We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as we remembered” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Patriots Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wyndham Patriots Place
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not as we remembered”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here years ago in the mid 90s when it was first built. Excellent resort back then. Just stayed again week of 13th July. It is now showing its age. Overall a comfortable place, furniture and kitchen and bath were all high quality for the most part, but several items were lacking for a good stay for me. First was the noise from other units. The walls are thin, and you can especially hear through the lockout door to the next unit. Second was wifi, which was spotty, not always working. Third was noise from the stairs and the hallway, which we could hear clearly in the unit as people were there walking up the stairs and talking noisily. One nice feature was the tankless hot water system, which took time to heat up but never ran out of hot water. Resort is in a great location for getting quickly to lots of local attractions. I would stay here again, but I would set my expectations lower as this is not a top level resort.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank arrrrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello arrrrj!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to respond on our about our resort. We are sorry to hear that your internet needs were not met. As you know we have many properties which house a large amount of guests and their wireless devices. We are working to improve this feature; however this may take some time. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Please understand that our upcoming renovation should address most of your concerns.
In closing I would like to offer our sincere apologies.
Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    151
    74
    41
    26
See reviews for
184
144
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spring Lake, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was super excited to stay at this resort when I booked it through RCI. The pictures looked great! The outside was so quaint and perfect for what we were wanting.

Check in was good. Took a bit to get our "parking pass" but we checked in during the rush. The girl at the desk was great! She showed me where everything was on your map( which could be more clear! Not being to scale is an understatement!)

We did your " presentation" which left us way more confused then when we got in there. We had 4 different people giving us 4 different explanations on how we could do this and that with our points! The " lunch" that they provided was baked chicken, potato salad and chips! Not much of a lunch but it was free.

Now let's get to the room. We booked a 2 bedroom. There were actually two suits which was great because we could send the kids to the other side when they got irritating. The rooms look like they haven't been updated in 20 years! The doors have about 30 coats of paint it seems. The light switches were the 99 cent ones that you could find at the hardwear store. The door frames were dirty! The hinges were all rusted out and the door knobs looked like they were there since the building was built! The sliding door tracks need cleaned desperately! The main door to the balcony only had a deadbolt. The knob had no purpose! The couch had burn holes in it and creaked when you sat on it! The carpets were all stained and also had burn marks. The cabinets were about 20 years old and looked as though they had not been wiped down in a while! There was stuff under them. The appliances had dents and it looked like they haven't moved and cleaned around them. The master really should have a king size bed! That full bed was for the birds! When the ac started the whole place vibrated! The ac vents are covered by the curtains! We had to use our luggage to keep the curtains pulled away from them to cool the bedrooms! The bedrooms had boobtubes! They don't even sell those any more! Our door handle was broken. If we didn't fiddle with it, it would just hang there and not open the door!

There were really no ammenities! A pool, and volleyball net. That's it!

Overall, very disappointed! If I were an owner and knew what that place looked like, I would be livid! I will not be staying at any Wyndahm ever again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Amhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Hello AMHIGH,
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in. We know that while on vacation it is imperative that our guests are treated well. Because we have condo-style resorts, certain hotel amenities do not exist. We strive to provide this information to the guest through our website, pre-arrival letter and confirmation letter. I apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate this through additional channels in the future. We are sorry for your experience and greatly value your feedback.
Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-22-5300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

lk23ny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just returned from a week in Williamsburg. We checked in on Sunday afternoon, staff was courteous and accommodated our request for a 2nd floor unit. We had to go to the sales desk to get our "parking pass" (code for time-share sales) but there was absolutely no pressure to take tours or buy anything. We were given the parking pass and many useful area coupons. The property is lush and well-maintained. We did notice the construction in the very back of the property, but only from afar as we drove to our unit. It was not a factor AT ALL. We were in building 27 with a double lock-off unit. The rooms were CLEAN. Very very very clean. No stray gross hairs, no mold, no dirt anywhere. I wiped the entire place down with Clorox wipes before I let my family touch anything (door knobs, remotes, handles, toilets, counters, light switches.. everything). For the first time at any hotel I've stayed at, I thought doing my usual pre-cleaning was unnecessary. It was really that clean. The kitchen was super well-equipped. Toaster, blender, coffee maker (cone filters supplied), dishwasher (with soap), sponge and dish soap. Every kind of kitchen utensil one might need along with kitchenware (bowls, colander, pans, pots, cutting boards, knife block), coffee mugs, wine glasses, a water pitcher with lemonade mix. I didn't need to bring half the stuff I brought from home. I put all the silverware and glassware we would use immediately in the dishwasher and ran it several times during our stay.
The bathrooms were also well-equipped, lighted makeup mirror, several towels, soaps and detergent for the washer/dryer combo. The large tub in the adjacent bath area is not a jet tub, but a large soaking tub. It was awesome when used as a large, roomy shower. Our wifi worked perfectly the entire time, on all our devices at once. We never heard a sound from neighbors except other people out on the balcony when WE were out on the balcony - OUTSIDE. The beds were clean and comfortable. The pool closes at 10pm, kind of early if you're at Busch Gardens till it closes - no late night pool time. The location is excellent. Nothing in Williamsburg is walking-distance, don't expect that. But within minutes - left or right of the hotel - is everything and anything you could want. We would absolutely stay at Patriots Place again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Second floor units are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lk23ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello lk23ny!

Thanks so much for your kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

In The Spirit of Hospitality!

Janet Crooms 757-220-5300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to take a long weekend trip to Williamsburg as it is only an hour away from home. We had never stayed here before till this past weekend. We checked in late Thursday evening, it was not busy. Here's an overview of our experience:

Pros:
• Good location.
• Close to Colonial Williamsburg, Water Country and Busch Gardens.
• Lots of restaurants close by .
• Outlets are down the road .

Cons:
• Staff was rude and unpleasant.
• Walls are paper thin, can hear neighbor’s conversation as if they’re in your room. (I think my house is more sound proof then this place!)
• Carpet was dirty when we arrived. (I had to vacuum before bringing our things into the room.)
• The bed frame was broken. (Boyfriend had to fix it, as maintenance did not.)
• Refrigerator was not working. (Waited up till 2:30am for a new one when call was made at 12am about the issue.)
• Shower did not drain properly; you were standing in a bathtub filled with water while trying to shower.
• Maintenance barged into the room at 8am Saturday morning as they assumed we had checked out of our room as everyone else in our building had checked out. Yet, we we’re still asleep in bed and our check out date was not till Monday.
• Maintenance left dirty air filters, cleaning supplies and lint roller in hallway for two days. (Was still there when we checked out.)
• No amenities other than an outdoor pool, basketball court and volleyball.

With all the cons, we decided to leave a day early because we couldn't handle it anymore. When we told (Andie) we we're checking out early there were no question's asked about our stay or if there was a reason behind us leaving early. By far the worst experience I have ever! DO NOT stay at this old, rundown place! You’re better off staying at one of the hotels across the street. Or try to stay at Wyndham Governer's Green, where staff is friendly and has lots of amenities onsite.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the newer buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Madison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to respond about your experience at Patriots’’ Place. We listen carefully to what our guest has to say.

Again thank you for your comments.

Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The experience in this place was awful, ensure that the place is clean and dusted before you take your luggage to the room, the internet wifi was not working, the view of the room was apt he view of a construction zone, horrible

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hello Christian L,

We are sorry to hear that your internet needs were not met. As you know we have many properties which house a large amount of guests and their wireless devices. We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with the view of the pile of rubble which in-case you did not know does not belong to Wyndham Patriots’ Place. There used to be a hotel that recently was demolished. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Thank you for making us aware.

Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The grounds of the property were what we have come to expect at a Wyndham, lovely and beautiful. We did have a 2nd floor unit and the steps, while in fine condition, were short and steep - so tough to navigate. The couch was not the most comfortable, but was sufficient. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed, which was great since we planned multiple meals in. The pool area was nice and well stocked with fresh towels. The front desk and concierge were nice and friendly, our first set of rooms keys did not work - so we did have to go back and get new ones.

The resort was located close to the historic section of Williamsburg and not too far off from Busch Gardens. But our biggest issue was that the sign out on the main road was not lit up! It was difficult to find our driveway entrance many times.

Room Tip: I would ask for a lower unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I try not to write negative reviews but I feel obligated to pass along my experience with this Wyndham Resort. We booked the room online and paid in full a few weeks before our arrival. When we arrived we were told they did not have our reservation. Even after showing the lady at the desk our confirmation, she refused to help us other than to tell us to call the third party that booked our reservation. She even told us she didn't have any rooms. Luckily, we were able to reach the book agents and she gave us a room. Our reservation was made for a room that could sleep up to six. We have two adults, two teens and one "tween" in our family. The room we were given had only one queen and one fold out bed. I called the front desk to inquire further and got no help. We ended up squeezing into two beds with one on the floor after we insisted they give us an extra blanket and pillows. We couldn't get our money back so we we had to go out to Kmart to get two air beds and sheets for our second night in the room. On top of this hassle, the room was damp and smelled terrible. The walls were paper thin (might as well have invited our neighbors into our room because we could hear every word they said). Altogether a very upsetting experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sdqricci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi Sdqricci,

We apologize for your delay at check-in. We know after a long day of traveling the last thing you want to do is wait to get into your room. With your feedback we can continue to enhance the guest experience. If you feel the need to speak me further my contact information is below.

Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Historic Area Inn
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#20 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Property: Wyndham Patriots Place
Address: 220 House of Burgess Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5836 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 3*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing