We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen Better!!”
Review of Magnolia Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnolia Manor
Ranked #13 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 December 2007

I've stayed in dozens of B & B's over the years, but this was my least enjoyable, considering the expectations. The price is comparable to other truly first class B & B's I've experienced in Virginia, but it has several problems. The young owners run it like a business, but they need to "kick it up a notch." No cups in the bathrooms, chilly greeting (and a request for the credit card within the first ten seconds), peeling paint everywhere just made it seem sad and tired. Most innkeepers are really friendly, and Jennifer, although pleasant, keeps to herself and we never saw Scott in the three days we were there. I just don't know why they went into the hospitality business, if they are not willing to go the extra mile. This is a fine place for ten years ago, but B & B's are different now. I wouldn't return, and I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mdtkacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2007

Great bed & breakfast in the heart of Williamsburg, Va. Our room, a two room suite, was comfortable, spacious and had all the amenities. The hosts, Scott and Jennifer, were attentive and took the time to give recommendations for restaurants, attractions, etc. The breakfasts were excellent. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANSAGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We just returned from a two day stay at this B&B. We were looking forward to staying here - it was our first visit. It was recommended by my sister and her husband who had stayed here on a previous occasion. At first glance, it appeared to be quite nice. However, things went downhill from there. The bathroom needed a good cleaning. There was quite a bit of hair in the shower drain, the bathmat was dirty, and there was a bit of feces clinging to the inside of the toilet. We were there for two nights; we were not provided with cleans towels each day. The entire place needs a good cleaning, and the outside could stand some yardwork done.

The breakfast that was included was quite good. However, that it is not enough to warrant a return visit.


Very disappointed from Wilmington, Delaware

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

My family (husband and 2 college-aged children) were delighted with Magnolia Manor for our 2 night stay. This very clean B&B has 4 bedrooms - 2 on the 2nd floor and 2 on the 3rd. We reserved the 2 rooms which comprise the 3rd floor of this B&B. Our room was a large bedroom with a king size bed , chairs, built-in TV, built in dressers, closet and a more than adequately large bathroom with a 2 person shower stall...complete with dual body-jets. The 2nd bedroom was a bit larger than ours with the bathroom just outside the door in the hall. As we had the entire floor it was just like being in one's own house. The house both outside and inside is charming.....large dining room, large main living room - decorated in great style with appropriate oak accents etc. Our stay coincided with an unusually hot and humid week...the air-conditioning was TERRIFIC (and well needed!) in all of the rooms.The owners are charming, informative and quite eager to please. Breakfasts were freshly made by the hosts....an egg dish, potatoes, fruit and a sweet. There were also cereals/oatmeals to choose. Cookies, sweets, cakes and drinks and coffee and tea were available throughout the day. Magnolia Manor is located on the tip of the Williams and Mary Campus....which provided great walking/jogging trails for our morning jogs.Plus, it is a 10 minute walk to Market Square where the majority of the restaurants are located. We would definitely stay at Magnolia Manor again...it is a great example of how wonderful B&B's can be!
(Oh, one last thought......eat dinner at Fat Canary....wonderful!)

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbfm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2007

We stayed at the Magnolia Manor b&b in June 2007 and had a great experience. The house is quaint and cozy, and the Honeymoon Suite was just perfect for me and my wife. Breakfast was great and the innkeepers take care of your every need! I highly recommend Magnolia Manor!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregpbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2007

We stay at the Magnolia Manor for 4 nights in May and loved everything about the place, the room, the breakfast, the innkeepers, everything! We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, with a huge canopy bed, Jacuzzi, and two-person shower. The breakfast every morning was amazing and the other guests staying at the B&B were so nice. The innkeepers, Scott & Jennifer, were knowledgeable about the area and incredible friendly. They offered muffins throughout the day along this games and movies, that we took advantage of every night! I would recommend Magnolia Manor to anyone going to the Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aeclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2007

My husband & I stayed here for one night before attending a wedding in Norfolk. Really beautiful B&B. Before touring, we noticed how wonderful the place smelled -- a sort of spicy, fall scent. We stayed in the Honeymoon Retreat. Very high, king bed with canopy. Huge, two-person tub. Walk-in shower for two. Fridge. All of the cushy amenities but with an affordable price. We paid $150 with taxes & fees. The innkeepers Scott & Jennifer are available if you need them, but give you the privacy that can be uncommon with B&Bs. Breakfast was simple but yummy -- an egg casserole, bacon, home fries, sweet breads, cereals, juice, and coffee. You're free to eat in your own time during the morning. Cookies and muffins are available downstairs, along with drinks. We loved our stay & enjoyed talking with a few other guests at breakfast. I'd recommend Magnolia Manor to anyone who likes the anonymity of a hotel, but wants to experience a cozy, intimate B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KB30319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 21 in Williamsburg
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Manor

Address: 700 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: £76 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Magnolia Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing