We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Review - Some Positives but Needs Updates” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Mixed Review - Some Positives but Needs Updates”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My boyfriend and I chose the Williamsburg Woodlands because their “Taste of the Tavern” package seemed to be a good value and we were correct. It included accommodations, breakfast, a two course meal at one of the taverns in the Revolutionary City and tickets good for the length of our stay to the Revolutionary City. We also received discounts on tours and a purchase at one of the visitor center tours. We appreciated the convenience of being able to make arrangements for tours from our room and then picking the tickets up from the reception desk.

Our room had two double beds but neither were particularly comfortable. The sink and mirror are outside of the main bathroom that contains the commode and shower. The water pressure left something to be desired (for me but my boyfriend thought it was fine) but the hot water was always plentiful. They offer shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The bath towels are very small and would not completely wrap around me (I’m a woman of average build). The door and walls are rather thin so you can often hear those in the room next to yours and out in the hallway. One of the windows opens although it was generally too warm to keep it open (but that would be a nice feature in spring or fall). The A/C unit is pretty loud.

One of the nights we were there was sold out so breakfast the next morning was rather chaotic. They do offer a decent selection including breads, cereals, scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage patties, a waffle maker and a variety of juices and coffee. However, it was so busy, it was difficult to navigate (especially with so many kids running around) and there was a significant wait when cups ran out near where the juices and coffee was located. I would say the food was average at best.

The staff was always very helpful whenever we had any questions. The lobby is nice and inviting and water is available all the time. The hotel is located immediately next to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center and is in walking distance of the Revolutionary City, although the shuttle is very convenient as well.

There is a great pool on site but we weren’t there long enough to take advantage of it. There is plenty of parking. There is a spa onsite but we did not go there.

Several items could certainly be improved and I would rate this property average. The package did make it a good value (the taverns in the Revolutionary City are delicious!) but there were enough positives (staff, location, etc.) that we may consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SiteCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    580
    165
    44
    13
See reviews for
896
361
41
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I took our 6 year old grandson here for a short few days. This hotel is very close to Williamsburg, the tourist center, and the shuttle bus service which was convenient. The hotel is very clean, the employees are extremely friendly and helpful. There are a wide array of things for children to do on the grounds of the hotel. Our grandson really enjoyed the small but fun water park and the mini golf course, which was open 24 hours round the clock. Each night there was a program for the children starting at 7;30pm. A pirate pool party, a magician, fife and drum display which the children participated in, etc. Would definitely visit here again and highly recommend it for families. They also offer discount tickets for various evening events, as well as Williamsburg. The only cons we had were that the wifi is not very strong there and the sofa bed in our room was horrible and our 6 year grandson had to sleep with us in our King bed. The full breakfast offered was also very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deejam16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel was within walking distance to the visitors center and offered very convenient bus service to the area attractions. The Lodge is within walking distance to all of the historic area and I did not realize this hotel was not. This hotel offered many amenities for small children which we did not get to utilize because we were there to see the historic area, not use the pool. The breakfast that was included was very good and offered many choices. There was a problem at checkin with our reservation I had booked, in person, through AAA. It was corrected but I did not appreciate the desk clerk repeatedly telling me I should have booked directly through them

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmcgonigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We had previously spent a night in July at the Williamsburg Lodge and were disappointed. However, a representative from Colonial Williamsburg contacted us and went out of her way to try to correct the situation and listen to our concerns. This was very much appreciated. I wanted to make sure we wrote a favorable review for the Woodlands as our stay was pleasant and predictable. The location is perfect- at the entrance for the Visitor's Center. No need to drive anywhere. Room was clean and fresh. Toiletries (I appreciate nice products) are the best! Same ones for all hotel levels at Colonial Williamsburg, just smaller portions. Staff was particularly friendly and welcoming (this was very different from our experience at the Lodge.) Grounds looked great! This is an excellent choice for families. Two minor complaints- hot breakfast was not as good as it was during prior stays and people smoking outside of the main entrance could be annoying. Overall, great visit!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank North Shore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at the woodlands, sorry to say I was not impressed this time. Way too overcrowded, so- so daily room upkeep, and worst of all noisy rooms. I asked for a quiet room and was given a connecting room- heard every word verbatim that was spoken in next room. Spoken- not shouted- just to be clear.
The setting itself is beautiful- I love colonial Williamsburg and have been coming here every few years for decades. The breakfast is excellent- love the whipped cream and blueberries on the waffles! Mini golf is fun too.
Overall it would probably be better if it wasn't overcrowded- but personally I wouldn't risk it again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtMom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I highly recommend the Woodlands for families with young children. Plenty of activities, outdoor pool, splash pad, family friendly restaurant and close access to visitors' center and free shuttles to CW. The rooms are VERY quiet, good laundry facility and clean hallways/rooms.

Pros:
- Easy access (next door, actually) to CW visitor's center with free shuttle to CW (no admission tickets needed to ride).
- Large pool, splash pad, outside restrooms all gated.
- Family friendly restaurant also next door, with outside games and activities to keep the kids occupied.
- Easy, free parking.
- Free WiFi that also works at the pool.
- Working laundry facilities with detergent vending machines (Bring $5 quarters)
- Kids activities nightly

Cons:
- While I said it's a "family" friendly restaurant, don't expect high quality food. Even the pizzas were just ok. Kids will enjoy the fare but if you are looking for quality, authentic dishes, go to the Lodge or one of the Taverns. However, the location and service wasn't enough to bring it down a star.
- You should purchase a package with admission tickets prior to arrival. The website is confusing. We only purchased rooms and found out later that CW admission is separate, also Busch Gardens and WCUSA are all separate. The hotel staff sent us to the visitors center, the visitors center sent us back to the hotel. We gave up and purchased BG tickets at gate, and at max cost. $$$
- Related to above: the website indicates the free kid's menu at Huzzah is part of the hotel stay. It's not. It's a separate package that you need to purchase. Very confusing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We recently stayed there and I was extremely disappointed ESPECIALLY for a "suite" room and the price! I have stayed in several hotels but never a suite so I was excited. However, we got there a little after 4pm and were not able to check into our room until 11:30pm because they said the room was being "inspected." Finally when we were able to check in, it was a different room because the other one was still not ready. The AC was next to nothing, did not circulate through the room, and shut off constantly.Our room keys didn't work one day, and we had to go to the front desk and get new ones. Also, there was a squished bug on the ceiling and I brought it to the front desk's attention, and it was still there the day we left. Needless to say, I will never stay at the Woodlands again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radtech7901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 105 Visitor Center Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing