We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal! Nice Staff! No Problems!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Deal! Nice Staff! No Problems!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here 3 night in July and had a wonderful time. I was skeptical due to the reviews but figured you cant beat the price right? Well it all went fine. It is a motel as described. Room was clean but to me smelled musty. We sprayed some febreeze around and chalked it up to high humidity and went on with the vacation. The whole time we were there the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and the area was clean. We walked to Colonial Williamsburg without any problems. We use the pool one evening and it was clean and the water felt great. We got discounts on our tickets to Colonial Williamsburg one free night event the Swords Play you just show your Hotel Card to get in and Discounts on a ghost walk. All in all it was a great time at a great price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    217
    137
    38
    41
See reviews for
276
116
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

On the outside I said "Oh My" aloud, but because it is part of the Colonial Williamsburg property, you get all the great perks as a higher class hotel. Our room was not the cleanest, the tub was NOT even cleaned nor was the room vacuumed, however you can't beat 3 blocks away from everything!! My only complaint about breakfast is that all four toasters (2 downstairs and 2 upstairs) are broken, I think they were new when I was born (forever ago!). If they updated their toasters then the lines would go much much faster in the morning, but because they no longer toast you have to keep pushing it down.

The only thing that made me upset was that a requested a woods view far from the pool, and we were right smack dad next to the pool, no woods.

Other then the cleanliness, the toasters, and the lack of reservation requests, I would stay here again :)

Room Tip: Further in the back due to the train. And away from the pool (it gets noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TBerg854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hotel was fine for the price. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast offered plenty of choices and the person who was maintaining the breakfast area kept refilling items and worked to keep the area clean. The pool looked inviting although we didn't have the opportunity to use it. The room was fine - although I question how well the floor was cleaned as we found a cell-phone case from a previous guest laying beside the bed. The only other issue was that there was no elevator. Maybe I should have asked - but I assumed that all hotels have elevators as my husband has a hard time with steps and our room was on the second floor. (Makes it a challenge to drag luggage to your room!) However, the location is great - very close to Colonial Williamsburg. For a quick stay - this hotel worked well for my family and me.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you can't walk (or drag luggage) up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_loves2travel4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This place doesn't look like much, but because it's a Colonial Williamsburg property, you get first-class service and all the perks of the pricier places. Plus, it's clean, the pool is great and the price can't be beat. It became our "go to" place when we would come for an impromptu stay. When we had a problem with the alarm clock going off in the wee hours in the empty room next to ours, they were right on it. That night when we returned to the room there was a gift bag of CW's house label soda and peanuts along with a note apologizing for our inconvenience! Plus you're walking distance to the Revolutionary City, Merchants' Square, William and Mary, and a short drive to restaurants, movies, and more. We've suggested it to several friends and they've also enjoyed their stays.

Room Tip: Ask for one toward the back. There are railroad tracks nearby and rooms in the front are probably no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed from 7/4 to 7/6/14 at this motel, It has been 2 years since we have stayed here. it's a nice location but The hotel really needs a renovation. The carpet, curtains,and definitely the bathroom. the light fixtures have switches that don't work. I supervise a cleaning staff for a living,and if one of my staff cleaned the room as it was left for us, I would have made them clean it again because it was not cleaned properly. On our next visit we will be staying elsewhere,probably the Williamsburg woodlands.Also, when we called and said we had all the makings for coffee, but no coffeepot, they said they would bring one, but never did!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlands76, General Manager at Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for the housekeeping problems you encountered during your stay. I have followed up on your concerns with our Executive Housekeeper and staff to ensure our guest service standards are consistently enforced and adhered to.

Your valuable feedback allows us to correct the issues that you experienced and we look forward to serving you much better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The first time I went to Colonial Williamsburg, 3 years ago, my fiance and I stayed here. I was a bit unsure because when we pulled into the parking lot it reminded me of a Motel 6 or something to that affect. As soon as we walked into the common area where the front desk is we were greeted by one of the nicest front desk attendants we have ever met. Her name is Anne. She made our stay very comfortable and you couldn't ask for a better location! I would say it is about a 10 minute walk to Merchants Square. Once you reach Merchants Square you are steps away from the entrance to Colonial Williamsburg itself. Last year we returned to Williamsburg with my cousin and her husband and we stayed here again. You can not beat the value and for someone like me who only needs somewhere to sleep it is the best thing around! No only that but you get discounted tickets for the length of your stay to Colonial Williamsburg and the Revolutionary City! We loved it so much we are going back this October!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grapess80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night to get a quick look around Williamsburg on our way to Virginia Beach. We knew it would be evening by the time we arrived and only planned in sleeping in the room. When pulling In it kinda reminded me of low rent apartments or a dorm. The lady at the desk was nice and changed our room assignment once she saw I had asked to be away from train tracks and we needed a fridge for my husband's meds. Once in the room we had a problem with the a/c unit, it would make a horrible noise when turning off and on. They said it would be checked while we went to eat. By the time we got back it was after midnight and young people in their 20 ' s seemed to be running around making noise. Our a/c was not fixed either. We had to live with being woke every time it went off or on. The pillows were hard and the room was not well cleaned. It wasn't filthy but just not great, hair in tub...etc. We did NOT hear the train so that was a plus.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelingmomofone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlands76, General Manager at Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
I am very disappointed that we did not quite meet your expectations during your recent stay at the Governor’s Inn. Please know that we take your concerns very seriously and have followed up on the noisy AC unit and housekeeping issues you had.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback which helps us to improve our guests’ Colonial Williamsburg experience. We look forward to serving you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
4.5 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 506 N Henry St, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Governor's Inn is a low-rise motor inn located in the heart of Williamsburg, just 3 blocks from the restored area, Merchant's Square shopping district, the College of William & Mary, and a short ride from Revolutionary City. It offers comfortable, economy accommodations and features an outdoor family-style pool, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, a business center, and discounted admission tickets to programs and events in the historic area. Guests at the Governor's Inn have access to unlimited use of our shuttle buses which run at regularly scheduled intervals from the Visitors Center (near the Woodlands Hotel & Suites) and operate throughout the historic area. Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Inn - Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Governors Hotel Williamsburg
Governor Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing