We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low quality for a Hilton brand hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
newnan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Low quality for a Hilton brand hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I have stayed at countless Hilton brand hotels, and this is the worst of them all! While the employees were very pleasant, the service was under par. The breakfast was the worst of any hotel I've ever stayed. The waffles came out cold directly off the tray from the kitchen. The meal was so understaffed that the employees worked as fast as they could, yet couldn't keep the food and plates replenished fast enough. There was dust I could write in on the tables in the suite living room. There was no adult beverage at the managers reception like you will find at every other Homewood Suites. I have seen countless reviews similar to this one, and yet the management has not seen fit to correct the problems. If you value extra space in the suite (which I have to admit is nice for my family of 4), then this hotel may be a good choice. However, don't expect the usual Hilton brand quality!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler5554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear traveler5554,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. We will pass your concerns on to our staff. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. We would like to apologize for you not being satisifed with your stay. We are sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    184
    113
    71
    31
See reviews for
503
104
19
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We could hear other people like they were in our room. Kids fighting, crying, toilet, shower, sneezes, and much more.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear rsan,

Thank you for telling us about yoru stay with us. We appreciate your comments. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the walls in the hotel. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better. We strive as a hotel to make our hotel a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consdier us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed here around Christmas time in 2011 and visited the amusement park. We had a two year old who was wiped out by the end of the evening so I called ahead to make sure a crib was in the room. I was assured it was, but it wasn't and I had to wait another hour before it showed up. Aside from that the hotel is in excellent condition, the rooms were very clean and breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris_F1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Kris_F1,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us around Christmas time of 2011. We apologize for the inconvenience of the crib not being available to you when you arrived. We appreciate all guest feedback. It helps us make the necessary changes to our hotel to make it better. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I recently returned from a trip to Williamsburg for a friend's wedding, and I have nothing but positive things to say about my stay at the Homewood Suites. The staff was INCREDIBLY accommodating whenever we had a request, but even more impressive was how above and beyond they went to get to know us to provide personalized service. Every single time we entered or exited the hotel, the staff greeted us and asked how our day was going. They checked up on how my sick boyfriend was feeling, they asked about the wedding we attended, and truly seemed to take the time to remember us as individual guests and do everything they could to make sure we had an excellent stay. There was one woman in particular who really went out of her way to take care of us, and I wish I hadn't lost the sheet of paper where I wrote down her name. Leona? Neola? I'm so sorry I don't remember, but the level of courtesy and customer service she shared with us was beyond exceptional.

In addition, even after I checked out, when my credit card was charged in error, the issue was taken care of quickly and professionally. Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeskaLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear JeskaLyn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of you comments. We sure hope that your boyfriend is feeling better. Thank you for telling us about your experience with Lenola. She is a great asset to our team. We really appreciate all of her hard work and dedication. We will pass these great comments on to her. Our staff truly appreciates hearing when they are doing a great job. Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

The staff of this hotel were exceptional. They made it a point to ensure our room met our needs, They quickly responded to a outlet that needed replacement and a bulb that needed to be replaced. I've stayed at a number of Homewood's and this one was a little disappointing. The facility itself feels as though it is tired and ready for a much needed upgrade.While the facility was very well kept and clean the furniture and color schemes seemed somewhat dated and the mattress was a little soft and lacked support for our tastes. The complimentary breakfasts and dinners were the most disappointing and not up to the Hilton standards I have come to expect. Food was generally poor quality and often cold. in our opinion, Homewood would be better served by eliminating this low quality food service. Not having food offered would prove to be less of a dissatisfier than receiving poor quality food. Dinner beverage choices were reduced to coffee, water, ice tea and lemonade.a stark change from the wine and beer offering at another Homewood I had stayed. There are plenty of good restaurants close by, so not having good food at the hotel wasn't a major issue. All in all we continue to like Hilton's Homewood franchise, but this location would benefit from a little investment. Again, the staff was great and this is still a solid hotel to consider if your looking to stay close to all triangle activities

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plittleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, 28 December 2012
Dear plittleton,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding the hotel. We value all guest feedback. Thank you for telling us your thoughts about the food service. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We are always looking for better ways to make this service better. We use all guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We were in Virginia Beach for a National Cheerleading competition and decided to head over to Williamsburg the next day to take the kids to Busch Gardens so we wanted something close to the park that could fit a family of 7 (2 adults, 4 children, and an infant). We got a good rate on Hilton.com. We requested a pack & play for the baby ahead of time so we didn't have to bring one with us. The hotel perfectly met our needs. Booked a suite w/ 2 beds and then a sofa bed in the living room. It offered us plenty of space for our family. Beds were comfortable, full kitchen was nice so we could keep bottles and drinks in the fridge cold. Internet worked well, TV channel selection was plentiful. Breakfast the next morning was typical Homewood selection. Scrambled eggs, hash browns, pancakes, sausage, breads/pastries/cereal/fruit/juices. At one point, they ran out of one of the pastries that my son and daughter wanted, and the staff member brought a plateful over to our table. That was a nice gesture. The staff was very friendly, always smiling, greeting as you moved through the lobby. They do a nice job making you feel at home. In terms of location and such, hotel has free parking, was easy to find, and close to Busch Gardens. About 5 mins away. Plenty of restaurant selections within 2 miles. Last tip - If you do have small children, I would give them a talking to before heading to the room about keeping their voices down. The walls seemed super super thin. Unfortunately our baby cried for a minute and I could hear him from down the hall when I got off the elevator. Only issue we had with our room is that the room lock was a little tricky to open after you swiped your key and probably could use some servicing. But overall, we had a good stay and would recommend to anyone who needs more space, wants a full kitchen, or if you have more than 3 children.

Room Tip: when you enter the main lobby you are actually on the 2nd floor. Breakfast is in the lower lobby wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sannicandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Sannicandrob,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit to our hotel. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family during your trip. We appreciate all of your great comments about the hotel its self and the breakfast that you received. It is important to make all of our guests happy. Thank you for mentioning your concern about the lock on your door. We are currently looking into the issue. We are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. We are glad that you enjoyed your time in the area. We hope that if you come to the area again that you will sty with us.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. Two exceptional employees made our stay even better. Will was the host at the evening reception and every night he greeted us pleasantly and asked how our day had been. He bent over backwards to make sure we had everything we needed. Andrea was the very nice lady who checked us in/out. She seemed to always be at the hotel, and every time she saw us she greeted us warmly. She went out of her way to say hello and ask how we were doing or if we needed anything. These two employees really showed us some nice southern hospitality during our stay.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the lower level, as that is where breakfast/dinner and the pool are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMPHotels, Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Barbara H,

Thank you for telling us about your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted that you mentioned our two employees Andrea, and Will. We are going to pass these great comments on to them. We appreciate all of your thoughts. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

Thank you again for your time. We hope that we will see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
1.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Property: Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Address: 601 Bypass Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated All Suite Hotel less than a mile from Colonial Williamsburg Experience the best of Williamsburg and stay at our all suite Homewood Suites by Hilton® Williamsburg. Stylish, spacious, modern, and loaded with useful amenities, we’re situated in the center of colonial Williamsburg and a short drive to Busch Gardens and Water Country USA. For those arriving by air, we are 18 miles from Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport. From a free daily hot breakfast and evening reception Monday thru Thursday (featuring light snacks and drinks*) to complimentary Wi-Fi, we’re designed for comfortable and productive stays. Enjoy a swim in the year round heated indoor pool, go for a workout in the modern fitness center, or fire up the grill in our outdoor area. Conveniently located near many local companies and businesses, including College of William and Mary, you can go from boardroom to vacation mode in minutes. Explore the fun and history of Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens or Water Country USA and nearby attractions Jamestown Yorktown historic areas. Catch a game at William and Mary’s Zable Stadium, tour the historic campus, or visit Colonial Williamsburg’s Merchant Square for a one-of-a-kind shopping experience. We also offer our guests a variety of smart touches designed to make traveling easy, like our 24-hour market, gift shop, safety deposit boxes, and onsite laundry facilities. Our Suites At our Williamsburg hotel you don’t need to upgrade to a suite because every room is a suite, offering smart decor and amenities. Choose from a spacious one-bedroom or two bedroom suite, all with separate living and sleeping area. Each suite includes a fully equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, and dishwasher ideal for extended stay guests. Offering a large selection of rooms with two queen beds, we’re a great hotel for families, corporate travelers, and groups. Whether you are in town on business or on a weekend getaway, you’ll love our spacious accommodations near Colonial Williamsburg. Our Suites Guest Perks Start your day with a delicious hot breakfast featuring eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, and a variety of baked goods and pastries, as well as juices, coffee, and tea. Unwind at our complimentary evening reception offering a light meal, snacks, beer, and wine*. Built for travelers on the go, we have a 24-hour onsite market and offer grocery shopping service. Don’t skip a workout at our 24-hours fitness center, enjoy a refreshing swim year round in our indoor pool. Our 24-hour business center features free WiFi, complimentary printing, fax facilities and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Homewood Williamsburg
Williamsburg Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing