We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zero attention to details”
Review of Magnolia Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnolia Manor
Ranked #12 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Have stayed at many B&B's and never stayed at one quite like this. The house was in terrible disrepair, we were given one tiny bar of soap and after 3 days we had to ask for another bar! The toilet paper was one step above sand paper. Our bed was not made up even one day during our stay. Not even a small pad and pen in our suite. One small waste can in the suite (located in the bathroom) - never emptied throughout our 4 day stay. We ordered the "romance" package since it was our anniversary - it had chocolate bars from Marshall's (price label still on), the luxury bath items were all different scents - jasmine ginger body lotion, magnolia bubble bath and plum body mist. Breakfast was self serve and very limited & plain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I decided to book the Magnolia B & B for 4 nights after reading the reviews. We have stayed in many B & B in different parts of the USA and have always been delighted with the properties, cleanliness and friendliness of the owners. Unfortunately this was a different experience for us. It was a beautiful property but far from well maintained . Cleanliness of the place was not good and one night the room was not cleaned or even the bed made. Scott was a very pleasant and helpful person but was always in a rush. His wife did not appear to be involved in the management of the B & B and was positively unfriendly when we arrived. We felt that Scott was trying to do his best . Food was not good quality and we had to serve ourselves which we were not used to. Honeymoon Retreat room very hot as couldn't have air con on at night because it was too noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank yorkshirerose78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This was a splurge for us and we're glad we did it! Magnolia Manor hosts Scott and Jennifer have gone to great lengths to be sure guests feel comfortable and at home. Their home is an elegant colonial with all the extras. We booked three suites for family to stay together for William & Mary graduation events and everyone was delighted. Living and dining areas were well designed and accented with beautiful oak pieces throughout the home. Location is key and Magnolia Manor is close to campus, train station, shopping and of course Colonial Williamsburg is within walking distance too. Breakfast was different each of the three mornings, always including some fruit, pastry, an egg dish and bacon or sausage. Jennifer was very gracious and kind when she greeted us after our long drive from Boston. Accommodations were way above expectations! The beds were sooo comfortable, and Scott was kind enough to share mattress information with us so we can upgrade our home! Thanks Jennifer and Scott!

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I just completed a 2 week trip , We stayed at some lovely bed and breakfast homes. Unfortunately this was not one of them.. The wife was very rude to me on the phone and then we never met her.. The husband was rushed and always seemed to be hurrying us. The rooms were very nice and clean. The breakfast the morning we had it was not very good. If we had to do it again we would not stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ladyad46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This was our first B&B, and it did not disappoint! The suite was much more spacious and accommodating than the online pictures indicated, the homemade breakfast each morning was stellar, and the hosts were engaging and very pleasant.

The bed was extremely comfortable, and our bathroom was well lit and very clean. Towels were plush, and while coffee was only served in the mornings, tea and water was available at all times (along with little pastry snacks). We even enjoyed a bottle of wine on the deck during one of the afternoons of our stay.

The location couldn't have been any better.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We decided to go to Colonial Williamsburg for a romantic long weekend but there were so many accommodation choices. We finally picked the Gardenia Suite at Magnolia Mannor. It turned out to be a great choice. It was furnished beautifully and the mattress was so comfortable they should receive a commission from the bedding store because I plan to replace my own mattress. The location was good as it is close to everything. We walked the few blocks to Colonial Williamsburg stopping at the College Deli for lunch. Scott and Jennifer (owners) were very helpful. Breakfast was yummy. We hope to make another trip soon and look forward to staying again at Magnolia Manor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KarenSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My teenage daughter and I stayed for just one night. Way too short a time because everything about the Inn was perfect! Scott graciously allowed us to check in early and was very willing to let us check out late if we needed to. Our room was so cozy and the bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept on. We loved the gas fireplace in our sitting room and watched two movies from the Inn's DVD collection. With only a day's notice, Scott accommodated my daughter's gluten-free diet with a fabulous breakfast that I also enjoyed. He was a delightful host, and we will be back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MlizRiechers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 22 in Williamsburg
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Williamsburg Manor Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Williamsburg Sampler Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Manor

Address: 700 Richmond Road, Williamsburg, VA 23185
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: £76 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnolia Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Magnolia Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing