We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay for Busch Gardens goers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for Busch Gardens goers!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This was our third stay at this hotel. The customer service is stellar and the accommodations are perfect for a family vacation. We head there after a long day at Busch Gardens. We are always welcomed by friendly staff, warm cookies and comfy rooms. The pool is great for the kids, new game room was a hit. The breakfast buffet is a great way to start the morning! We have made many memories staying here! Thank you, Williamsburg Doubletree staff!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb_Cpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    390
    214
    108
    46
See reviews for
561
239
32
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while we visited our son who works at Busch Gardens. Good restaurants, room service and friendly, attentive staff. Comfy beds and pillows and good water pressure and hot water! Couldn't get a better location to BG and there is an amazing Italian restaurant in walking distance!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

For our 25th wedding anniversary I decided to splurge on my wife by taking her to Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg.

It was so nice to check into our room early and when we mentioned that we were celebrating our silver anniversary they even upgraded us.

It was a nice treat for couple who doesn't have the opportunity to get away alone.

Thank you DoubleTree!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Within a mile to the parks and not far from everything else this hotel hit all of our needs. Rooms were large, staff was friendly and the pool made the kids happy. We usually stay where we can enjoy free breakfast buffets and that was not a choice here. The breakfast buffet was a little pricey and just ok. We also aye at the sports bar and the same was true in there. You will enjoy your warm cookie upon arrival and the refreshing fruit infused waters. We primarily choose this hotel for the free shuttle which apparently was down for our stay. That makes you pay$15 a day parking at the parks a little expensive. When booking, check on shuttle availability.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank terri n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

After a long day at Busch Gardens, we checked in around 11pm...No cookies for us though, they were out and considering we checked in late, I was not surprised. We had booked on priceline (96. a night), we were able to check in right away. the room was clean and the beds were comfy. Most of the facilities were closed at that time ( including the bar), but they looked nice. While it is minutes from Busch gardens, it's somewhat isolated in a residential/Business complex area. There wasn't anything walkable ( that I know of), that being said, we would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max02215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

First and foremost, the staff was terrific, friendly, and very accommodating. The location was what drew us- it's really the closest hotel to Busch Gardens (literally a minute or so drive away). It also appears that there had been a fairly recent renovation- some lobby elements had been updated, and there appeared to be fresh wallcovering and carpets in corridors. The guestrooms were also reasonably nice, updated, and neutral. However, maintenance of elements like ice machines, windows and doors, and even fixtures in guestroom bathrooms was not great at all. There was NO ventilation in guestroom bathrooms, meaning that moisture (and smells) get out of control when the door is shut. The light fixtures were incredibly rusty and gross, the shower rod sagged, and the single water control only seemed to provide water that was scalding, slightly too hot, or completely cold. WiFi was virtually impossible to make work unless we chose to pay (a free option for Hilton Honors members did not work at all, which in my mind is almost inexcuseable). Overall, the experience was just okay- we actually had a better room at another hotel during our road trip that was half the price, had perfectly working free WiFi, and a free breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icarus922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I'll start with the positives. Our room was clean. Our bathroom was clean. The hotel had an indoor and outdoor pool. The outdoor pool included limited table service with an abbreviated menu from the hotel's bar, which was nice. You received a warm walnut/chocolate chip cookie and chilled bottle of water upon arrival that was quite pleasant after traveling all day. The lobby was clean. The front desk staff was friendly. The waitress that worked the pool table service - named Marinda - was fantastically kind and helpful. I'll now move onto the negatives. First, the laundry chute was wide open for a small child to jump down to their death (door wide open and unattended). Second, the hotel toiletries were paltry. The check-in is 4pm and check-out is 11am - this feels stingy and cheap given the fact that the hotel isn't the nicest for a Hilton property. At least give us until 12:00pm to check-out. Next, the carpet in the room felt slightly dirty and it had stains to suggest so. The balcony for which I was charged an extra $20 was overlooking a basketball and tennis court and was surrounded by in-wall air conditioning units that made sitting outside a bit too loud at times. Overall, the staff and wonderful bedding made this stay worthwhile, but the property would benefit from some updates and greater supervision of staff (that laundry chute was ridiculously dangerous and shouldn't have been left open and unlocked given that this property is right next to Busch Gardens and hosts tons of children daily during the summer).

Room Tip: Don't bother with a balcony unless it's opposite the side of the hotel where the tennis/bask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
7.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
Address: 50 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5579 (Formerly Williamsburg Hotel & Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#20 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#22 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Williamsburg is the closest full-service hotel to Busch Gardens Theme Park and Water Country USA, offering exciting family entertainment on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Marriott Hotel Williamsburg
Marriott Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing