We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! We Loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We made an impromptu visit to Williiamsburg and were calling around looking for a place to stay. Dick told us to come right over. We were just minutes away and that was not a problem. Both Dick and Sue were both so accommodating. They brought us up ice cold drinks immediately upon our arrival and also told us of all the local fare. They also had menus in the room of all the local restaurants and gave us recommendations (and a discount card). The room was very nice and clean and the rest of the house was very inviting. It was filled with local historical items and lots of things to look at. The B&B was in a very convenient location and was within walking distance of most of the historical attractions. Dick and Sue was VERY welcoming, to say the least. The highlight of the entire stay, however, was breakfast. We enjoyed "Patrick Henry's Favorite" in our room, by candlelight. We want to go back to Williamsburg, just to stay at Governor's Trace. Thank you Dick and Sue for everything!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckymommy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Dick & Sue are wonderful hosts. They treat you like family throughout your entire stay with them. They are welcoming and accommodating of your needs. The private breakfast in your room is quite delicious and romantic. The rooms are large, comfortable, and evoke a Williamsburg atmosphere. This is a great B&B within one block of the historic area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jj9395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was my first B&B experience in the United State and it set a very high standard. My girlfriend and I stayed here for our 2 yr anniversary and we felt welcomed from the moment we stepped onto the porch. Dick and Sue were there to greet us and it was like coming home to a relative you haven't seen in a few years. They gave us all the information we needed on local restaurants and activities along with a little history. In terms of location, it really couldn't get much better what we were doing which was Busch Gardens one day and short walk to Colonial Williamsburg the next day. I would be remiss if I didn't mention the romantic and delicious breakfast. So while perhaps more expensive than staying at a hotel, it is a completely different experience.

Room Tip: The rooms with the connected porch are nice but not very useful when its still cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I feel remiss in taking so long to write this review. We visited Williamsburg in March and spent two days at Governor's Trace.
First, I gave this bed and breakfast a 'very good' rating mainly based on a few important things: The owners are very helpful and welcoming, the breakfasts were good, the location ( a short walk to Colonial Williamsburg) was perfect and the room ( great bed) was spacious and comfortable.
This bed and breakfast is a home stay bed and breakfast, the owners are in the house. So many bed and breakfast inns have become luxurious and expensive, with owners or innkeepers somewhere on the property. In Governor's Trace you feel that you are in someone's home. Certainly when the concept of bed and breakfasts was first introduced in this country that's what all of them were like.
This one is pleasant, well kept, has nice grounds and very personable owners.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mainehatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovTrace, Owner at Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for your thoughts and gracious comments. Your review reminded us of a guest who once said to us: “This is just like staying at Grandma’s house.” At first, we were somewhat insulted but the more we thought about it, we realized that Grandma’s house was a place that was always inviting, cozy, warm, and comfortable, and we always looked forward to returning there. And after talking later with this guest, we discovered that this is exactly what they meant. As for occupancy by the owners, our Williamsburg City ordnance requires that B&B’s be owner occupied. Our experience from staying at other B&B's has been that those B&B's that are owner occupied provide the guests with immediate access to someone who can take care of their needs. We once heard that a good definition of B&B innkeepers is “people taking care of people.” We try!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

From Dick welcoming you at the front door to the day we checked out, Dick and Sue were wonderful hosts. This B&B is literally right next to the historic district which makes it very easy to access by foot. The room was very comfortable. The candlelight breakfast was delicious. The recommendations of restaurants and sights to see was greatly appreciated. Thank you both and we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheClan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at Governor's Trace for our one year anniversary and we had such a wonderful time. When people ask how our stay was, my response has been that "It was a dream come true". It was truly a home away from home. We had homemade breakfasts served to us every morning, it was quiet, the place was clean, and the owners Dick and Sue were absolutely wonderful. They even wrote a cute note on a sign in the hallway welcoming us. Not only was the place perfect, but the location was perfect as well. You are literally less than 5 minutes walking distance away from downtown Williamsburg. What's so great is that you can walk to any of the Williamsburg Tavern. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a perfect romantic home away from home.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The best asset of Governor's Trace is the location, a quick walk over a bridge to the foot of the Governor's Palace. The Inn itself was a bit disappointing. Having stayed at many bed and breakfasts and after reading all the wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor, I expected a more refined and welcoming ambiance. The Inn's decor and lay out was cluttered, and as a result, not relaxing. Breakfast in the room is a nice idea, and the breakfast was very good, but the atmosphere was confining. A coffee lover, I was disappointed that early morning coffee (with a morning paper in the common room) was not available as a standard feature. I was up early and off to the local McDonald's to feed my habit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drkastout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
645 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 22 in Williamsburg
645 reviews
1.4 mi away
Magnolia Manor
Magnolia Manor
#12 of 22 in Williamsburg
84 reviews
1.8 mi away
Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast

Address: 303 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: £120 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cross this threshold and have a uniquely romantic, private, and memory making experience at Governor's Trace bed and breakfast. Located just a minute walk from George Washington's favorite tavern in Colonial Williamsburg, Governor's Trace B&B is the closest Williamsburg bed and breakfast to the Historic Area...just a 30 second walk and "you have arrived." Governor's Trace is also the oldest continuously operating bed and breakfast in Williamsburg, VA. Sue & Dick Lake, innkeepers with more than 30 years experience in operating this bed and breakfast in Williamsburg, have created an environment that allows you to make the most of being alone---together. Governor's Trace "...vies for the most romantic (bed and breakfast in Williamsburg)"...WASHINGTON POST ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing