We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, very helpful hosts”
Review of War Hill Inn

War Hill Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
War Hill Inn
Ranked #11 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Lovely place, very helpful hosts”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband, baby and I stayed in the War Hill Inn's Washington Cottage last weekend. Will, the owner, was extremely easy going, accommodating and simply lovely to chat with. Breakfast of french toast, fresh fruit, spicy sausage patties, yogurt and home made granola was delicious comfort food. The cottage was very pleasant and comfortable, and the grounds were gorgeous and relaxing. And importantly (to us), Will called us after we'd left to let us know we'd dropped our baby's favorite pacifier in the parking lot - he happily, and quickly, popped it in the mail to us. It may sound like small potatoes, but it was extremely valuable to us!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 976sarahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

It's been years since i was there but it was a great place. The guest houses had a lot of room. The room inside the room was a little small but you get use to it. Breakfast was a wonderful experience. Breakfast was served in a family style setting and we got to meet other guests and share stories. If you want to stay in a place that has a quiet and intimate setting i suggest this.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake Beach
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Traveled with my parents and 14 year old son and stayed in the Wilson Suite at the suggestion of the owner. We had more than enough room and privacy with a door for each room. We walked the working farm and enjoyed the sites. We stayed two nights but only ate breakfast one morning as we checked out early our last day. On the day we did eat breakfast it was plentiful and delicious, and the conversation with the other guests was enjoyable. The owner was a wonderful host suggesting places to travel to and great places to eat, he even gave us his number in case we needed to call him while we where out. We all would definitely stay again and would suggest War Hill Inn to anyone wanting to travel to Williamsburg.

Room Tip: For families wanting more privacy or small children, think about the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mypookie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a nice option for some rest and relaxing and greenery away from the downtown area, which is a lot of hotels on the main streets and but not that much atmosphere. We had the downstairs rooms which was huge and very quiet, the bed was comfy and it had a lot of privacy. The AC units are more hotel style rather loud IMO, we turned em off and opened the windows for some nice sounds of trees and birds, as we live in the city in a highrise, so out aim was more like a home in the woods than a B&B. The owners are very gracious and friendly, and the breakfast was very good, as was the conversation. This B&B is a great value, especially compared to the hotels in town, which leave much to be desired.

Room Tip: Walk old Williamsburg at night and have dessert.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We enjoyed our 3-night stay at War Hill Inn. Host (Will) was talkative and provided a lot of helpful information and suggestions. Having grown up here, he knew a lot about the area and back roads to get places. We were the only guests so received some special attention. He cleared shelf in the refrigerator for a few items since there was no refrig in the room. The breakfasts were very good, varied and ample. The Monroe room was a bit small (no place to set up the computer comfortably), but adequate with a comfortable bed. Loved the out-of-the-city location and quiet with room to roam about the grounds (a working farm). It is just a 10-minute drive from the Visitors Center.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed in the Jefferson Cottage at the War Hill Inn. It was very cozy and we enjoyed the serene setting. The inn is conveniently located only 4 miles from town with a setting that makes you feel like you are in the heart of the country. The breakfasts were great, and Will was very knowledgeable about local history. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in this lovely house whilst touring VA.

Will was very helpful and let us check in early so that we could explore the area without leaving luggage in the car. He advised us on local places, restaurants etc and gave us a very useful map to aid our navigation.

The farm is so quiet and Bill was happy to chat to us about the animals and for us to wander around. Had a good walk each morning and evening.

Bedroom was nicely furnished with very comfy bed and pillows. Basic amenities were provided. Only gripe, there were no facilities to make tea/coffee. There have been in other B&Bs I have stayed in.

Breakfast was nice and of good quality. Make sure you try some of the muesli that Will makes himself, so good on fruit and yogurt.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.7 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
4.6 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
4.2 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 21 in Williamsburg
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
4.5 mi away
Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to War Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about War Hill Inn

Property: War Hill Inn
Address: 4560 Longhill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1533
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing