We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
New Albany, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a very quiet, relaxing weekend at the Governor's Trace B&B. Our hosts, Sue and Dick, were pleasant and very accomodating. The Spotswood Room was clean and comfortable, and we especially enjoyed the delicious breakfast served in our room each morning. The location is excellent -- an easy walk to Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    8
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I would highly recommend Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast to anyone visiting colonial Williamsburg, VA. The B & B is conveniently located close to the historic sites and is also not very far from the Williamsburg Winery.The owners, Sue and Dick were very warm and welcoming and we would like to thank them for making our stay extra special, enjoyable, and informative. We stayed in the Baron De Botetourt room which was very comfortable and romantic, and the decor of the room was original, artistic, and creative. It felt great to be pampered for a weekend, being served with delicious breakfast in our room. My surprise birthday weekend with my husband will always be truly memorable. We are delighted to have met two wonderful and generous personalities - Sue and Dick, and we look forward to visiting Governor's Trace again sometime in the future! ~Highly Satisfied Travelers from MD.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bridetobe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic Island
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Governor's Trace is a beautiful B&B/home located ideally adjacent to the historic walk. We stayed in the Francis Nicholson Room, which is on the first floor and has a delightful private screened-in porch attached, where we enjoyed our amazing/delicious candlelight breakfasts and many relaxing hours. Sue & Dick are the perfect Inn Keepers/Hosts, as they have all bases covered, which allow for a pleasurable stay. Sue & Dick provided us with several outstanding recommendations, which lead us to Christiana's Tavern, where we enjoyed a magnificent dinner…still thinking about their corn bread! If you are thinking of traveling to Williamsburg, VA, then Governor's Trace B&B is the place to stay! We cannot wait to re-visit. A sincere ‘thank-you’ to Sue & Dick for their genuine hospitality and for a lovely stay. Happy 50th Anniversary to you both this December...it will be here before you know it! Thanks again ~ Jen & Dave

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Thank you to Dick & Sue for making our first b&b experience so enjoyable! Your home is beautiful, your hospitality was amazing, and the location is perfect - just 1/2 block to the colonial section and nearest Christiana Campbell's Tavern on the east end. We loved every minute of it - especially the breakfasts in our room each morning - delicious!!! Your tips on must see places to visit, best-of-the-best of Williamsburg, and recommended restaurants were right on target. We learned so much about our history we hadn't experienced before - wish our current leaders would take a moment to refresh their memories of the founding principles. Bottom-line: you can't go wrong staying at the Governor's Trace – we'd highly recommend it! Just please don't book all the available time...we'd like to return!
– Happy Travelers from PA

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GovTrace, Owner at Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our B&B, and we’re delighted that we could make your first B&B experience a very memorable one. We’re also glad that we could play a part in making your entire visit to our living history museum, Colonial Williamsburg, one to remember fondly. We try very hard to make all of our guests feel comfortable staying with us and to help them make the best use of their time here. Please come back and stay with us to celebrate another wedding anniversary or any other occasion. We’ll even try harder to make your next visit as memorable as your first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Had a wonderful time, the room was very nice, and the hosts, Dick and Sue were responsive to all our requests. We enjoyed the privacy of the room and especially not having to get dressed and going downstairs to enjoy breakfast. Hard to ask for more.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ejf9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife and I wanted to get away for a short weekend to celebrate a special event. We picked this location out after searching B&B's in the Williamsburg area. Not really knowing what exactly to expect here, we were VERY pleasantly surprised with the clean and quaint accommodations, location to the historic district, and the wonderful hospitality shown by Dick and Sue in their home.
At check in time, we were greeted at the front door and given a quick tour of the house and detailed explanations of what to expect during our stay and some great suggestions on places to see and eat.
The breakfast in the room was absolutely "over-the-top" special each morning and was one of the key highlights of our visit. Dick and Sue were always accessible and very helpful with anything we needed.
This will definitely be a place that we revisit when back in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary57K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We made an impromptu visit to Williiamsburg and were calling around looking for a place to stay. Dick told us to come right over. We were just minutes away and that was not a problem. Both Dick and Sue were both so accommodating. They brought us up ice cold drinks immediately upon our arrival and also told us of all the local fare. They also had menus in the room of all the local restaurants and gave us recommendations (and a discount card). The room was very nice and clean and the rest of the house was very inviting. It was filled with local historical items and lots of things to look at. The B&B was in a very convenient location and was within walking distance of most of the historical attractions. Dick and Sue was VERY welcoming, to say the least. The highlight of the entire stay, however, was breakfast. We enjoyed "Patrick Henry's Favorite" in our room, by candlelight. We want to go back to Williamsburg, just to stay at Governor's Trace. Thank you Dick and Sue for everything!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckymommy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
584 reviews
0.9 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.9 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 21 in Williamsburg
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast

Property: Governor's Trace Bed and Breakfast
Address: 303 Capitol Landing Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cross this threshold and have a uniquely romantic, private, and memory making experience at Governor's Trace bed and breakfast. Located just a minute walk from George Washington's favorite tavern in Colonial Williamsburg, Governor's Trace B&B is the closest Williamsburg bed and breakfast to the Historic Area...just a 30 second walk and "you have arrived." Governor's Trace is also the oldest continuously operating bed and breakfast in Williamsburg, VA. Sue & Dick Lake, innkeepers with more than 30 years experience in operating this bed and breakfast in Williamsburg, have created an environment that allows you to make the most of being alone---together. Governor's Trace "...vies for the most romantic (bed and breakfast in Williamsburg)"...WASHINGTON POST ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing