We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Had A Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We just got home after staying 3 nights and I wanted to share my thoughts on the Woodlands Hotel & Suites. We had an awesome time. Everyone there was so friendly and accommodating. It was so nice and secluded and just all around beautiful. We played free mini golf our first night there and my wife was like don't we have to pay and I said nope and then the next day we swam in the pool and they also have a little water fun area for the kids too. Another great thing was the free continental breakfast only a short walk to the convention center which I thought seemed more like a buffet and was very good. The staff constantly made sure the food was fresh and plenty full and eating breakfast there saved us allot of money on breakfast. We stayed in a 2 double bed room and the room was nice and clean and the made service was spot on and they did it the same time each day so we knew when our room would be ready. Our room was room 5351 and our view was the parking lot but didn't really care cause there were trees in front of us and almost everyday there were robins and cardinals in the trees that were cool to see when we looked out the window. The room was also quiet. Its funny a person in the room next to us was playing an instrument and we thought that when we got in our room we would have heard it and we didn't.. So very quiet rooms.. So in a nutshell we loved it... Now the only thing that I had issues with and I would suggest fixing was the wireless internet. It would go in and out which I believe the router may not have been strong enough to cover the room. Even with the internet issue we have no issues with going back and plan on doing so either this fall or early next year... If your trying to decide on a great place to stay you will love this hotel.. One more thing.. Very easy to get to Busch Gardens and the water park. I think it took us about 15 minutes so very close. We didn't get to tour Williamsburg but plan on doing that the next time we are there.. We also ate at Huzzah restaurant which is just a a quick 2 minute walk from the hotel if that and the food and the service were amazing...Thanks again Williamsburg Woodlands for a great time... My wife and daughter and I love it there and we plan on coming back to see you all there soon... Thank You Vince

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodlands76, General Manager at Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Vince M.

Thank you for your review and for staying at The Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel & Suites. I am pleased your family enjoyed our new Splash Fun Zone at our pool, our complimentary miniature golf and our complimentary deluxe breakfast.

We will look at the wireless signal issue you experienced, but hope you will return in the near future and visit and partake in programming in Colonial Williamsburg’s Revolutionary City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,628 - 1,634 of 2,281 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very nice hotel. 3rd time we stayed here. Perfect for touring Colonial Williamsburg. Staff was nice and helpful. The have added a breakfast since we came last and it is great. The only problem we had was the WIFI doesn't work. It connected but the signal was so poor we couldn't get it to work. But we were on vacation and maybe that was better.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back part of the hotel, WIFI might be better in the front is that is a priority
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhotoBobTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for a long (4 day) weekend. Room was extremely clean, comfortable and odor-free. Bathroom spic-and-span with sink outside toilet/shower area so one can get ready while other showers or p--ps. Beds are very comfortable, pillows in good shape, and sheets not top-notch but not cheapy either. The free WiFi has excellent reception throughout the sprawling building. Staff is very friendly especially the crew that run the kid programs in the lobby and at the pool. Our children loved the pool and the new splash area which were both very close to our room. There's inexpensive, clean laundry ($2 wash, $2 dry, $1 detergent) so we were able to wear our favorite clothes many times. AC unit was very quiet and no mildewy smell as is often found in summer.

The Huzzah restaurant nearby is like a notch up from a good Applebee's but with fresh food and a wide varied menu. We ate there a few times, and while waiting for food, there were games and toys outside for the kids to play with.

Unfortunately the free buffet breakfast is being run at the nearby conference center (I gather since the onsite dining area off the lobby is not large enough for summer crowd, so its a two minute walk outside). The food is that basic food-service quality stuff (e.g. you're making your own waffles, no-name brand tea, coffee, etc. that you'd expect in a Best Western) that is fine for kids but anyone with discerning tastes may be disappointed. Given its free, you might be OK, but there are no other breakfast options unless you want to drive about 20 minutes to nearby strip restaurants, which defeats the purpose of staying on-site so you can chow down at the hotel then wander over to the main Visitor's center. They need to figure this out as I think with this resolved, they have a top-notch property in every other regard. I would definitely stay here again if or when we are to return to Colonial Williamsburg.

Room Tip: all seem good -- as is typical, there are rooms near primary traffic areas, ice machines and elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveGha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel is located on property. The free breakfast was cold, the sheets were dirty and the dinner at huzzah was hit and miss. Management responded quickly to all concerns, we would go back but have no real expectations.

Room Tip: Try to be placed by the pool if you have kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JennalynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

What a find. I'm very happy the Colonial Williamsburg guest services assistant suggested the Cascades. It's a CW property that isn't really advertised as much as the others. Set back in the forested area that surrounds the two properties, the beautiful Woodlands Suites being the other, the quiet is very refreshing.

Check-in and breakfast buffet are both at the Woodlands. This is also the location of the wi-fi availability as there is none at the Cascades. Some people bring their laptops and sit in the comfortable lobby. The complimentary coffee is always available.

The rooms are nicely decorated to reflect the nature outside the large picture windows. Everything is clean and well-kept. Not an easy job in a pet-friendly lodging. This is the place to come if you feel like your dog deserves a vacation, too. The historic area is a wonderful place for an early morning walk and many of the local people are out with their dogs while the street is quiet. This is a great opportunity to strike up a conversation and get recommendations! There is a restaurant called Huzzah! which you can walk to from the Cascades in just a few minutes.

And yes, there really is a cascading waterfall nearby.

Room Tip: Family groups should request a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank annamoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here multiple times. They have a section called Cascades. It is an older 50s style motel that is part of Woodlands. It is clean and very neat and comfortable. There is plenty of towels. The location is great. It is much cheaper then the main Woodlands next door. You get free breakfast and all the pools access and new splash park. You are right at the visitors center. It is old but we'll worth it. Most important it is dog friendly. The Cascades section is not on the map so you need to ask for it. If you have a pet then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 days, it was very clean, staff was very friendly and helpful! Breakfast was good! The hotel had a very nice pool, the location was great also if you were planning on going to see colonial Williamsburg. The hotel is within walking distance, however there is a shuttle bus that takes you around which is also nice when its really hot outside! I would definately recomend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 427jillr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
0.7 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Williamsburg-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Address: 105 Visitor Center Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £61 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting the ideal blend of comfort and convenience, the Williamsburg Woodlands Hotel & Suites is the perfect starting point for your adventure in Colonial Williamsburg, centrally located next to Huzzah’s Eatery and the Visitor Center. Start your day off with complimentary breakfast, and then enjoy our exclusive access to the best that Colonial Williamsburg has to offer—making it easier than ever to plan an unforgettable family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing