We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not up to standards...”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Booked a room here after a long day of enjoying Busch Gardens, Williamsburg. Check in was smooth....staff was friendly...however upon entering the room we first noticed empty walls where pictures once hung...ok...I can live without pictures...but upon entering the bathroom...my wife declared " there is hair everywhere". Sure enough...there was obvious hair in both sinks...on the side of the bathtub...on the toilet...and even on the back of the bathroom door. YUK! Also discovered mildew on and around the soap holder. Perhaps housekeeping needs a pair of glasses...cause these were hard to miss. I did not even bother taking a shower...got some sleep and we drove the 3 hours home without using anything more than the necessary toilet. Even the drink machine on our floor was uncooperative...went down the hall with $3.00 in quarters in order to get a couple sodas...and after about 5 minutes of fighting with the machine...I only got 50cents in that it would accept and gave up on buying sodas. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else unless you do not have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dedmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to the normally high standards we strive to maintain. I apologize for this & would welcome the opportunity to discuss it further with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    166
    108
    68
    31
See reviews for
360
97
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have to agree on all points with the last reviewer. The staff were lovely and helpful, good moods and smiles. The breakfast was stunningly popular and tasty. They kept things filled and available and weren't upset when someone would mention to them that the station was low on anything. They simply said thanks and brought out more immediately.
The problems were minimal in my estimation, but the room was musty and damp. It wasn't enough to turn me off, and we were pleased with our accommodations. But it would be great if they could address the problem. The hallways smelled clean and fresh, which made hitting the room must even more surprising. If they could get that under control, I'd be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raleightrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your visit. We also apologize & thank you for letting us know about the dampness/smell that you experienced. We are working to make impprovements to correct that issue. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This hotel was ok but not as nice as we expected for the price. The positive was that it was very close to Busch Gardens, which is what we wanted. The breakfast experience was horrible. It was packed. They were running out of everything. There was a 15 minute wait to make a waffle, and one poor lady trying to keep everything full, and not doing a very good job. The hotel was not horrible, but didn't smell good and was not as clean as we would have liked. It was a comfortable bed and ok for one night, but we would not stay there again. Pay a little more and stay at a better place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevators and continental breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristaDanville_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, 31 August 2012
We want to express our apologies for the concerns & inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention and assure you that we are working to make improvements to avoid such concerns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel was close to water country which is where we were going.. just a short taxi ride. The good points: are the pool which was very clean and open 10-10.. the breakfast was great! it had muffins, potatoes, eggs, sausage, toast, waffles, donuts, fresh fruit.. the front staff is wonderful!!! The bad points were that I agree with a previous guest that the room was musty smelling.. It was also damp.. things we had in there felt damp. the stay was ok.. but I might spend a few more dollars next time and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterparks4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time let us know about your visit. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay but sorry that things weren't as good as they could have been. We apologize for the dampness & smell that you experienced. We are working on correcting the issue and hope you will give us another opportunity to extend our hospitality if your travels ever bring you back to the Williamsburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princetown, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

10 years ago we stayed at this hotel for a week and it was great. This time the hotel was okay, but the room smelled musty, my family stated that the sheets were wet/clamy. The bathroom was outdated, but clean. I was very surprised that the rooms didn't have small refrigerators. The continential breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly. As stated in previous people experiences, the elevator was slow, but we didn't mind using the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcamp973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that this visit wasn't as good as your past stay with us and thank you for letting us know where improvements are needed. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast & that staff members were friendly. We hope you will give us another opportunity to extend our hospitality the next time you are in the Williamsburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We booked two rooms at the Country Inn and Suites for 5 nights this past week. Our rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet. Location-wise, you couldn't ask for a better place. We had flex passes for the week so that we could visit all of the main attractions. The Country Inn was within 15 minutes of most of the local attractions, and about 5 to the "big 3" - Busch Gardens, Water Country, and Colonial Williamsburg.

The breakfast was really pretty good; much more than I expected for a hotel "continental breakfast". Beyond the typical bagels, toast, yogurt, and cereal, they had Belgian Waffles, a pretty good selection of danishes and donuts (Krispy Kreme...yum!) and 2 buffet style chafing dishes, which varied from day-to-day. We had, throughout the week, eggs (though "microwave-style"...the type you'd expect on a breakfast sandwich), sausage patties, bacon, french-toast, and breakfast potatoes. The big downside is that it gets CROWDED for breakfast...go early.

The pool was nice. We really only had one day where it was a little too crowded for our liking, but of course our kids didn't care. It's a pretty small hotel, so I don't expect that it gets real crowded often (there was a baseball group staying while we were there). Also, there is a toddle pool in the area as well (8-10 inches deep) which is nice for the smaller children.

Some nice extras: an on-site "lending library" with books to borrow; a "welcome bag" with info about the area, a bottle of water and a snack; lots of info around the property about local dining, attractions, etc; Fresh baked cookies at the welcome desk...on this point, I must note that I was offered cookies for everyone in my family (9 cookies in total), without the blinking of an eye. I was impressed with the hospitality of the staff, from the front desk, to the kitchen staff, and the cleaning staff...all were quite nice and thorough.

The only downside that I could really think of regarding the site is the surrounding area. There are some nice restaurants and the attractions are close, but finding a proper grocery store or department store took us a while...there aren't any real close. But there is a 7-Eleven! So, if you need anything, stop before you get to the property, or else you'll have to drive across town to pickup goods.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CISWilliamsburg, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, 20 August 2012
THANK YOU for the great review. I love the details you included and hope others will find them helpful when trying to pick a hotel in Williamsburg. We are so glad your family enjoyed tehir stay and that you had the chance to enjoy ALL that Williamsburg has to offer. We hope you all will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed August 3-5. We booked two double rooms. Got to hotel at 3:45pm after long day at parks. Waited in line over 15 min overheard clerk telling another guest "room not ready". I figured maybe they just walked in with no reservation. When I finally got to clerk stated "well one of your rooms is ready, the other is still being worked on". When asked how long stated "half an hour". After unpacking cars for both families went back to front desk to check progress of room manager at desk offered no apology stated " It will be another hour". At this point if we had not already been charged a day for hotel on credit card would have left. When asked if we could somehow be compensated for lost time manager stated "no there is nothing we can do we are fully booked and we are working as fast as we can". Second room not ready until 5:00pm. Rooms outdated. Bathrooms have no fan so by the time fourth person showers ceiling and floor soaked. AC units noisy and did not keep room cool. Heard train second night but did not wake others in room. Breakfast good variety but crowded. Hotel has poor management and is understaffed. Check out time doesnt change so we paid full price for a room but lost 2 hours due to poor management. As another reviewer said you get what you pay for but at $96.00 per night I expect more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens), responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We sincerely apologize for what you experienced during your recent stay at our property. We understand when you arrive to your destination you would like feel welcomed and to have your room ready. We also want our guests to feel like family when they stay with us. We would like to discuss this further. Please feel free to contact us at CCare@carlsonrezidor.com. ~Dana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
1.7 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#53 of 74 in Williamsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Williamsburg
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Address: 7135 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4768
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens) 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly & attentive staff invites you to "Be Our Guest" at the Country Inn & Suites – Williamsburg East. Let us delight you with outstanding service in a warm country setting. For your comfort & enjoyment we are pleased to offer a smoke-free family friendly facility with a seasonal outdoor pool, picnic area, video game room, fitness room, restaurant, laundry facilities, wireless internet access, library, complimentary breakfast & fresh baked cookies. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure our central location, just 2 miles from Busch Gardens, 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and close to shopping, dining & golf make us the perfect location for all that Williamsburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg (Busch Gardens Area) Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites Williamsburg (Busch Gardens Area)
Country Inn Williamsburg East
Williamsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing