We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best but not the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Patriots Place
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Tips:
1. Chose the DELUXE (side a) unit for max comfort.
2. You DO NOT get privileges at neighboring Wyndham resorts as my ad indicated we would.
3. You will be persuaded into buying a timeshare. Read the reviews before being lured in...people feel ripped off and trapped for life after making these impulsive purchases.

Hotel pros:
1. Nice area, close to EVERYTHING!
2. Loved the deluxe apartment ..felt like home away from home.
3. Apartment was IMMACULATE!
4. Full kitchen saved us tons of money!

Hotel cons:
1. Living room furniture old and too uncomfortable to use.
2. Pull out couch gave kids a backache.
3. Full size master bed (just wrong) gave husband and I terrible backaches.
4. Walls are paper thin ...luckily we only had neighbors for 1 day or it would've been unbearable

Other info:
Don't try to buy annual passes to the theme parks if you're a Florida resident. They don't advertise on the website until you go to pay. Our whole trip was planned around the theme parks and we couldn't even go!!!! But on the brighter side the kids LOVED Colonial Williamsburg, jamestown and Yorktown ...so instead of theme park fun they got the best history lesson instead and were still happy! (PS- buy the combo tickets... Don't just do the free stuff...you'll be disappointed)

Room Tip: Pick a side a deluxe room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellebee2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Ellebee2009,

Thank you for your honest feedback. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort.

In The Spirit of Hospitality!

Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Patriots Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

The resort was nice and friendly staff but there was nothing to do there but eat sleep and swim. And with 3 young kids it was tough...we planned on going to Busch Gardens Water country and colonial Williamsburg. The location to all attractions was great not a long drive at all.. If you have young kids don't even bother going to Colonial Williamsburg our kids were miserable they hated it. We took a ride to Buckroe beach in Hampton about 40 minute drive the beach was nice and not crowded at all. It was free and so was parking. Unfortunately we will most likely never go back to Williamsburg it was an 7 1/2 hr drive and there was really nothing to do. If you like history that may be a different story

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Athealy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hello Athaely22!

We are disappointed to hear our services and amenities did not meet your expectations. I know what it is like when you have children. We know that when you are staying with us, one of the perks is to be able to enjoy everything that we have to offer. We have outdoor amenities which include our outdoor pool, sand volley ball, horseshoes, and a variety of games that you can take to your room, all for free. We value your suggestions and feedback, as it gives us guidance on what to provide our guests during their vacation.

In The Spirit of Hospitality!

Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I along with our kids spent seven nights at the Wyndham Patriots Place in Williamsburg VA. We booked a two bedroom unit in building 40 which can accommodate up to eight people in the unit. The unit is actually a pair of one bedroom units that can be locked off into “A” and “B” units with both sides having separate outside access and an inner connecting door that can be locked to make separate units. The resort is laid out with multiple buildings that appear to be separate townhouses. Each building contains two floors with an “AB” unit on each floor. The grounds contain only one pool area for the entire resort near the front desk building plus a kid’s playground and basketball areas near the pool. The grounds are clean, nicely landscaped and well laid out with multiple charcoal BBQ areas mixed in amongst the buildings. The sign for the Patriot Place is shared with a Knights Inn sign on the main road so it can be easy to miss and at night is not really lit well so you can drive pass the driveway if you are not cautious.
The “A” side contains the full kitchen along with a fireplace and a full washer/dryer that is smaller which could be classed as an apartment size washer. The master suite had a shower stall and flush in the bathroom while a second half bath off the main living room had a soaker tub and shower but no toilet to accompany a second sink for washing up in this room. The main living area is cut off from the dining room and kitchen which can make the room feel cut up but allows you to keep the living and dining space separate. The sleeping on this side consisted of a Queen bed and pull out couch in the living room. Finally the “A” unit has a balcony that can be accessed from the living room and bedroom. Both the bedroom and living room are equipped with large flat screen TV’s. The balcony is fairly small with a couple of chairs and depending on the location of the building may not offer much of a view.
The “B” side had a partial kitchen with an apartment size fridge, dishwasher and small stovetop and oven but this part does not have a washer/dryer in this section nor does it not have a balcony on this side. This unit also provides a full bathroom with access from the living room and bedroom. The part of the unit also has a queen bed and pull out couch again with flat screen TV’s in the bedroom and living space. This part with the partial kitchen has a small table and chairs set up between the kitchenette and couch.
During our stay we did not have any WIFI access due to an issue the resort was experiencing throughout the entire property. During check-in the front desk staff advised if we had any wifi issues to call the number provided by the resort and follow the prompts listed to call the service provider. We followed these instructions which took us to AT&T directly. After spending 20 mins on the phone with AT&T they said the resort staff really should have been on the phone since they were asking questions we did not have the answer; we also explained to the AT&T rep that we were only staying there as a guest of the resort and we instructed by the resort to call them if we had any issues. The resort did send over a staff member to see if resetting the router in our room would help but it did not as the only thing they could do was unplug the router mounted behind the master bed in a protective housing. During this visit the staff member mentioned the resort was having wifi issues for a couple of weeks and AT&T service had been out but the resort was still waiting for them to return. In the end we were out of wifi for a couple of days but once AT&T service finally returned to the resort was the problem resolved for the entire property. While the rep was trying to reset the router I mentioned a couple of other minor issues with the room needing repair and these items we fixed right away. The maintenance rep, whom I failed to notice his name, even stopped by our unit later in the week to ensure our wifi was working and to see if we needed any other assistance which we felt was top notch service by this man.
The only real drawback we found was the check in process was slow and painful. Trying to find parking in front of the check-in building was difficult as many were arriving and there were very few spaces to park. Once inside there were a couple of people working the desk and it seemed to take them longer here to completed the check in. One thing the lady working check in was they seemed to really bring attention to our check out date in fact even mentioned it several times and had us initial the checkout date on the form. I’m not sure if this resort has an issue of people not leaving on the days they are supposed to go home. As this is a timeshare resort after you check in and are given your unit keys you still have to go to another desk to get your parking pass. For timeshare resorts this is where they try to schedule you to go to a sales pitch. My wife and I own at a timeshare and have exchanged into various resorts in multiple cities so we are familiar with the program and simply prefer to get our parking tag and go; if we want to explore purchasing at a resort we will reach out to them but please do not waste our time during check in when we are trying to simply get to our unit. They did not hound us the rest of the week to go to an “information meeting” but it was more of a hard sell before they hand over the parking tag. When my wife finally cut the woman off after a long time being set up for the meeting we said no and that we are not interested the staff member wanted to know why; my wife was quick to point out we had been driving 17+ hours and really wanted to get to our room as we are tired.
Overall the resort is nice and the units are clean and well appointed. Another upside is the resort is a couple of mins from Colonial Williamsburg visitor center as well provides easy to access the 60 and 64 highways to tour the area. There are a couple of restaurants and K-mart are within a couple of stop lights or 3-5 mins from the resort. A large majority of dining and shopping places can be found on Richmond Road which is just minutes from the resort. This place offers a nice balance of quiet relaxation in your unit besides simple access to all that Williamsburg has to offer in the region. We would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: "A" units offer more amenities over a "B" in unit.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Pweb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello Pweb44!

Thank you for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

In The Spirit of Hospitality!

Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for the weekend so that we could go to Busch Gardens. We are Wyndham owners and this is our second choice for Williamsburg Wyndham resorts. Although we prefer Governor's Green, we like Patriot's Place better than Kingsgate because the units are not so densely packed. We go to Williamsburg to do all the things that Williamsburg has to offer, so not having a lot of amenities is not a concern to us.
Pros: Unit was clean, kitchen well stocked, and beds are comfortable
The check in was friendly and efficient.
This is a convenient location for Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens and restaurants.
We had no problems with the free wifi.
Even though we get annoyed by the sales pitch when picking up the parking pass, staying at a timeshare is so much better than being in a hotel. We like having living room, eating table, full kitchen, washer & dryer available when we are vacationing.
Cons: This is the oldest Wyndham Resort in the area and the size of units are of those built in the 1980's. Most units have been renovated, but they do look older than many timeshares that you will stay in. (they are still clean!)
The TV's in the living rooms were a size that you would expect in a bedroom.
Couches are uncomfortable.
And the biggest complaint-No matter if you only staying 2 nights, you have to go through a sales pitch to "see what is happening with the resorts". We will not do this but some people will not take no for an answer. We finally convinced her our weekend was full and that we were not going to show up for this update. I wish we didn't have to go through this every time.

Room Tip: A 1 bedroom deluxe is definitely bigger than the 1 bedroom with efficiency kitchen.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Well hello Golfgal22153!

Thank you for giving us honest feedback. We hope that you will come back to see us once our renovations are complete.

Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

In The Spirit of Hospitality!
Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here years ago in the mid 90s when it was first built. Excellent resort back then. Just stayed again week of 13th July. It is now showing its age. Overall a comfortable place, furniture and kitchen and bath were all high quality for the most part, but several items were lacking for a good stay for me. First was the noise from other units. The walls are thin, and you can especially hear through the lockout door to the next unit. Second was wifi, which was spotty, not always working. Third was noise from the stairs and the hallway, which we could hear clearly in the unit as people were there walking up the stairs and talking noisily. One nice feature was the tankless hot water system, which took time to heat up but never ran out of hot water. Resort is in a great location for getting quickly to lots of local attractions. I would stay here again, but I would set my expectations lower as this is not a top level resort.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank arrrrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello arrrrj!
I would like to thank you for taking the time to respond on our about our resort. We are sorry to hear that your internet needs were not met. As you know we have many properties which house a large amount of guests and their wireless devices. We are working to improve this feature; however this may take some time. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. Please understand that our upcoming renovation should address most of your concerns.
In closing I would like to offer our sincere apologies.
Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was super excited to stay at this resort when I booked it through RCI. The pictures looked great! The outside was so quaint and perfect for what we were wanting.

Check in was good. Took a bit to get our "parking pass" but we checked in during the rush. The girl at the desk was great! She showed me where everything was on your map( which could be more clear! Not being to scale is an understatement!)

We did your " presentation" which left us way more confused then when we got in there. We had 4 different people giving us 4 different explanations on how we could do this and that with our points! The " lunch" that they provided was baked chicken, potato salad and chips! Not much of a lunch but it was free.

Now let's get to the room. We booked a 2 bedroom. There were actually two suits which was great because we could send the kids to the other side when they got irritating. The rooms look like they haven't been updated in 20 years! The doors have about 30 coats of paint it seems. The light switches were the 99 cent ones that you could find at the hardwear store. The door frames were dirty! The hinges were all rusted out and the door knobs looked like they were there since the building was built! The sliding door tracks need cleaned desperately! The main door to the balcony only had a deadbolt. The knob had no purpose! The couch had burn holes in it and creaked when you sat on it! The carpets were all stained and also had burn marks. The cabinets were about 20 years old and looked as though they had not been wiped down in a while! There was stuff under them. The appliances had dents and it looked like they haven't moved and cleaned around them. The master really should have a king size bed! That full bed was for the birds! When the ac started the whole place vibrated! The ac vents are covered by the curtains! We had to use our luggage to keep the curtains pulled away from them to cool the bedrooms! The bedrooms had boobtubes! They don't even sell those any more! Our door handle was broken. If we didn't fiddle with it, it would just hang there and not open the door!

There were really no ammenities! A pool, and volleyball net. That's it!

Overall, very disappointed! If I were an owner and knew what that place looked like, I would be livid! I will not be staying at any Wyndahm ever again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Amhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hello AMHIGH,
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in. We know that while on vacation it is imperative that our guests are treated well. Because we have condo-style resorts, certain hotel amenities do not exist. We strive to provide this information to the guest through our website, pre-arrival letter and confirmation letter. I apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate this through additional channels in the future. We are sorry for your experience and greatly value your feedback.
Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-22-5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We just returned from a week in Williamsburg. We checked in on Sunday afternoon, staff was courteous and accommodated our request for a 2nd floor unit. We had to go to the sales desk to get our "parking pass" (code for time-share sales) but there was absolutely no pressure to take tours or buy anything. We were given the parking pass and many useful area coupons. The property is lush and well-maintained. We did notice the construction in the very back of the property, but only from afar as we drove to our unit. It was not a factor AT ALL. We were in building 27 with a double lock-off unit. The rooms were CLEAN. Very very very clean. No stray gross hairs, no mold, no dirt anywhere. I wiped the entire place down with Clorox wipes before I let my family touch anything (door knobs, remotes, handles, toilets, counters, light switches.. everything). For the first time at any hotel I've stayed at, I thought doing my usual pre-cleaning was unnecessary. It was really that clean. The kitchen was super well-equipped. Toaster, blender, coffee maker (cone filters supplied), dishwasher (with soap), sponge and dish soap. Every kind of kitchen utensil one might need along with kitchenware (bowls, colander, pans, pots, cutting boards, knife block), coffee mugs, wine glasses, a water pitcher with lemonade mix. I didn't need to bring half the stuff I brought from home. I put all the silverware and glassware we would use immediately in the dishwasher and ran it several times during our stay.
The bathrooms were also well-equipped, lighted makeup mirror, several towels, soaps and detergent for the washer/dryer combo. The large tub in the adjacent bath area is not a jet tub, but a large soaking tub. It was awesome when used as a large, roomy shower. Our wifi worked perfectly the entire time, on all our devices at once. We never heard a sound from neighbors except other people out on the balcony when WE were out on the balcony - OUTSIDE. The beds were clean and comfortable. The pool closes at 10pm, kind of early if you're at Busch Gardens till it closes - no late night pool time. The location is excellent. Nothing in Williamsburg is walking-distance, don't expect that. But within minutes - left or right of the hotel - is everything and anything you could want. We would absolutely stay at Patriots Place again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Second floor units are very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank lk23ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hello lk23ny!

Thanks so much for your kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

In The Spirit of Hospitality!

Janet Crooms 757-220-5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
1.3 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#59 of 73 in Williamsburg
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Kingsgate
Wyndham Kingsgate
#22 of 73 in Williamsburg
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Patriots Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Patriots Place

Address: 220 House of Burgess Way, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5836 (Formerly Fairfield Williamsburg at Patriots' Place)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £67 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Patriots Place 3*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Patriots Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Patriots Place Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Williamsburg
Wyndham Hotel Patriots Place
Wyndham Williamsburg
Williamsburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing