We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort feel for a reasonable rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Resort feel for a reasonable rate”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Loved our stay at the Woodlands. The old-fashioned, cozy look of the lobby, clean rooms, and the lovely wooded grounds made for a relaxing family vacation vibe. The pool and splash zone are wonderful for kids, there is a free mini-golf course, a playground, ping-pong table, volleyball net, and shuffleboard on the grounds - most nicely shaded in the trees. There are even evening activities and games in the lobby. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful. The free breakfast is in a separate facility a short walk away, and totally worth the walk when they have a full breakfast buffet with Belgian waffles and ham/eggs/sausages. Quick drive to Colonial Williamsburg or shuttles are available. It may be notable that we came at the end of the summer when the hotel was not busy, and the large parking lots and group arrivals center tipped off that this hotel must get quite crowded at times. The room was a bit small with two doubles instead of queen-sized beds. (Though as a nice bonus, the chair opened into a cot perfect for a kid.) But while a convention-style hotel would have given us more space and perhaps plusher towels, none could have given us a resort feel for a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are closer to the pool, mini-golf, and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    599
    168
    45
    14
See reviews for
911
374
43
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend with our daughter as we toured Williamsburg and the surrounding sites.
The hotel is expansive and has many features - definitely much more than a Holiday Inn or something.
We chose this hotel for it's connection with colonial Williamsburg and got a great deal that included a multi-day pass for the town and other discounts. We will definitely return to this hotel in future visits to the area.

The rooms are standard enough, and the furniture is nothing to write home about, but it's what you need. The beds are comfortable enough.
The included breakfast is what you might expect, and you really can't complain when it's a buffet, right? It can be a bit crowded and chaotic, especially with kids running around. Go early or late.
There is a small water park on site, which the kids all seemed to enjoy.
The proximity to colonial Williamsburg can't be beat. Either take a nice walk over a bridge or make use of the included shuttle (which runs reliably every ten minutes).

My only major complaint was the shower. It was either scalding hot (not exaggerating) or chilly. You had to really work to find a comfortable middle ground. Definitely wouldn't want my child going in there without one of us setting the water for her. Never got around to telling the front desk, so if you guys read this, there's you go. Room 5410!

There isn't anything else bad I can say about this hotel. Know what you are getting and you won't be disappointed. This is perfect for families and the prices are great.

Room Tip: With a lot of children, the pool can be noisy, so get a room that doesn't face it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cullen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Woodlands was a wonderfult vacation spot for our family. The room was clean and quiet. Great air conditioning (I hate the heat) and the spa toiletries were a nice touch. The Wi-Fi is also a great benefit - my kids brought Kindles and we had an IPAD (which we left in the room with no worries) and all worked great- even by the pool. The pool is very clean and the water is very well maintained. The breakfast is plentiful but the flavor of the food is just ok.

The proximity to Colonial Willamsburg was great! The shuttles run every few minutes and are free. Short walk from the hotel. Parking was great and right near the room. We had the "Kids Stay and eat free" package. We were able to eat at one of the delicious taverns in Williamsburg every night and the kids meal was free! I thought this was a great hotel and we ended up loving it so much we stayed one extra day!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitpup75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My boyfriend and I chose the Williamsburg Woodlands because their “Taste of the Tavern” package seemed to be a good value and we were correct. It included accommodations, breakfast, a two course meal at one of the taverns in the Revolutionary City and tickets good for the length of our stay to the Revolutionary City. We also received discounts on tours and a purchase at one of the visitor center tours. We appreciated the convenience of being able to make arrangements for tours from our room and then picking the tickets up from the reception desk.

Our room had two double beds but neither were particularly comfortable. The sink and mirror are outside of the main bathroom that contains the commode and shower. The water pressure left something to be desired (for me but my boyfriend thought it was fine) but the hot water was always plentiful. They offer shampoo, conditioner and lotion. The bath towels are very small and would not completely wrap around me (I’m a woman of average build). The door and walls are rather thin so you can often hear those in the room next to yours and out in the hallway. One of the windows opens although it was generally too warm to keep it open (but that would be a nice feature in spring or fall). The A/C unit is pretty loud.

One of the nights we were there was sold out so breakfast the next morning was rather chaotic. They do offer a decent selection including breads, cereals, scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage patties, a waffle maker and a variety of juices and coffee. However, it was so busy, it was difficult to navigate (especially with so many kids running around) and there was a significant wait when cups ran out near where the juices and coffee was located. I would say the food was average at best.

The staff was always very helpful whenever we had any questions. The lobby is nice and inviting and water is available all the time. The hotel is located immediately next to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center and is in walking distance of the Revolutionary City, although the shuttle is very convenient as well.

There is a great pool on site but we weren’t there long enough to take advantage of it. There is plenty of parking. There is a spa onsite but we did not go there.

Several items could certainly be improved and I would rate this property average. The package did make it a good value (the taverns in the Revolutionary City are delicious!) but there were enough positives (staff, location, etc.) that we may consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SiteCer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I took our 6 year old grandson here for a short few days. This hotel is very close to Williamsburg, the tourist center, and the shuttle bus service which was convenient. The hotel is very clean, the employees are extremely friendly and helpful. There are a wide array of things for children to do on the grounds of the hotel. Our grandson really enjoyed the small but fun water park and the mini golf course, which was open 24 hours round the clock. Each night there was a program for the children starting at 7;30pm. A pirate pool party, a magician, fife and drum display which the children participated in, etc. Would definitely visit here again and highly recommend it for families. They also offer discount tickets for various evening events, as well as Williamsburg. The only cons we had were that the wifi is not very strong there and the sofa bed in our room was horrible and our 6 year grandson had to sleep with us in our King bed. The full breakfast offered was also very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deejam16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel was within walking distance to the visitors center and offered very convenient bus service to the area attractions. The Lodge is within walking distance to all of the historic area and I did not realize this hotel was not. This hotel offered many amenities for small children which we did not get to utilize because we were there to see the historic area, not use the pool. The breakfast that was included was very good and offered many choices. There was a problem at checkin with our reservation I had booked, in person, through AAA. It was corrected but I did not appreciate the desk clerk repeatedly telling me I should have booked directly through them

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmcgonigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We had previously spent a night in July at the Williamsburg Lodge and were disappointed. However, a representative from Colonial Williamsburg contacted us and went out of her way to try to correct the situation and listen to our concerns. This was very much appreciated. I wanted to make sure we wrote a favorable review for the Woodlands as our stay was pleasant and predictable. The location is perfect- at the entrance for the Visitor's Center. No need to drive anywhere. Room was clean and fresh. Toiletries (I appreciate nice products) are the best! Same ones for all hotel levels at Colonial Williamsburg, just smaller portions. Staff was particularly friendly and welcoming (this was very different from our experience at the Lodge.) Grounds looked great! This is an excellent choice for families. Two minor complaints- hot breakfast was not as good as it was during prior stays and people smoking outside of the main entrance could be annoying. Overall, great visit!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank North Shore M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.7 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
4.7 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg

Property: Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Address: 105 Visitor Center Drive, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#12 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel, the Woodlands Hotel & Suites is located adjacent to the historic area and set amid landscaped grounds in a tranquil, park-like environment. The Visitors Center is short walk away and offers complimentary shuttle service around Colonial Williamsburg, tickets to programming and events, costume rental, multiple gift shops, and a cafe serving sandwiches, soups, snacks, and beverages. Hotel amenities include free Wi-Fi, a business center, fitness center, complimentary full breakfast, an outdoor heated family-style pool, free mini-golf, and a variety of summer family activities and games. The newest addition is a pirate ship themed Splash Pad complete with water cannons, double bucket water dump, ground sprays, a mini slide, and a wading pool for our youngest guests. Huzzah! BBQ Grille, a family-friendly, full-service restaurant is just steps away and is open 5pm - 9:30pm daily. (Tip: be sure to try the slow-cooked BBQ and let the kids make their own pizza!) Travel info: easy access to I-64; 20 minutes to Williamsburg/Newport News International airport; 5-6 minutes to Amtrak train station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel And Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Woodlands Hotel Colonial Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing