We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NASTY-OUTDATED” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Magruder Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Magruder Hotel
Ranked #60 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Mid Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NASTY-OUTDATED”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Fort MAGRUDER is nasty. It is so outdated (Furniture, TV, Carpet). The Sliding Door on to the Balcony looks like it has never been cleaned. I am afraid to touch it. The chair at the computer table is so dirty, it is not fit be anywhere besides the garbage. Dust is every where, I expect some but not like this.

Spend some money and update this place or atleast throw away items when they are so dirty they cannot be cleaned.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookiemonster202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We appreciate your comments concerning your recent stay and certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to come back to Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    103
    86
    64
    77
See reviews for
171
92
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

After my husband booked the hotel through priceline for our anniversary I went online and read the reviews. Seeing all the negative reviews I was very nervous about staying here. When we arrived the girl at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice. The bed was comfortable. The room was large and had plenty of room to move around. It was clean when we arrived and was cleaned well each day. The mini fridge was a nice bonus we weren't expecting. Only complaints would be the older tv that we didn't watch anyways & the toilet room was a little tight. We would stay here again if we ever come back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMH7513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your visit to Williamsburg and giving us rave reviews! Please come back to see us when you are able to experience our great area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores al
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I can not include all front desk staff but all but one fit the title. Staff was untrained and did not know how to deal with people. I heard a man discussing with a front desk clerk his unhappy stay !!
Servers in the kitchen breakfast area were very friendly. They were the ones who exchanged our breakfast tickets for the right ones, we were on the B&B plan. Food was cold with the exception of Sun morn when it was better. Also. Temp in that area was cold,
We were with a group and the two dinners were good.
The two pools were maintained well.
My family will not be staying there again. Too many other places were one is treated in a better manner. By the way where were the rooms that had been redone in 2014?


Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buffpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We strive to make every guest have the best experience while staying at the Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to experience our wonderful staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Went to Fort McGruder Hotel in May for a night (Busch Gardens) and was astounded at the layout, cleanliness and beauty of this place. indoor and outdoor pools and spas,AMAZING lobby, very courteous staff, awesome rooms!!

One of THE nicest hotels in Williamsburg...check it out

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on our hotel, amenities and staff! We work hard to make sure all our guests receive the best accommodations and service we can provide. We look forward to your next visit and to telling your friends about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

This place has a 3 star rating... Maybe back in 1970! It's dated, musty and so far I am unimpressed with the staff. The TV is circa mid 1980's, the wallpaper is peeling in the hallways and did I mention the musty smell?!?? The room is good sized but the bed is uncomfortable, the bathroom is teeny tiny, and the mirrored closet door has a huge crack in it. At check in last night, I asked for recommendations on things to do if it rains and was told, "we have an indoor pool"... I didn't drive 4 hours to Williamsburg to swim in your pool. This is Williamsburg, I would expect the front desk staff to be able to list off a few things to do, even on a rainy day. This morning we woke to find that the coffee for our in room coffee maker was DECAFF and when we went downstairs to get a cup of caffeinated coffee, they tried to charge us $1. We are paying $129 a night and I guarantee I could find a better deal, room and service at a 1-2 star hotel. Save yourself, it's too late for us!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank anwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
We appreciate your comments on your stay with us here at the Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center. We strive to make our guests enjoy a comfortable nights stay and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experience while in Williamsburg. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to come enjoy all the amenities and hospitality our hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I attended a conference in Blackstone, VA and I couldn't miss the opportunity to drive on to Williamsburg for a mini vacation. The hotel was recently renovated and I was pleasantly surprised at the beautiful decor. The room and bathroom were very clean with plush towels and a very comfortable bed. A hot buffet breakfast was served in the beautiful dining room. I will definitely stay at Fort Magruder Hotel during my next visit to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_Young813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for your comments on your stay with us here at the Fort Magruder Hotel and come back again and stay with us longer to enjoy all our amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The room was wheelchair accessible but the elevators were a little small. Staff was very helpful and very friendly. A little out of the way for the main attractions in Williamsburg but still within a reasonable distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise C, Director of Sales at Fort Magruder Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your comment on your recent stay with us and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms. With historic Colonial Williamsburg and Busch Gardens minutes away from us, we have a great location as well! Please return when you can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Historic East - Busch Gardens Area
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Hotel Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#45 of 75 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Magruder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Magruder Hotel

Property: Fort Magruder Hotel
Address: 6945 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4759 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Williamsburg)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fort Magruder Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Magruder Hotel and Conference Center is beautifully set in a wooded area and landscaped around the site of an original redoubt from the Battle of Williamsburg of 1862. The Hotel is conveniently located only minutes away from Historic downtown Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William and Mary, 2 miles away from beautiful Busch Gardens and 3 miles away from Water Country USA. The four-story hotel comprises of 303 guest rooms and Suites and 26,000 square feet of meeting/exhibit space. The hotel offer an array of features and amenities including a heated indoor pool with hot tub, Fitness Center, Complimentary Business Center, Complimentary High-Speed Wireless Internet Service and Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fort Magruder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing