We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2008

This two-bedroom suite was our “base of operations” during our stay in the Williamsburg area. We’ve always had good experiences with Homewood Suites, and this was no exception.

The room was clean and well furnished with a TV in each room and another one in the living area. The employees were very friendly, even the housekeeping staff. The housekeeping people spoke little English, but seemed delighted that I attempted to converse in my fractured Spanish. (One stressed—in Spanish—that she was trying to learn English because “it is important for my job.”) Each day the housekeeping manager either stopped by or called to make sure that our room had been cleaned to our satisfaction.

The hotel offers a free all-you-can-eat breakfast. Scrambled eggs are always on the menu, accompanied by sausage links, corned beef hash, juice, rolls, milk, coffee, etc. The menu varied somewhat each day. As you might guess, this breakfast was very popular, so it tended to be crowded. (There are only 12 tables in the eating area.) There was also an evening food offering, but we never tried it.

If you need Internet access, there is WiFi in the lobby area and wired Internet in the rooms. For high-speed room access, make sure you bring along a network cable for your laptop. The in-room speed is an astonishing 20 Mbytes per second!

There is a small, but well-maintained indoor pool. The laundry room features two washers and dryers ($1.50 for an hour’s worth of dryer time).

We were very pleased with this Homewood Suites. If our family returns to Williamsburg, we will definitely come here again.

  • Liked — Clean and friendly
  • Disliked — Nothing, really
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HomewoodSuitesGM601, General Manager at Homewood Suites Williamsburg, responded to this review, 28 September 2008
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. As the new General Manager I promise you that my staff and I will do our best to ensure that all of our guests leave our hotel 100% satisfied. Over the coming months we will be making improvements to our hotel and hope you will come back to see the changes. We have just completed replacing all the beds in the hotel and are planning other improvements. Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again!

Ravi Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    171
    110
    65
    31
See reviews for
450
103
19
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Altenburg, mo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

My wife dropped my three sons and me off at Colonial Williamsburg on a Monday afternoon then walked into the Homewood Suites and booked a two bedroom suite for two nights. It was nice, convenient, roomy, and clean. When I went to check out, I was shocked. $279 per night plus taxes and fees. Although this is a Hilton property, it's level of amenity is equal to a Drury Suites, not a Hilton. The price was too high for what we got, although it was very large, and had a kitchenette. We stayed at the Hyatt Grand in Washington DC the two nights prior(Saturday and Sunday) in a similar arrangement only much more elegant and didn't pay this much.

  • Liked — roominess
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hzlwd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Nothing to write home about goor or bad

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank n6877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2008

I stay at the Homewood Suites frequently for business. The staff is great and remembers regular customers.

Front desk staff changes frequently but they've always gotten my reservation correct.

Rooms are great - separate bedroom from the living room and kitchenette. 2 TVs is nice too.

Evening light meals on the weekdays is a nice amenity; breakfast is more than decent. hot and cold items available.

Indoor pool is sometimes a little cold but a fun place for families in the summer.

Nice location within town - easy drive to Busch Gardens and Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vatrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia suburbs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We had a great space for us and 2 children. 2 room suite with small living room/kitchenette and 2 baths. 3 TVs with premium cable channels and indoor pool. Room was clean and comfortable. Hotel was close to Colonial Williamsburg. However, the hotel came with a "made to order" breakfast. We assumed it would be similar to Embassy Suites breakfasts as they are both part of the Hilton chain. How wrong we were! Fake scrambled eggs! Pork products (bacon, sausage, hash). Poor biscuits. Only sugary, disgusting cereals. Blueberry muffins with dried out blueberries. Fake o.j. Canned fruit instead of fresh. This was not a "made to order" breakfast. There was nothing healthy to feed my children! The manager's reception in the evening was even worse. Overly sweetened iced tea, and some type of processed "light" entree. What a ripoff! Stay in the room, forgo to breakfast.

  • Liked — space of hotel room
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerDor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2007

We recently stayed at Homewood Suites during a Christmas visit to family who live in the area. We had a two-bedroom suite. One room had a king bed, and the other had two queens. No complaints about the room
except for the bathroom layout. Both bathroom sinks were outside the actual bathrooms, and there were no doors obscuring them from the kitchen/living area. Odd. Ask for an odd-numbered room ... they overlook a pretty pond and the neighborhood behind the hotel, rather than the main drag in front. The breakfast buffet is on the lowest level, as is the ice machine. Plentiful offerings ... decent food. The
front desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly and helpful ... and the hotel was very festively decorated for the holidays. All in all, a good choice in the Williamsburg area.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank hpliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2007

I booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite for our group of 4, and we couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. We had a small problem at check-in, but Erin at the front desk handled it quickly, professionally and with an apology. Erin continued to be helpful throughout our stay..... answering all of our questions..... always with a smile. The breakfast was nice. We did not take advantage of the dinners, so I can't comment on that. Our only complaint would be that the temperature in the room was difficult to control..... We tended to be either too cold or too warm. Couldn't quite get it right for all the rooms at the same time.

This group of women has made this trip to Williamsburg to attend a seminar for many years, staying in one hotel for the first 3 days and then switching to the hotel where the seminar is being held for the final 4 days. There has already been discussion about staying at the Homewood for the entire trip next year and signing up for the seminar minus the hotel room that's offered in the seminar package. The Homewood is a much nicer hotel and we can transport ourselves to the seminar as needed. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable, wonderful bed, 2 bathrooms
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenSMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Williamsburg
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Williamsburg

Property: Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Address: 601 Bypass Rd, U.S. Route 60, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Williamsburg hotel, a charming hotel located 18 miles from Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport. Enjoy the comforts of home in one of the elegant suites, complete with your own fully equipped kitchen and separate living room. Situated in the center of colonial Williamsburg, the spacious suites make this hotel in Williamsburg, VA a memorable place for an extended stay or short holiday Enjoy the comforts of home at Homewood Suites, where your day begins with a complimentary cooked breakfast. Choose a spacious one- or two-bedroom suite with separate living and sleeping areas. Unwind on comfortable, classic furniture in front of your fireplace. Each suite is large enough for work, study or entertaining, and includes a kitchen with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Relax on a comfortable couch in your living room, and unwind in front of on-demand movies on your 37-inch LCD TV. Stay connected with high-speed WiFi and two telephones with data ports and voicemail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Homewood Williamsburg
Williamsburg Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing