We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and interesting innkeepers!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Newport House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Columbiana, Ohio
2 reviews
“Wonderful place and interesting innkeepers!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A very convenient location if you are visiting Colonial Williamsburg. I loved having a safe place to park my vehicle just footsteps away from the front door of the inn. The innkeepers were so interesting and wanted to help and please us during our stay. Both of them had such interesting stories to share and we were able to share our stories with them. They have so many interests that it is so easy to talk with them. The house is very beautiful filled with so many wonderful items that one could spend hours looking around. The ballroom is something one would never imagine in a home, A MUST TO SEE. Breakfast was exceptional. The exterior of the house and gardens were very well maintained. I would highly recommend a stay at this unique inn.

Room Tip: Only two rooms are used for guests-both are beautifully decorated and spotless. The ballroom is rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Williamsburg. The Newport House B&B is only a short walk to colonial Williamsburg and is in a great location. However, we have some feedback that we feel is worthy of sharing.

John, the innkeeper, knows his history very well but was almost too eager to share stories and historical accounts with us. He wasn’t afraid to share his thoughts on politics, the economy (which is why we got such a ‘great’ deal) and he tried convincing my wife from New Zealand on why New Zealand needs nuclear power over our breakfast. Throughout our stay, he seemed too eager to share his accomplishments/knowledge/opinions instead of making us feel welcome as guests. In this regard, the Newport House was in stark contrast from other B&B’s that we had stayed at during our trip.

While we never felt unsafe, we were surprised that the guest rooms were not lockable from the outside. Especially since John held a dance open to the public in the hall outside our room during the first night of our 2-night stay.

Most disappointing, however was what happened after our stay. After we left the Newport House to continue on our trip to Washington DC, we accidentally left two packages of special chocolate biscuits (Tim Tams) in the small fridge in our room. We had brought them with us from Australia for my father’s 80th birthday the following week. We realized the following evening that we had left them in the little fridge in our room and had emailed John to see if he could send them to us. We were surprised to find that without attempting to contact us (John had our contact details from our reservation), in less than two days one package was already gone and they had already started into the second. While he graciously sent us what had remained, we were disappointed they would have eaten them without trying to contact us first.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emineric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport_House, Owner at Newport House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
We're sorry your stay didn't live up to your expectations. We are noted for being the most historic B&B in the area and most of our guests come here to experience this historic town on a limited time budget so we feel it is our job to help guests maximize that time.
We have only 2 guest rooms and the guest doors are historically authentic and can be locked from the inside. We live on the premises and are always present with the dancers so there is no risk to the bedrooms.
We frequently mail items left behind to their owners even though at times the cost of postage outweighs the value of the item. Our son was home from college and unwittingly sampled the cookies when they'd been brought out to a common area while the room was being cleaned. We were unaware of their special significance and paid for their shipping when it was discovered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Based on the reviews, we expected a charming, historic, Williamsburg home. What we got was a dated, not completely historic, and awkward experience. We really wanted to like this B&B but had trouble on many fronts. The location was billed as within walking distance, but was really not near enough to Williamsburg to be considered easily walkable. Although the hosts were pleasant, we had to endure a long orientation tour of our host's interests and achievements. While interesting, it was not our primary reason for staying in Williamsburg. Our room was disappointing, with some historical aspects but other (most notably the bathroom and vcr) were well used and dated. Did I mention the old electric blankets? Even the towels had seen far better days. Breakfast was nice, but high in carbs and low on protein. A small bowl of fruit, one waffle and 2 pieces of bacon were not up to the standard we have come to expect at our favorite B&B's. I would not recommend this place as a romantic getaway for couples, as there is an additional permanent twin bed in both rooms. For the money, I would stay inside Colonial Williamsburg next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport_House, Owner at Newport House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Newport House is 600 yards from the historic area; we had assumed that was within walking distance.
Sorry the electric blankets offended you...they were brand new. Many of our guests are pleasantly surprised to find electric blankets plus historic Hudson Bay blankets on the beds during the winter season as they help take the chill away after spending a lot of time outdoors in Colonial Williamsburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We arrived in Williamsburg without a place to stay. Spontaneous family trip from Louisville Kentucky. I was online most of the trip to find that "perfect" place for our family stay in Williamsburg. Couldn't find a hotel that either had availablity or measured up to the experience that I wanted to have. Started calling B&B's. I was referred to Newport House and made the call. Luckily, John and Kathy had an available room for 3 nights, which was exactly what I needed. We arrived and immediatly felt welcome. This was our first family experience at a B&B. Was a little nervous with a 5 and 6 year old little boys and the beautiful antiques and furnishings but John and Kathy are some comforting, welcoming and opened their home to my family. The B&B was very clean, spacious and breakfast daily was delicious. I felt like royalty and spoiled..John is a fountain of information and gave up great tips and information that was so useful in our vacation. We were so close to Colonial Williamsburg that we walked and enjoyed the neighborbood...So beautiful!! oh, and Josephine Bunnyparts, their pet rabbit is sooo sweet. The boys loved her. Definitly check out Kathy's beehive, gardens and beautiful orchids! And take the time to watch the Scottish dance lessons on Thursday nights. Fabulous! Thank you John and Cathy for such a wonderful experience. We will probably become strictly B&B travelers now...The personal touch was well worth the extra money!! ****Bennett's seafood restaurant is delicious!***

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ada R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The owners of this B&B really made this experience memorable. John was a walking history book, full of interesting stories that enhanced our trip. He and his wife were gracious to our young children, who particularly loved Miss Josephine Bunnyparts, their pet rabbit. The breakfast was beautifully presented, and the four-poster beds in the room were cool. Everything about the place was historically accurate, which makes any Williamsburg vacation memorable.

Room Tip: Only two rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJSheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

My first B&B experience. The Millars are genuinely wonderful people and most pleasant host/hostess. Met their son, Ian, also - fine young man, as well as Josephine Bunnyparts.
I highly recommend this B&B - not only for the convenience of being so close to the historic district - but mostly for the wonderful people who run it. I look forward to going back and enjoying the Millars, again.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gwpomroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast by accident. I had mistakenly failed to book our nights correctly on our recent trip to Washington DC. So, while on the road, on our way to DC, I disovered the error and realized we had no place to stay on saturday night. We could have gone all the way to DC and stayed a night somewhere. Instead I decided to take the family to Williamsburg to start our vacation. What a stroke of luck! I came upon this lovely B and B and booked it for arrival on saturday. When we arrived I was overwhelmed by the pure colonial feelof the home and gardens. We wandered through the gardens trying to identify the herbs and flowers and marveling at how beautiful the grounds were. Someone has a true love of gardening in this home! We were escorted in, offered coffee, tea and water and help with our bags. The owners are wonderful hosts. The rooms are charming and very comfortable. I was nervous bringing two children into such a beautiful home. Our kids, 14 and 10, were made to feel very much at home and the owners took time to show our kids the musical instruments on the second floor. The house is a 5 minute walk from the shopping square and the main road of colonial Williamsburg. Breakfast in the morning was a real treat. I wanted to sleep in, but my wife knocked at me until I joined her downstairs. I am glad she did. Fresh squeezed juice, fruit, pancakes and a wonderful syrup of the times made with nutmeg. Fresh honey from the owners bee hives too! We had only one day, but we will definately be back! We were sad to leave. We could have stayed a week!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 21 in Williamsburg
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newport House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newport House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Newport House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 710 S Henry St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4113
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Of the twenty-four Williamsburg Bed & Breakfasts, Newport House is the only one with 18th Century History as it's central theme. Newport House Bed and Breakfast is where your real colonial adventure begins. Your hosts are not merely fine Innkeepers, but authors and historic sailing ship designers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing