We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Middle Village, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, good value”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

My family stayed at the Governors Inn for 5 days. The absolutely most important part of travel for my family is to stay in a clean, bug free hotel. The rooms are VERY clean, the beds comfortable and there were plenty of clean, large towels for a family of 4 with teenagers. It was a great stay for a very reasonable price. On the down side, we had some issues with the AC which they could have handled better. We checked out early because of bad weather and the charged me for an additional night rather than credit me, and that took a few days to sort out. Overall though I would definitely come back to Governors Inn next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queensnyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    228
    140
    39
    41
See reviews for
284
123
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I spent one night of a 2-night Williamsburg stay at the Governor's Inn, and wish I'd spent both nights here because of the location. Once I checked in, I didn't need to drive anywhere until I checked out and left town! Colonial Williamsburg, the William & Mary campus, and numerous places to eat and shop are all within a short walking distance.

The rooms are dated and quite dark; none of the lamps were as bright as I'd have liked. That said, the bed was extremely comfortable, the room was clean, and I enjoyed my stay.

The breakfast was carb-heavy, but I appreciated that it was included in the cost of the room. I also appreciated the business center upstairs in the main building, and the wi-fi in my room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JLSDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

As well as my second review. The Governor's Inn is one of the BEST VALUES I have found in a long time in a hotel. We live in West Central Florida and we make an annual road-trip with our four grandchildren and we pack in a lot of miles and hotel nights on our trips so we have some great experience and comparisons to base our reviews on.

This year we toured Washington DC and Annapolis, MD prior to arriving in Colonial Williamsburg and all of our nights on the road are in hotels. As with last year, our check-in experience was a very pleasant one. There are six of us total so we had two adjoining rooms and they were near the pool. Again, it is a very, very good basic hotel, the rooms were very clean and very comfortable. The bathrooms functioned as they were suppose to, no problems with drains or cleanliness, although I thought that the hot water didn't work in one of the shower/baths it actually worked just fine, I wasn't turning the nob far enough. We never heard our neighbors, through the walls and only occasionally on the sidewalk and never any noise from the pool so it was a very quiet stay. The breakfast is up to par with most of the "Breakfast is Included" buffets. It was a very easy walk into the Colonial part or Revolution City. On our last day after we checked out of the hotel and we drove to the Visitors Center to park and caught the Shuttle Bus and it really was only marginally more convenient.

The first time I reviewed the Governor's Inn I was really basing it on our stay at the hotel only, we had a very short amount of time to be in Williamsburg and we only did a little walking around one afternoon and had lunch in one of the taverns but this time we spent 3 days there and pretty much took full advantage of all that Colonial Williamsburg has to offer and with the discounts that you receive when you stay in a Colonial Williamsburg property which this is, I really just can't say enough about what a great value I think this hotel is.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tampaandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have stayed in many hotels in the area..this is a clean and well maintained property..better than many of the other budget chain hotels in Wburg..its not fancy but the rooms are clean and the free bfast is pretty good and kept well stocked. Because it is a budget hotel it can be noisy with all the kids running around,but that is the case w many hotels in Wburg.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a delight. Everything was within walking distance. The mini fridge in the room was a pleasant surprise and well used. The room was clean, comfortable, and maintained. We never heard a sound from our neighbors and felt as if we were in absolute peace of a rural setting. The staff was so hospitable, helpful, and courteous. We definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask to stay near pool if you have children (6400 building). The rooms in the 6500 building were qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English92570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leola, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is so close to Williamsburg Historic area that you can walk there. The rooms were clean and the comp. breakfast was good. The service staff were nice and the grounds well kept. The price for the hotel was worth it. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is very convenient, a great price and reasonably clean. However, the negatives outweighed these positive aspects. The walls are absolutely paper thin and you can hear everything! On one side of us, the guests kept their television or radio on until 4 am and it was as if it was in our room. Then when people started waking up at 6 am and talking in their rooms, it was as if they were standing next to our beds. Also, even though the room was non smoking, people stood in the grass right in front of our door and it filled our room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CB6547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Williamsburg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.7 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
4.4 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 506 N Henry St, PO Box 1776, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An official Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Governor's Inn is a low-rise motor inn located in the heart of Williamsburg, just 3 blocks from the restored area, Merchant's Square shopping district, the College of William & Mary, and a short ride from Revolutionary City. It offers comfortable, economy accommodations and features an outdoor family-style pool, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi, a business center, and discounted admission tickets to programs and events in the historic area. Guests at the Governor's Inn have access to unlimited use of our shuttle buses which run at regularly scheduled intervals from the Visitors Center (near the Woodlands Hotel & Suites) and operate throughout the historic area. Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governor`s Inn - Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Governors Hotel Williamsburg
Governor Inn Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing