We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Lovely resort in a peaceful setting. Spa services were great. View from room facing river was fabulous. Room was spotless, beautifully decorated, and the bed was among the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Food at the Mill and Bray's was delicious and very high quality. Staff was friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for a river front room. You will not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladdict98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    851
    410
    138
    64
    43
See reviews for
758
348
14
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

First Class ,all employees welcome you with a kind hello when you pass,Stayed in a one bedroom suite ,with kitchen ,fireplace,view of the James River,it was very clean and modern. Breakfast buffet was better than good ,featuring Cherrywood Bacon,Stuffed Omlet station,and fresh fruit. Seafood Buffet on Friday nights is good ,not great,plated Beef Tenderloin was very good. Played the River Course,which was home to a one time PGA Event and a present LPGA Event,nice open course and challenging.Would return for sure,lots to do with the golf,tennis ,bike riding along with Busch Gardens outside the Route 60 gate and Colonial Williamsburg,Jamestown,Yorktown a must see.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheloraruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent more to stay at this hotel than the others in the area. It's ok if you like golf and driving around everywhere, for example from your rental unit to the spa or to the hotel restaurant. Definitely for a specific set of people. Also, lots of zombie-looking people sporting conference badges and signs for real estate and timeshare sales. So not my idea of a resort. Also, quite run down at the heels, repairs haven't been done, very spotty cell phone service, and they've block their views of the river by constructing rental units painted battleship grey in front of the river. Lovely.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank carmolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Kingsmill Resort.

I was disappointed to read that you didn't see the value during your stay at Kingsmill. Please accept my apologies that we failed to meet your expectations during your recent visit. My staff and I work hard to bring what we hope will be an enjoyable and rewarding experience to every guest. I will keep your comments in mind as we look for ways to improve the quality of the products and services we offer here at the resort.

Hopefully your experience doesn't prevent you from returning to Kingsmill and enjoying what so many of our past guests have. I am confident that if you return, you will see much improvement as we are constantly making upgrades and other changes. Should you visit us again, please ask for me and I will ensure your complete and total satisfaction.

Robin Carson
General Manager
Kingsmill Resort & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredericksburg, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Wonderful resort, staff friendly, spa wonderful!! Would highly recommend a visit to this Resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank budsladyintheburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

If you're visiting the Williamsburg area, this is a lovely and convenient place to stay. It also had a little something for everyone. My younger son and I played golf on the fabulous river course. My older son road his bike and hiked the resort's wooded trails; and my wife enjoyed the spa. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The resort is also reasonably close to the Williamsburg historic district as well as Jamestown and the other historical attractions in the area, as well as Busch Gardens. The grounds are lovely, located right on the James River. The only feature I can't really recommend is the restaurants. For both breakfast and dinner, we found them to be average quality and overpriced; however, there are many choices for food in the area, and you can also cook in your suite.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels are quieter, and the river view rooms have the prettiest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophist1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Kingsmill is a great resort with plenty of activities. The rooms are spacious and very clean and the service received from (almost) everyone was top class.

Room Tip: For an extra treat get a room facing the James River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimindc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Kingsmill is by far the worst experience I've ever had at a resort. I reserved two rooms online, late March. First: The food was absolutely the worst. We had breakfast and dinner at the resort resturant. The menu was not kid friendly and the adult meals were Denny's quality at Ruths Chris rates. Second: My brother and I made tee times for golf and paid online...once at the course, we were told that we hadn't paid online (upon further discovery we found out that we were right). However, we were asked to stand aside and wait until they could investigate. We felt like we were stealing something. Third: Prior to arriving we called to see if there were kids activities. We were told about some "kids camp." Whne we asked the front desk and the conceirge, they knew nothing about a kids camp. My kids ended up going to Busch Gardens instead and had a great time. Fourth: The worst service ever. Kingsmill employees don't really like working there. No one makes eye contact with you. No one says hello. Fifth: I took my kids down to the little beach area next to the marina. There was a drunk guy in his van with two Kingsmill Police officers surrounding him. They dragged the guy out of his car... the guy was screaming at me and my kids to help him. While the cops dragged him on the pavement to put him in the cop car. Awesome vacation! I went to complain to the front desk... I stood in front the front desk associate and she said absolutely nothing. She just looked at me and waited for me to say something. I said hello, she still said nothing...and this was the person I was supposed to air my grievences with... She didn't get it. When I got home, I received a survey. I wrote a two page note about my experience... no one has yet to call or email me (its been 4 weeks.) In my note, I advised kingsmill that they should send all their assocaites to a Ritz resort to see how a first class resort handles their clients. Oh I almost forgot, they double billed my credit card...I'm still fighting that one. Word to the wise, go to the DMV for your next vacation instead...you might enjoy it better than this place. If you are used to going to fine resorts (Ritz, Sea Island, Pinehurst, Kiawah, etc..) please don't waste your time here as you'll be terribly disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank TerpBlueJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Manager at Kingsmill Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at Kingsmill Resort. We use feedback like yours to assist us with improving the quality of the products and services we offer here at the resort.

I was saddened to read that you consider Kingsmill the "worst resort." The situations you described are completely unlike the type of quality service Kingsmill has become synonymous with. In fact, your situations sound more like a nightmare and I'm appalled that you had to endure this. Had I known your Kingsmill vacation was turning out like this, I would done everything in my power to ensure that your satisfaction was maintained. Please accept my sincere apologies for the outcome of your visit to Kingsmill Resort. I will be addressing your situations with the Kingsmill staff in an effort to drastically improve.

I truly hope that you will consider returning to Kingsmill Resort in the near future. Should you return, please ask for me and I will ensure that you are completely satisfied with your accommodations.

Robin Carson
General Manager
Kingsmill Resort & Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
7.9 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
3.2 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
Hilton Garden Inn Williamsburg
#11 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Property: Kingsmill Resort
Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort is situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in 425 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 5 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing