We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rodeway? Run away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #46 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We are budget conscience and know to expect to get what you pay for but this place was disgusting. The heavy odor of smoke, Cigarette burns everywhere and ashtrays that had not been empty in our "clean and ready" room. Furnishings that had not been cleaned in decades, a bathroom accessible through a narrow dark stairwell down to a bathroom so small you had to be a contortionist to use it - and do I need to say how decrepit it's condition?

Oh - and as for the "continental breakfast"...a jug of Sunny Delight, a box of Dunkin Donuts and a pot of coffee in the cramped registration office.

This made for a memorable trip to the Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrMemory20866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

This is the place to stay if you want a clean, quite room for not a lot of money. The rooms are a good size and again very clean! The only complaint was the air conditioner was noisy, but you do get use to it and it did cool the room well, and it was very hot in VA when we were there. The breakfast is served in the small lobby, really no where to eat there, so you have to take it back to your room and there are not hot items, it is just cereal, donuts, coffee, etc., but it worked for us. The only other amenities are an outdoor pool and there is an ice machine near the pool. Overall, I would stay here again, if on a budget!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twhalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

after much searching we settled on this inn because it had 2 bedrooms and a pull out sofa. the inn was easy to find just off highway 64. the rooms were plenty big enough and very clean. the place does need updating and a lick of paint is needed especially on the cabinets in the kitchen, but the refridgerator was huge ( coffee pot was small ) and the microwave was a bonus. we had a choice of 2 cereals in the morning for the included breakfast , fresh doughnuts and muffins, tea and the best coffee i had in america ! the location of the motel is great just down the road from williamsburg, water park and bush gardens.other people had mentioned the trains but we only heard them once and that was during the day when we were in the pool (which was very clean and plenty of chairs and tables around it ). the only problem if you can call it that is the pillows were very hard so i popped down to walmart and bought a couple of them and we left them in the rooms (they were only a couple of dollars) so you could be lucky and get them if you stay there !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellokittyPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

WELL worth the price we paid...yes not a luxury hotel..some maintenance neglected ...noisy AC unit...but it cooled very well..some night traffic noise ...carpet needed washing badly. otherwise clean and neat no amenities but the pool. FOR THE PRICE..a good deal...I will go back again for this price...Owner very helpful and accommodating...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I booked a nights stay at this hotel thru choicehotels.com. I was initially a little concerned because of the room rate - was this a SAFE place to stay or not? After reading the reviews on tripadvisor I decided to give it a try. Glad we did! We stayed here one Saturday night while we attended a volleyball tournament in Williamsburg. My family and I were very pleased with our stay here. The hotel is a somewhat dated but has a nice aged charm about it! Everything was CLEAN! Beds were comfy--however would recommend you request additional pillows as theirs were somewhat flat (or bring your own). We will definitely recommend this hotel to others and will stay there again at next years tournament!
Safe Travels! T.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B4andAfter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Two teens and I stayed one night for a sports tournament in Williamsburg. We weren't sure where we were playing when we booked the room but it was very convenient from just about everywhere we went.

I booked the room online thru the hotel website for $46 for a Saturday night. Called the day of to ask if I could check in early and was told it wouldn't be a problem. Check in was quick. Entered the room to find two queen size beds, a small table and two chairs, good size refrigerator and coffee pot. Lots of room outside the bathroom with a sink and large countertop.

Bathroom was immaculate. Beds were comfy, not cozy, could use new sheets and mattress pad but everything was very clean.

Called in the evening to check on the start time for the continental breakfast and since 7 am was our departure time for our tournament, Mr. Patel kindly offered to have it ready by 6:45 am for us! As promised, coffee was brewing and cereal, juice, milk, fruit, danish and muffins were ready at 6:45. He also brought out fresh donuts for us.

There is also an outdoor pool but it was still covered.

Would highly recommend this hotel to a family wanting to save money to spend on other things in Williamsburg. No frills, great staff, super deal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bdaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

This place was certainly not fancy, but the non-smoking room we booked was clean and quite. This is a motel with few amenities. Breakfast was included; limited selection - cold cereal, doughnuts, juice and coffee. The beds are not new or the most comfortable, but they did not impact a good night of sleep. The pillows had no loft to them at all – so you may want to ask for extra ones at check-in. This motel has 2 queen size beds in the room – most of the area hotels only have double beds in the rooms with two beds.

There is a train track across the street, but we only heard trains twice and they did not impact our sleeping. Staff was friendly and efficient. I probably would not want to stay for more than a night or two – but it served its purpose for the one night we were there. The rate was nearly 2/3 lower than the near-by Hampton Inn (although, I am sure Hampton Inn would be newer and probably more comfortable). It is close to all the Colonial Williamsburg attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwtotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Historic
Rodeway Inn Historic
#48 of 73 in Williamsburg
94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
4.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Williamsburg Historic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Parkway / Historic Area
0.7 mi away
Bassett Motel
Bassett Motel
#58 of 73 in Williamsburg
58 reviews
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Williamsburg
Red Roof Inn Williamsburg
#50 of 73 in Williamsburg
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 7224 Merrimac Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5224
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £42 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Williamsburg
Williamsburg Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing