We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Westgate Historic Williamsburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Westgate Historic Williamsburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our stay was wonderful. The room was very comfortable and we loved the two person Jacuzzi tub. The staff were very polite and gave us great service. We would recommend staying here to our family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkkmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for informing us about your wonderful stay! We value and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for recommending us to family and friends. We hope to see you back here soon.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    123
    59
    40
    63
See reviews for
179
160
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

had a great time everything was wonderful and clean staff was very friendly we shall be back next year!!!! We had no complaints about anything. We loved our room and all the amenities. Especially the jacuzzi!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spookymommi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. It’s such wonderful news when our guests and owners have an outstanding vacation with us. We are glad to know that you were able to experience the great amenities we have to offer such as our jacuzzi. We would like to have you back to vacation with us!

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarksburg, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I would like to thank all the people and staff at this westgate for there time and service. The trip was like being home with the good old boys and girls. Thank You to Chey, Brenda, Judy, Rell Margie and of course Tony and Kris for the great time and putting up with us all week.

Rick Blizard

Room Tip: No room noise and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for letting us know about your recent visit. It’s always a pleasure to be able to accommodate our guests and owners. We are very thrilled to know you experienced phenomenal customer service from all our staff. We hope to see you back at the resort soon!

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The rooms are smaller than most timeshares I've stayed at master BR was large ! Tv reception and choice of channels not great ... Due to snow we cut our trip short ! Otherwise would use this place again !!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed so many things about Westgate Historic Williamsburg! We appreciate your review, thanks for sharing your story. Come see what new activities we roll out, we look forward to seeing you!

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
169 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We decided to trade our Marriott timeshare for the Westgate because it had a one-bedroom condo available and, at the last minute, the Marriott only had an efficiency. That would have probably been larger.

The good things: the staff is very friendly and, probably because it is the winter, seemed to have more staff then guests. There is always fresh coffee, tea, soft drinks, juices and some type of staff like cookies or muffins out. A weekly paper is available. You do have to pay $10 per day for Internet access. We used the gym and it was more than adequate. Walkway areas were clean enough. Just know it is not a new facility.

The unit was, on first glance, clean but we later found a dirty cotton swab on the floor.

Everything is tiny, tiny, tiny. The sink/lavatory has, literally, no more than three or four inches along the sides to put toiletries. There is no room anywhere else to put your personal items. There was a box of tissues there which took up at least 1/4th of the total area and I moved it to the top of the toilet. Even though we had the unit for a week, we were thankfully only staying two days. A week would have been torture but two days was fine.

We did like that there is an adequate door/s between the "living room" and bedroom. My husband gets up a little earlier than I do so he could get up and read the paper without disturbing me.

We did not avail ourselves of the extras we believe they have such as a free breakfast and some late afternoon activities with refreshments.

But this is the smallest one-bedroom timeshare we have used. The space is, however, well used. They have a higher than normal coffee table which can be used to eat on. They do have a small counter with some bar stools. The small sofa can be used as a bed but I just cannot imagine more than two people staying in these units. Amazingly, there was everything we needed, even scissors! But not much. There is a washer and dryer and all kitchen appliances you need. The refrigerator is full sized.

If there were more people staying, it would probably be unbearable, noise considered. One night, we could hear (loudly) the people in the next-door unit. Luckily they seemed to settle down about 10:30 and they were not there (that we saw or heard) our last night. There does not seem to be a lot of insulation. Also, if you like fresh air, the windows cannot open and, although it was cold outside, with no heat on in the unit, we were forced to use the A/C!

Overall, we were satisfied. It is very close to all the historical area, in walking distance with lots of restaurants and shopping close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyageurmonde19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. All of our guests’ comments are appreciated, as we are always researching areas to improve upon in order to provide out guests with the quality vacation experience. Our goal is to exceed your expectations and we hope that you will visit us again soon.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zebulon, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Westgate Resort Historic Williamsburg is not your typical resort. The staff greeted you upon arrival and showed great concern from the beginning all the way until departure. I was taken back from the great hospitality and the exceptional service from everyone in every capacity or role they held. I stayed at this resort oppose to my usual hotel plans and boy was I glad I did. The one- bedroom choice went beyond my expectations and over exceeded my grandchild who was traveling with me (she loved the midnight ‘swim’, what she called the whirlpool tub).
There was so much to do around town and some things planned in the hotel. But most of all I was allowed to rest and get the time to spend with my family as originally planned. The accommodations and locations were so relaxing and had the same ambiance of home that I am certain this will be my option for all my lodging needs when I return back to the area.
I want to thank Kristine Allard (the Manager), for the initial contact of the excellent service I received and continued to experience by the staff here. All the staff, alluded great customer service and assurance that everyone felt like they were ‘home away from home’ Thank you again staff; Kristine Tajuan, Juanita, Nick, Jerrell, Margie, Brenda and Judy.
This is a five start resort/hotel.

Room Tip: From the studio to the three bedrooms options you cannot go wrong. For me, I will at least get the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great practices to show green consciousness which ensured not to be wasteful. This hotel had this area well covered.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iadvocate4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. This always helps us to improve the customer service experience. We are thrilled to hear that our staff was able to assist you during your stay. We always look forward to providing our owners and guests with a memorable vacation. We hope you will visit us soon.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

a 2 day weekend was horrible, not hot water ,no one to handle the matter it took us 2 hours to get the matter resolve . Upon check-out they double charge my card.. Plus no management on Sunday to resolve the issues. The Mod hit us with a low blow by trying to give us a Sal's Pizza coupon because of our issues with no hot water and our two hour delay room move

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bubblegumeyes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issues you experienced and for any inconvenience they may have caused. Your review will be shared with management. We appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention as we work diligently to resolve them. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
Homewood Suites Williamsburg
#24 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#4 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#12 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort

Property: Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
Address: 1324 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-2837 (Formerly Heritage Inn)
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#21 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ideal Choice for Your Williamsburg Vacation Getaway Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of area attractions such as Colonial Williamsburg, Busch Gardens Williamsburg and Water Country USA. Accommodations at our Williamsburg, VA hotel range from cozy studios to spacious one- and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, queen sleeper sofas, separate living and dining areas, satellite TVs with DVD players and full baths with jetted tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Westgate Historic Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Westgate Historic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing