featuring interior & exterior rooms, central location - Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Colonial Hotel Williamsburg
Econo Lodge Williamsburg
Williamsburg Econo Lodge
Econolodge Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing