We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location - otherwise a dud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Patriots Place
Ranked #31 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scotia, New York
2 reviews
“Fantastic location - otherwise a dud”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Conveniently located to historical sites, restaurants, shopping, downtown, Walls are SO thin we heard every single intimate conversation from the neighbors as if they were right in our living room. Common areas were very dirty and had a stale-musty smell. Furniture is very old and worn. We had a 1BR deluxe which was to sleep 4, 1 Queen and 1 pullout couch - the couch springs were all broken and the mattress was too thin and lumpy to be used. We brought sleeping bags for the kids "just in case" The WIFI shut down on Tuesday - was still not back on Saturday when we left. The staff was very polite when told of the issues but generally unconcerned as nothing was done to rectify even the smallest issue - like a vacuum in the hall!!

Room Tip: With an upstairs room you won't hear every single footstep taken from above. You will still hav...
See more room tips
Green Features: Tried with tank less water heaters - not sized for demand - told to let the water run "for a minute" to get hot however after a day or two i actually set it to a timer and it took 6 1/2 full minutes of running at full flow before it started to get hot.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillisro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are terribly sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you were anything less than thrilled with your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies and hope that next time you return to Patriots' Place, you will give us another chance to impress you.

Have a great day!

Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    154
    78
    41
    26
See reviews for
189
147
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been using timeshare accommodation for 23 years and this ranks at the very top of the resorts at which we have stayed. The accommodation was extremely spacious, very clean with lots of towels etc. The units are widely spaced in immaculate grounds. The pool is on the small side, but perfectly adequate. On the first day made mention that the pool sides were getting a little dirty, by the next day it had been fully cleaned and kept clean for the rest of our stay. we loved the cushions on the sun bed and the fluffy clean pool towels provided. All the staff were extremely friendly and very attentive to our every request.
Nearby Colonial Williamsburg was a real treat. A living museum where employees dress up in 18th century costumes and act out the characters of the revolutionary period. Really entertaining whilst providing excellent historical facts that are so easier to follow than reading in a boring history book.
The surrounding area is also very pleasant, with a full selection of restaurants and a huge shopping outlet.
Overall, an excellent choice and best out of our seven week tour to-date.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Hi Steve,

We are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful visit at our resort. Williamsburg is a special place all on its own, but I glad that we played a special part in you memories.

Have a great day,

Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonburg Va
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Wyndham's Patriot's Place is our favorite place to stay in Williamsburg. It is secluded and quiet, yet just minutes from Colonial Williamsburg and other major attractions. It offers an on-site outdoor pool, and plenty of peace and quiet. The units have been recently remodeled and are very clean and comfortable.

  • Liked — The secluded nature of the location.
  • Disliked — parking spaces are kinda tight. ( it was really hard to identify something i didn't like)
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Assistant Resort Manger at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hello John,
I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful vacation at Patriots’ Place. We look forward to your next visit.
In The Spirit of Hospitality!
Janet Crooms
Assistant Manger
757-220-5300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Our main requirement in choosing a resort is that they have an indoor swimming. This place no longer has indoor swimming. They had an agreement with another resort and that agreement has ended. They gave us the number of the local YMCA but we never contacted them, so I don't know if that's an alternative.

Good: The room itself was very pleasant. We had a one bedroom room and it felt somewhat colonial including a fireplace, that was not in a good location and required us to purchase fire logs if we wanted to use it. The room had a very comfortable king size bed which we used every night. This place has great access to Williamsburg and as an RCI member we got free 3-day passes.
Bad: as mentioned no access to an indoor swimming pool. The flat screen television was too small.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mageith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
362 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

It seems all the units have steps to get into the units - upper units have numerous steps. Unit was clean and well equipped. Staff was very helpful - especially with restaurants and directions. We avoided the presentation - though the tickets to Colonial Williamsburg would have saved a few bucks.

Room Tip: If you have issues with steps - ask for a lower unit - you will still have steps but few then climbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My wife, 4 month old daughter, and myself stayed here in October of 2013. Upon arrival at around 4pm, on a thrusday I was the only one checking in and it went quickly, then I was sent over to the other desk to get my parking pass. I have read other reviews where this is the desk TV at does the high pressure sales. The er found my name and gave me my pass with no pressure, but I think that is because I am a Wyndham owner. But the girl at this desk was very helpful and gave me the Colonial Williamsburg happening this week pamphlet for the week we were checking in on, and then went in the back room and got the book for the next week of the pamphlets and gave me that one too. The room was on the top floor which I had requested. It was nicely laid out and we had plenty of room. The location is about 5 minutes from CW and all the shops and restaurants.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank joeinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We just spent our very first vacation in Williamsburg, VA at the Wyndham Patriots Place. We loved it there, the staff at check in was amazing and our personal helper Karen was fantastic, we loved her! We did attended one of the sales presentations and talked with Mike and Leslie who were very nice and great sales people. It was just a fantastic trip all the way around and our resort was very relaxing and had everything we needed. The only suggestion I would have is more lights on the grounds and a lighted sign at the road but other then that it was wonderful!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#36 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#19 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Property: Wyndham Patriots Place
Address: 220 House of Burgess Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5836 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 3*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing