We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #55 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
A TripAdvisor Member
“Vacation”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After I made the reservation to stay here on our way to our final destination, I read the reviews. Not one was complimentary so I was a little nervous. However our stay was quite wonderful, the room was perfect, the nicest I have had in a La Quinta to date. It was clean and such a bonus that they allow pets and at no extra charge. I would stay here again and again and recommend it to everyone I know without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    148
    102
    58
    49
See reviews for
265
121
24
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is in the ideal place and the staff are knowledgeable about the area. We took the trip to visit Busch Gardens and this hotel is near the amusement park. We stayed in a room overlooking the parking area and there are many dog walkers. This was something we had to get use to because the hotel is pet friendly. However, the hotel provides access to the internet and a printer so you can print out important information one may need for a trip. If you are shopper the hotel is not that far from the outlets, maybe less than 20 minutes. Breakfast is provided at the hotel and the staff did a good job of providing plenty of breakfast items. Finally they have big well kept indoor pool. We would definitely return to this hotel. The lobby is nice and sofas are comfortable. The only problem with the exterior of the hotel are the flies. Sometimes enjoying the weather is difficult because of the flies that are near the sitting area. I don't know if its from the dog poop that I did not see on the premise but it might have been in the garbage can. The flies are a nuisance so if you want fresh air one might walk a bit further away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the pool area. Floors above the first floor are not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Loria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylord
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great location, very friendly staff. Building could use a bit more maintenance , but the pool area is great!!!! Elevator is old and could use some tlc. Seemed to be several people who stay they for months at a time!!! Landscaping was very nice!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms very nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Juneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have stayed at this location several times! i always enjoy my stay with LaQuinta Williamsburg. The front desk staff are helpful, friendly and welcoming. I've interacted with just about every employee at this hotel and each of them are sincerely dedicated and professional! This location is a quiet home away from home for me. The area is safe and is located just outside of the historic area. Colonial Williamsburg is a block from the hotel. LaQuinta makes traveling with my dogs a breeze. No deposits or extra fees for traveling with your pets! Breakfast is average. Its free and they have a choice of just about anything. The beds are comfy, the pool is warm. You can't get service like this anywhere else and pay these type of rates!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
114 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Good place to stay. Clean great staff. Breakfast is acceptable. If you prefer to be served Breakfast there is a pancake house next door. Also an Italian restaurant is located across the street. Centrally located. 5 minutes to Historic Williamsburg. 2 minutes to the entrance of the Colonial Pky which is a scenic way to travel to Jamestown of Yorktown. And if you are here for the shopping it is ten minutes to Richmond Rd which is where the bulk of that attraction is. The hotel is attractive inside and out. There is also an indoor pool in the basement which we didn't try out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

not a place for the family. rooms smell, dirty, breakfast terrible. spend a few extra dollars and stay somewhere else. we stayed here before a trip to bush gardens with young kids. would not stay at this place again. there are plenty of other places to stay that have better accommodations. building was old and they cheaply renovated this place to make it seem nice and new.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
2 Thank Raleigh_Travelers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I had read on trip-adviser that there had been a woman with two dogs that were mean and I figured that she would be gone but, she was not. She picked up my dog and shook her. Other than that guest with the hotel can't prevent my stay was perfect. The two front desk clerks I saw names were Jackie and Vanessa. They were very helpful and kind. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenniegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
#21 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Property: MainStay Suites
Address: 814 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4325 (Formerly Mayfair Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MainStay Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Williamsburg
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Laquinta Hotel Williamsburg
Holiday Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing