We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucolic Bliss”
Review of War Hill Inn

War Hill Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
War Hill Inn
Ranked #11 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Wow, what an amazing and unique experience. You can read about the details on their thoughtfully done and very accurate website. What the website doesn't do though is detail the personal charms and of the owners, including horticultural expertise(!), and their easygoing efficient hospitality. We enjoyed wonderful conversation with owners, other guest, as well as 2 golden retrievers. And last but not least, some of the loveliest cattle you will ever meet!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lisasommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for War Hill Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I and another couple spent the weekend here in the Washington Cottage. We had a wonderful stay. The hosts were very friendly and made the breakfast very enjoyable. The breakfast we had on Saturday morning was awesome. French Toast stuffed with cream cheese, though not too much. The fresh raspberries were a treat. The accommodations were very nice and we enjoyed a night in on a very rainy Saturday night. Should we venture back to Williamsburg we would certainly enjoy another stay at the War Hill Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mswooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I choose to stay at the War Hill Inn as it was close to Williamsburg but felt like you were out in the country! We stayed in one of the two cottages in the grounds and it was decorated beautifully and suited our family of four to a tea. The hosts were very nice and very helpful and the breakfasts they provided were fantastic.
We saw some beautiful deer one evening, Hummingbirds at breakfast, and the hosts lovely retrievers who were very friendly and well behaved.
I cannot recommend this place enough, especially for those of you like us that love a bit of piece and quiet away from the main town

Room Tip: The cottage in the ground is perfect for families as the master bed is separate and the children can...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllyJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in one of the cottages on the property and it was completely lovely!
Will (owner & Inn Keeper) was wonderful and very knowledgeable about all the sites to see. He made a great breakfast that my husband enjoyed every morning we were there. You can also choose to stay in the main house or one of the cottages. All were lovely and the property was very well maintained. We got to see a couple of deer and their fawns grazing in one of the beautiful pastures on the property. We definitely recommend staying here if you prefer a place that feels like your in the country but located conveniently to all Williamsburg has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

My family loved this charming b and b! Bill and Will are excellent hosts who genuinely love their vocation! A very peaceful place to rest after each day of sightseeing! The rooms are very comfortable and the scenery is beautiful. We were lucky enough to see several fawns out our bedroom window! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groominmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Completely refreshed after our visit to War Hill Inn, my wife and I can't praise the property enough. Although being very close to many places (Historic Williamsburg, outlet shops, Jamestown), we almost wish for another day to just relax at the inn. A beautiful pastoral view and an inn based upon colonial architecture make the visit so very nice. Our room amenities included a comfortable four poster bed and a jacuzzi. The only thing I would have wished to be improved would be a bigger breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kspieler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband, baby and I stayed in the War Hill Inn's Washington Cottage last weekend. Will, the owner, was extremely easy going, accommodating and simply lovely to chat with. Breakfast of french toast, fresh fruit, spicy sausage patties, yogurt and home made granola was delicious comfort food. The cottage was very pleasant and comfortable, and the grounds were gorgeous and relaxing. And importantly (to us), Will called us after we'd left to let us know we'd dropped our baby's favorite pacifier in the parking lot - he happily, and quickly, popped it in the mail to us. It may sound like small potatoes, but it was extremely valuable to us!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 976sarahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
4.7 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
603 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 21 in Williamsburg
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast
4.2 mi away
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to War Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about War Hill Inn

Address: 4560 Longhill Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23188-1533
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: £67 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing