We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Patriots Place
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Kingsgate(Williamsburg)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (478)
Filter reviews
478 results
Traveller rating
138
170
89
48
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
170
89
48
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomtankless waterkings gatewasher dryercolonial williamsburgsmaller unitoutdoor poolfull kitchenhot waterone bedroom unitsales pitchbusch gardensstand up showersmall balconyconvenient place to stayworking fireplacea queen size bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 478 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We have stayed here several times. What I love is it's tuck back off the road. It's always quiet and although the amenities are limited, we prefer to stay here when it is only adults. They have a outdoor pool that's about it. If we travel with children we do tend to pick a different place to stay with amenities to keep the children occupied. I like the location only minutes away from most attractions in the area. I was especially excited to see the old hotel has been torn down. I wasn't looking forward to seeing the travelers that it would have attracted. Bottom line if you want a quiet peaceful stay close to the attractions this is the place.

Room Tip: This is a time share with studio, 1 and 2 bedroom lock off. All rooms have kitchen facilities. Request upper floor if you don't want to hear foot steps over your head because they are noticeable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank judylivestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi Judylivestotravel ,

Thank you, for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. You are correct when you say our resort is perfect for adults! Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

In The Spirit of Hospitality!

Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Tips:
1. Chose the DELUXE (side a) unit for max comfort.
2. You DO NOT get privileges at neighboring Wyndham resorts as my ad indicated we would.
3. You will be persuaded into buying a timeshare. Read the reviews before being lured in...people feel ripped off and trapped for life after making these impulsive purchases.

Hotel pros:
1. Nice area, close to EVERYTHING!
2. Loved the deluxe apartment ..felt like home away from home.
3. Apartment was IMMACULATE!
4. Full kitchen saved us tons of money!

Hotel cons:
1. Living room furniture old and too uncomfortable to use.
2. Pull out couch gave kids a backache.
3. Full size master bed (just wrong) gave husband and I terrible backaches.
4. Walls are paper thin ...luckily we only had neighbors for 1 day or it would've been unbearable

Other info:
Don't try to buy annual passes to the theme parks if you're a Florida resident. They don't advertise on the website until you go to pay. Our whole trip was planned around the theme parks and we couldn't even go!!!! But on the brighter side the kids LOVED Colonial Williamsburg, jamestown and Yorktown ...so instead of theme park fun they got the best history lesson instead and were still happy! (PS- buy the combo tickets... Don't just do the free stuff...you'll be disappointed)

Room Tip: Pick a side a deluxe room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ellebee2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Hello Ellebee2009,

Thank you for your honest feedback. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort.

In The Spirit of Hospitality!

Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The resort was nice and friendly staff but there was nothing to do there but eat sleep and swim. And with 3 young kids it was tough...we planned on going to Busch Gardens Water country and colonial Williamsburg. The location to all attractions was great not a long drive at all.. If you have young kids don't even bother going to Colonial Williamsburg our kids were miserable they hated it. We took a ride to Buckroe beach in Hampton about 40 minute drive the beach was nice and not crowded at all. It was free and so was parking. Unfortunately we will most likely never go back to Williamsburg it was an 7 1/2 hr drive and there was really nothing to do. If you like history that may be a different story

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Athealy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hello Athaely22!

We are disappointed to hear our services and amenities did not meet your expectations. I know what it is like when you have children. We know that when you are staying with us, one of the perks is to be able to enjoy everything that we have to offer. We have outdoor amenities which include our outdoor pool, sand volley ball, horseshoes, and a variety of games that you can take to your room, all for free. We value your suggestions and feedback, as it gives us guidance on what to provide our guests during their vacation.

In The Spirit of Hospitality!

Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I along with our kids spent seven nights at the Wyndham Patriots Place in Williamsburg VA. We booked a two bedroom unit in building 40 which can accommodate up to eight people in the unit. The unit is actually a pair of one bedroom units that can be locked off into “A” and “B” units with both sides having separate outside access and an inner connecting door that can be locked to make separate units. The resort is laid out with multiple buildings that appear to be separate townhouses. Each building contains two floors with an “AB” unit on each floor. The grounds contain only one pool area for the entire resort near the front desk building plus a kid’s playground and basketball areas near the pool. The grounds are clean, nicely landscaped and well laid out with multiple charcoal BBQ areas mixed in amongst the buildings. The sign for the Patriot Place is shared with a Knights Inn sign on the main road so it can be easy to miss and at night is not really lit well so you can drive pass the driveway if you are not cautious.
The “A” side contains the full kitchen along with a fireplace and a full washer/dryer that is smaller which could be classed as an apartment size washer. The master suite had a shower stall and flush in the bathroom while a second half bath off the main living room had a soaker tub and shower but no toilet to accompany a second sink for washing up in this room. The main living area is cut off from the dining room and kitchen which can make the room feel cut up but allows you to keep the living and dining space separate. The sleeping on this side consisted of a Queen bed and pull out couch in the living room. Finally the “A” unit has a balcony that can be accessed from the living room and bedroom. Both the bedroom and living room are equipped with large flat screen TV’s. The balcony is fairly small with a couple of chairs and depending on the location of the building may not offer much of a view.
The “B” side had a partial kitchen with an apartment size fridge, dishwasher and small stovetop and oven but this part does not have a washer/dryer in this section nor does it not have a balcony on this side. This unit also provides a full bathroom with access from the living room and bedroom. The part of the unit also has a queen bed and pull out couch again with flat screen TV’s in the bedroom and living space. This part with the partial kitchen has a small table and chairs set up between the kitchenette and couch.
During our stay we did not have any WIFI access due to an issue the resort was experiencing throughout the entire property. During check-in the front desk staff advised if we had any wifi issues to call the number provided by the resort and follow the prompts listed to call the service provider. We followed these instructions which took us to AT&T directly. After spending 20 mins on the phone with AT&T they said the resort staff really should have been on the phone since they were asking questions we did not have the answer; we also explained to the AT&T rep that we were only staying there as a guest of the resort and we instructed by the resort to call them if we had any issues. The resort did send over a staff member to see if resetting the router in our room would help but it did not as the only thing they could do was unplug the router mounted behind the master bed in a protective housing. During this visit the staff member mentioned the resort was having wifi issues for a couple of weeks and AT&T service had been out but the resort was still waiting for them to return. In the end we were out of wifi for a couple of days but once AT&T service finally returned to the resort was the problem resolved for the entire property. While the rep was trying to reset the router I mentioned a couple of other minor issues with the room needing repair and these items we fixed right away. The maintenance rep, whom I failed to notice his name, even stopped by our unit later in the week to ensure our wifi was working and to see if we needed any other assistance which we felt was top notch service by this man.
The only real drawback we found was the check in process was slow and painful. Trying to find parking in front of the check-in building was difficult as many were arriving and there were very few spaces to park. Once inside there were a couple of people working the desk and it seemed to take them longer here to completed the check in. One thing the lady working check in was they seemed to really bring attention to our check out date in fact even mentioned it several times and had us initial the checkout date on the form. I’m not sure if this resort has an issue of people not leaving on the days they are supposed to go home. As this is a timeshare resort after you check in and are given your unit keys you still have to go to another desk to get your parking pass. For timeshare resorts this is where they try to schedule you to go to a sales pitch. My wife and I own at a timeshare and have exchanged into various resorts in multiple cities so we are familiar with the program and simply prefer to get our parking tag and go; if we want to explore purchasing at a resort we will reach out to them but please do not waste our time during check in when we are trying to simply get to our unit. They did not hound us the rest of the week to go to an “information meeting” but it was more of a hard sell before they hand over the parking tag. When my wife finally cut the woman off after a long time being set up for the meeting we said no and that we are not interested the staff member wanted to know why; my wife was quick to point out we had been driving 17+ hours and really wanted to get to our room as we are tired.
Overall the resort is nice and the units are clean and well appointed. Another upside is the resort is a couple of mins from Colonial Williamsburg visitor center as well provides easy to access the 60 and 64 highways to tour the area. There are a couple of restaurants and K-mart are within a couple of stop lights or 3-5 mins from the resort. A large majority of dining and shopping places can be found on Richmond Road which is just minutes from the resort. This place offers a nice balance of quiet relaxation in your unit besides simple access to all that Williamsburg has to offer in the region. We would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: "A" units offer more amenities over a "B" in unit.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Pweb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Hello Pweb44!

Thank you for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

In The Spirit of Hospitality!

Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for the weekend so that we could go to Busch Gardens. We are Wyndham owners and this is our second choice for Williamsburg Wyndham resorts. Although we prefer Governor's Green, we like Patriot's Place better than Kingsgate because the units are not so densely packed. We go to Williamsburg to do all the things that Williamsburg has to offer, so not having a lot of amenities is not a concern to us.
Pros: Unit was clean, kitchen well stocked, and beds are comfortable
The check in was friendly and efficient.
This is a convenient location for Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens and restaurants.
We had no problems with the free wifi.
Even though we get annoyed by the sales pitch when picking up the parking pass, staying at a timeshare is so much better than being in a hotel. We like having living room, eating table, full kitchen, washer & dryer available when we are vacationing.
Cons: This is the oldest Wyndham Resort in the area and the size of units are of those built in the 1980's. Most units have been renovated, but they do look older than many timeshares that you will stay in. (they are still clean!)
The TV's in the living rooms were a size that you would expect in a bedroom.
Couches are uncomfortable.
And the biggest complaint-No matter if you only staying 2 nights, you have to go through a sales pitch to "see what is happening with the resorts". We will not do this but some people will not take no for an answer. We finally convinced her our weekend was full and that we were not going to show up for this update. I wish we didn't have to go through this every time.

Room Tip: A 1 bedroom deluxe is definitely bigger than the 1 bedroom with efficiency kitchen.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Manager at Wyndham Patriots Place, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Well hello Golfgal22153!

Thank you for giving us honest feedback. We hope that you will come back to see us once our renovations are complete.

Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

In The Spirit of Hospitality!
Janet Crooms
Assistant Resort Manager
757-220-5300

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews