We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magnolia Manor
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$210
US$201
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Powhatan Resort(Williamsburg)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greensprings Vacation Resort(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$509
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmill Resort(Williamsburg)
US$245
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Williamsburg)
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
53
13
10
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
13
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbed and breakfastcolonial williamsburgcommon areas arestayed two nightslocation was perfectwilliam and marywalking distancethoroughly enjoyed our staycomfortable roomswould definitely stay here againa great place to stayhoneymoonhostscampusprivacyjacuzzi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2012

A wonderful place for calmness, quietness, comfortable surroundings, and excellent breakfasts. Scott and Jennifer, the inn keepers, are very personable, but won't interfere with your privacy. They and their 3 children (who we never saw or heard) live in one part of the manor and the guests stay in the other part of the manor. You will only see Scott and Jennifer when you check in and at breakfast, but they are always accessable, if you need them.

For our anniversary, Scott recommended Opus 9 for dinner and made the reservations for us. When we arrived at the restaurant, we were greeted by our first names and a Happy Anniversary card and complimentary bottle of champagne were on our table. We had the broiled crabcakes and Chocolate Concerto Plus for dessert. Everything was magnificent - food, service, music, personnel...

A most enjoyable weekend and we plan to return to Magnolia Manor and Opus 9.

Room Tip: Gardenia Suite was very nice.
Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Chestonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

If you're looking for a good, solid, lovely B&B that meets all your needs with owners happy to work hard to make you happy, this is it. If you want a 5 star hotel, there is one in Williamsburg but you'll pay 3X the price for it at least. This B&B is good value. It's lovely and the rooms are big. It was the perfect place for my solo retreat but has also been a good place for a romantic getaway with my husband. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Magnolia room is 2 rooms (suite) with a fireplace and hot tub.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights over New Years weekend and had a thoroughly lovely experience. Our room -- The Honeymoon Retreat -- was cozy and comfortable. We did run the AC at night only because it was freakishly warm weather for winter (72 degrees on New Years Day!), but it worked well and wasn't overtly loud.

The beautiful four poster, king canopy bed was incredibly comfortable and we both agreed it was the best sleep we've gotten at a B&B. The deep, relaxing whirlpool tub was a favorite amenity as was the extremely large and multi-headed shower. The toilet flushed a little slowly, but was nothing that was going to affect our good time. Breakfast was delicious and on time each morning with tea, coffee, cake and/or cookies available throughout the day in the parlor.

Our hosts were present upon arrival and at breakfast, but were not smothering or omnipresent, which we enjoyed. We knew where to find them if we needed them, but we appreciated feeling as if we could come and go without being constantly monitored. We could easily walk to Colonial Williamsburg and even after check-out, our hosts allowed us to stay parked in their parking area whilst we toured it before hitting the road for home.

For the comfort, quality and price, you can't do much better in a popular place like Williamsburg!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3DayWknd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My wife and I stayed just one night but thoroughly enjoyed the amenities in the Honeymoon Retreat of Magnolia Manor. Great location. Next to the college of William and Mary and within walking distance of Colonial Williamsburg. Scott and Jennifer are great hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MacnQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was our first Bed & Breakfast experience. We arrived after dark & were shocked to find the owner/host was not even there. Fortunately another guest was there & welcomed us. He said the owner was not there when they arrived the night before and fortunately another guest let them in. It was a muggy evening & there was no AC in the living room or dining area the entire time we were there. We finally met the owner the next morning & his primary interest was collecting the balance due for our 4-day stay. We never saw him again.

When we entered our suite upon arrival, two windows were open. I suppose he was attempting to air the room due to the moldy & stale odor. We turned on the two LOUD window AC units. Both units had indicators stating the filters needed to be changed. I had a headache the entire time I was in the suite. I think this may have been due to the moldy and dirty filters in the AC units.

The bathroom was in very bad shape. There were all different kind of light bulbs & a couple of them had a blue glow to them. Cobwebs were inside recessed light fixtures and small bugs were in the bath tub. Wash cloths had a sour odor & the whirlpool tub was very old!

Refreshments consisted of water, tea bags & a few gingersnap cookies right out of a box! They were strategically placed on a glass plate with a dome over them. We never found any soft drinks or iced tea. Breakfast the first morning consisted of a piece of pound cake with some thawed berries poured over the top. Two rubbery looking slices of sausage and a couple of poached eggs were in warming dishes. The second morning there was NOTHING in the dining room for breakfast except boxed cereal. The owner was nowhere to be found. We packed our car and left. We only stayed 2 nights!

The home has potential but at present time it is in dire need of extensive maintenance inside & out! It needs a thorough cleaning inside too. The host would benefit from a lesson in courtesy, hospitality and professionalism. We paid over $600 for 4 nights and drove over 10 hours to get there. What a disappointment!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews