We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay for Families”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My family found the Lodge an excellent place to stay during our Spring Break visit to Williamsburg. The staff at the hotel are incredibly knowledgeable, helpful, accommodating, and gracious..nothing like southern charm! The doormen are extremely pleasant as well as the staff at the front desk, you can tell they are used to dealing with multitudes of families and excited children. The rooms are large and modernized, but still have their colonial charm. Thee paintings and decorations are classical colonial...keeping with the feel of the era. The location of the Lodge could not be better, within walking distance of all of the attractions and museums...even though they have buses the loop Historic Williamsburg every 10 minutes, we chose to walk most places...this allowed us to see more activities than we would if on the bus.
We opted for the package that included breakfast, a $100 gift certificate(that can be used at the spa or the golf course...go figure my wife won that one and got to use it for the spa!) free bike rental..and a discount off of the tickets for some attractions.
The breakfast food was great..made to order omelettes along with the normal breakfast fair. I have a hard time understanding the complaints made about breakfast and the dinning area for the following reasons:1)This is Colonial Williamsburg..this is a family destination...families usually have kids..kids usually run around and make lots of noise..they're kids...has anyone been to Disney lately??!! 2) This is breakfast food...eggs, bacon, sausage, grits, fruit, and coffee are pretty hard to screw up and the chefs did an excellent job with everything.
I will say..if you plan on eating dinner at the restaurant, get their early..the wait is long and the food is just ok for the price...their are better choices in town..check out Yelp.

Room Tip: Like everyone else..stay in the main building area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    532
    223
    74
    32
See reviews for
707
680
55
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We booked this hotel in route on I-84 on the way to Williamsburg. The operator was very nice and helped us get the package together for the room and tickets. We got in very late @ 11pm and everyone was ver nice. Our room was right above the parking garage which was great for luggage but we were far from the front of the hotel. Our room was 4508 This made for a long walk past the conference center outside last two other buildings and then into another building which required a room key to open the door. The only elevator was very slow, we eventually found the stairwell and used that instead. Our room was clean, just dated. It looks like it has been years since it has been renovated.

The hotel service was terrible at breakfast. The food was a buffet and good, we just couldn't get water, juice and coffee. The lines were long and was had to wait to be seated. We found that all the food service we got in CW was slow, even the ice cream at DuBois Grocery. The colonial way must just be slow!?. T

The other service at the hotel was good. We ordered a rollaway and towels and the were prompt and fast. The bell hops and the concierge(ticket guy) were helpful. We only rode the bus one time and the close proximity to CW was definitely worth it.

Our favorite and unexpected highlight of the trip was when the militia soldiers started lining up with drums outside the hotel Monday morning @ 9 am. Our girls ages 7,9,13, lined up with the other children and marched to the drums across town. As others tried to follow and/or join, the actors would announce they were part of a "special group". They ended up participating in the live re-enactment of the siege of the governors palace. That was awesome!

Overall we enjoyed our stay and I would probably stay there again if we could stay in a newer closer wing of the building.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa M, General Manager at Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the Willliamsburg Lodge. I will follow up with the appropriate leaders regarding the issues you have noted. I apologize that your stay was less than perfect and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your concern as it will only help us get better. We strive to offer our guests an extraordinary experience with warm hospitality. We can do better. We hope you will consider staying with us again so that we might redeem our standing the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We usually stay in the Colonial Houses but dawdled too much to get a reservation this time. We got a package at the Lodge that included breakfast. The hotel & room itself were lovely. Great staff, helpful bellman, charming & helpful front desk but our weekend was all but ruined by said breakfast.

The room they serve breakfast has all the grace and charm of a grade school cafeteria and the food was just about as good. It was an oversized buffet. Food lukewarm. I could get better bagels at the 7-11. The fruit wasn't particularly ripe. It was loud enough to wake the dead and awash in loud children either screaming or banging on tables if not playing with Ipads with no earbuds. Rather like my idea of purgatory. Certainly stay at the Lodge but avoid the breakfast "dining" option. Staff was doing the best they could but it was awful.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and I visited Williamsburg in early March. Because of a snow/ice storm Colonial Williamsburg and the shops/restaurants at Merchant's Square were closed. We had tried to change our visit dates the previous day but were told this was not possible. We had purchased a package that included lodging, breakfast, and tickets. We were not able to use our tickets for much of our stay. When I brought my concerns to the attention of the appropriate management personnel they could not have been more apologetic and accommodating. Excellent customer service. We annually visit Williamsburg for a mid-winter getaway and will definitely be back next year. The lodge, customer service, the spa are all first rate, add this to the location and it's the only place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just finished a mini-vacation in Williamsburg and stayed at the Williamsburg Lodge. First off hospitality, staff-friendlyness and attentiveness is absolutely superior. The room was very clean. And though our bathroom was small, it was serviceable - just not special. But want do you really need a bathroom anyway - especially if its spotless. Grounds are impeccable and the location right in the heart of the historic area cannot be beat. Absolutely worth the price for a wonderful place to stay.

So everything was top notch, but... The food in the restaurant was at best disappointing. The breakfast buffet is terrific, but the food served in the bar and the restaurant for lunch and dinner needs some serious attention. Once again the staff is superior, but alas one doesn't dine on the staff. We ate dinner in the restaurant 3 nights - all 3 nights some or all of the plate was cold and rather unappetizing. And unfortunately, lunch in the bar one afternoon was equally poor. Cold hot dogs, cold hamburger. Cold little pizza things. My dad used to yell at us when we were young when as children we'd complain mom's cooking was too hot. He'd say "You can't cook cold!!" Well the food at the Williamsburg Lodge proved my dad wrong.

Stay here, enjoy the wonderful amenities and terrific staff. But just eat breakfast there and dine elsewhere the balance of the day. Due to the price of the food and it's quality I had to only give a 3 star rating - but again the accommodations are terrific.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a larger bathroom and outdoor space. You cannot park a taller SUV in the underg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndrewVo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just returned from a 4 day mini vacation at the Lodge with my children age 8 and 10. The location simply cannot be beat as the complex is a short one block walk from the Magazine and Court House in the middle of the Colonial Village. The Lodge also has courtesy shuttles that are willing to take you to any place in close proximity which I found very relaxing especially at dinner. The Lodge décor is Colonial, as one would expect, but the leather couches have clean lines and the Lodge feels fresh not dated. In addition, the Lodge is directly across the street from the Spa/Pool complex which is available for use by guests. There are three pools available and one of the outdoor pools is semi-heated. We were delighted to find that it was comfortable on a warm (but not yet hot) spring day. The rooms were simple but adequate; the Keurig coffee maker was a nice touch and I would recommend the Tyler building where we stayed. In terms of making the vacation truly enjoyable, I must thank the bell staff that were so friendly, helpful, and extraordinarily kind to my children and their whims. Thank you! I also was pleasantly surprised to find the food in the Traditions restaurant delicious. The only slight hiccup in our stay was some difficulty with ticketing. Some of our tickets that were supposed to be at the front desk were lost (and the front desk could not correct the error) and the expiration date on our admission tickets was wrong (and again the front desk could not correct the error.) The front desk staff was helpful and quick to offer advice or make reservations but they did not have the tools to correct simple errors and this left me standing in queue for a total of one hour, a slight disappointment. Still, those small issues aside, the Lodge is a wonderful place to stay and I recommend it for families traveling with children.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geogiasun12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have stayed at the Williamsburg lodge several times and love it. The people are very welcoming and if you have any problems they work quickly to resolve them. It has great colonial decor and is not stuffy, very comfortable to stay at. The fire in the lodge bar is wonderful to sit by at night during the winter. The spa is great, especially the facials.

Room Tip: I like to stay in the main lodge but corner rooms in any of the buildings are big and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection

Property: Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Address: 310 South England Street, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#4 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#6 Green Hotel in Williamsburg
#9 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection is a relaxing escape in Colonial Williamsburg. We are a preferred choice of accommodations for travelers looking for luxury hotels in Williamsburg, Virginia. On our property, which sits in the heart of the Revolutionary City, you will find inviting spaces including a world-class restaurant and you can enjoy convenient access to spa and golf recreation amenities. We sit in the middle of all the action in Williamsburg, and we offer admission ticket discounts and special daily events as part of the exclusive benefits you'll enjoy as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing