We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort”
Review of Kingsmill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsmill Resort
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Beautiful resort! The staff were very nice and professional. This was a meeting/conference. In the smaller, breakout sessions, the seating was wonderful with nice chairs. The general sessions had the standard meeting room chairs. The room was a short distance from the general hotel. They have free shuttle around the resort but ample parking otherwise. Walking around is also very nice. Beautiful views of the James River. I am not a golfer but I can see how this would be a golfer's dream! The room was very comfortable. The showerhead, pressure, and temperature were all great! The only helpful comments I would have is the following:
1) move the ottomans away from the foot of the bed. You will undoubtedly run into them. It makes for a very narrow walkway between the bed and desk. They are nice to have in the room, though.
2) Instead of the traditional plastic covered cups, there are glasses with plastic inserts. Nice but if you have children, bring some plastic cups. If they were to get dropped on the bathroom tile, the tile would win.
3) Only one soap bar in the room. The shower has shower gel in the shower dispenser, as well as shampoo and conditioner. These are all in dispensers (not the small sample sizes you may be used to.) They are worth using, however, if you do not like shower gel, you will have to either request another soap or transfer the soap from the sink and shower.
4) I noticed that the suites on the sides of the building complexes did not have good lighting for the walkway at night.

All of the food was good. I did visit one restaurant on the resort which I also reviewed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Work2Play_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,091 - 1,097 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with two additional hotel rooms attached as we were a group of 8. The rooms were nice and well appointed. The grounds we nice. They had a nice playground for kids. The indoor pool was ok, a bit cold. We were told several times that the outdoor lazy river pool and sand area was closed by the hotel staff, but we called down there directly and they were open that weekend! We missed a day of fun there. Oh well, it was a nice area for kids, albeit small. I am glad we went after labor day because I wonder how crowded it would get in the summer. The shuttle service to Colonial Williamsburg was nice. We did not have enough time to visit the spa. We were extremely disappointed in the James Landing restaurant. It has a nice view but the food was blah and too overpriced. All in all, it was a lovely place to spend a nice weekend with family. It was, however, not the best resort or anything extraordinary.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelsfar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Attended my second conference at this facility, and once again was not disappointed. A fairly large property on the water with a couple of options for accommodations, standard room or suites. I have now stayed in both. The standard room is fantastic but not much different than any other hotel room. The suite is basically a full one bedroom apartment that has a full kitchen, large living room dining room, functioning real wood fireplace, and balcony.

For the golfer, there are three championship golf courses on site and is set amongst the surrounding neighbourhood. I played the River and Wood courses, and both courses were in tremendous condition, although I would think that that is normal for this course. An LPGA event is hosted on the River course every year.

For the tennis player, there is a tremendous tennis club. I am not a tennis player but was impressed by the facility, which has clay, hard, and Hydro Courts. There was a competition being held while I was there, so I watched and felt as if I were at a large Grand Slam event.

There are many other activities available on site as well including a shuttle to Busch Gardens.

I would definitely recommend this facility.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haywood47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A wonderful resort, with excellent facalities, a professional staff and fantastic amenities. We had a golf course view and a one bedroom suite. The suite was all updated, the bathroom and kitchen was modern and the entire suite was comfortable, cleaning an appealing. Wish we could have stayed a few more days.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Kingsmill Resort is a very nice resort. The amenities, the staff, everything is excellent. I would highly recommend Kingsmill. You will not be disappointed. My favorite destination is The James Landing Grill. The view of the James River is very pleasing to the eye. Love the ambiance. The beds were so comfortable that I got a really good night sleep. Linda Anderson

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Another great stay at Kingsmill Resort. Not as good as the first stay, under new management. The beds are so comfortable and I love to cuddle up In the robes they provide. The views are amazing of the James River and golf courses. Had 15 to 20 wait both mornings for breakfast. Buffett at Brays -food was cold and service was slow. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cfamilyvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

All areas of guest amenities were excellent. Hotel, restaurants and golf staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in building 11. Everything (except the Woods course) was within walking distance. Resort shuttle readily available to take you wher you wanted/needed to go. Kid friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
3.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
3.5 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
622 reviews
4.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmill Resort

Address: 1010 Kingsmill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-5576
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £135 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsmill Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingsmill Resort a AAA Four Diamond resort situated on 2,900 protected acres along the James River in historic Williamsburg, Virginia. At Kingsmill, we invite our guests to experience a relaxing retreat where casual elegance provides the perfect backdrop for a stress‐free getaway. Guest can relax in over 400 exquisite villa‐style guest rooms and suites overlooking the sparkling James River. Situated adjacent to Busch Gardens, 10 minutes from Colonial Williamsburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingsmill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmill Resort Williamsburg
Kingsmill Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing