We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hotel, will absolutely stay here again!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel, will absolutely stay here again!"”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

In early June 2011 Mom and W&M daughter stayed at Hampton Inn at 1880 Richmond Rd.. The hotel location is very convenient to everything in city, the staff were friendly and helpful (they called our room after check-in to make sure everything was in order); good/varied complimentary breakfast served 6-10am; room very clean; the beds seemed newer and were very very comfortable w/feather pillows! Our room was near elevators and ice/vending machines but the noise was quite minimal.

Room came with WIFI, very good AC (it's hot in VA), clothes iron& brd, big flat screen TV, coffee service, micro, fridge, blowdryer, alarm clock, and everything worked!! plenty of clothes storage; dailing cleaning was well done; lots of parking. Check-in and check-out were a breeze. Didn't use the small indoor pool, but it seemed well cared for and got a lot of use.

A couple of very small problems - both room keys stopped working and had to be 're-keyed'. There were 2 elevators and due to a lightning/thunder storm 1 stopped working for 2 days which was very inconvenient.

One bigger problem is the carpeting, in all main hotel areas and in our room, it's worn and should be replaced or at the very least could use a thorough cleaning.

Room Tip: use AAA, AARP, etc. for best discount prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GS1_WandM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    285
    109
    43
    7
See reviews for
476
235
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chillicothe, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This Hampton Inn was okay...check in was friendly, but didn't remember my tour tickets for Colonial Williamsburg. DIdn't offer tips for places to eat or things to see. Room was roomy, but shower had "mold" growing. Really impressed by bathroom size. Soda machines on 4th and 3rd floors didn't work, had to go all the way to 2nd floor to find one that did. Breakfast was fine if you can survive on sugary or bread products. How about some eggs and sausage or bacon for those of us who don't do that many carbs for breakfast? WiFi didn't work well on our corner floor. 4th floor top corner, but it was quiet and we appreciate that. We'd recommend this hotel with some tips...don't purchase the CW ticket package: just get the basic room. What's the deal with the signs that say "Park at your own risk"? That's not very reassuring!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler201163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Excellent customer service from Hampton Inn employees. The evening cookies were a real treat. However, the rooms were stale/musky and not cleaned well. Hair from prior guests were all over furnishing and in the bathroom. The furniture is old and too large for the limited space in the rooms. The lighting was also very dim. While the kids enjoyed the pool as most due, there was too much chlorine which caused their eyes to burn. Just modernize and keep rooms cleaner to add to your winning service.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSNRWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is not the newest of the two Hampton Inn properties in the immediate Colonial Williamsburg area, but this is a well-maintained, comfortable and quiet hotel a little further down the road. It is about a 5 minute drive to the main Colonial Williamsburg visitor center and about 15 minutes from the Busch Gardens theme park. There are lots of restaurants near by as well.

Room Tip: Quietly tucked away but near Colonial Willamsburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattSuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This hotel was great, the food, location, and everything about it was wonderful. i would stay in Hampton Inn's each time I travel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arletta_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I purposely choose Hampton Inns because I have seldom been disappointed. I was very disappointed this time, There was no value for the money spent, there was no opportunity to NOT stay since the hotel had a 7 days cancellation policy and I made the reservation 3 days in advance. The room was at best seedy (a former handicapped room it was patched back together with patches in the wall, half-installed plumbing. The breakfast area was atrocious, not because of the staff but because of the "guests" - they were acting like a bunch of animals - akin to locusts - swarming through the room. The feeding room and food rooms were far too small to accomodate a fairly full hotel. I am very disappointed in being charged for a "suite" when there were other locations in the Wiliamsburg area that were of better value.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this Hampton Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westtenn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I was in Williamsburg for the Run for the Dream Half Marathon and made a reservation at Hampton Inn. I have stayed at all three locations in Williamsburg and all are very nice and what you come to expect with the Hampton Inn brand. Room was spacious, clean, had a small refrigerator. Clean bathroom and bedding. Staff was friendly and was able to have a late check out, which I appreciated, after the race.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueheronfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
2.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#3 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd.
Address: 1880 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg-Richmond Rd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing