We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed for two nights at the Country Inn by Busch Gardens. No significant complaints. Front desk and other staff very friendly and accommodating, hotel close to Colonial Williamsburg as well as other attractions, free wifi, hot breakfast in the AM, quiet and clean rooms, nice pool. The only complaint was peeling paint in some areas of the room, probably due to the age of the building. However the updating of the other areas made up for any cosmetic issues

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lugan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    176
    111
    74
    33
See reviews for
383
103
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel is an outstanding value. My wife and I are always looking for "value" hotels that are above 'budget' and below 'premium'. We look for clean rooms, safe area, hot shower and at least a queen-sized bed that is OK comfortable. We also try to always find one with a breakfast as it saves us money and time. This hotel hit all the marks spot-on and came in at a reasonable price.
First, I'll mention the small issues which did not affect our overall stay:
- Outdoor pool was not cleaned (end of May, probably understandable)
- There was a little mildew and partial "repair" between the door and the tub - I think the shower curtain did a poor job keeping water in the tub due to the curved rod and shorter curtain
- Our AC went out one night (more on that below)

The check-in was easy and nice with the cookies (which we snacked on every night). The room was very clean and larger than I expected. It had a fridge and micro wave with a coffee maker. It had an ironing board with iron and a hair dryer. We never turned on the tv but the wifi worked very well. When I was near the outside wall, the wifi got a little weak and spotty but it was always great a little bit towards the center of the room. The bed was one of the most comfy we've had in a while - not a marshmallow and not Europe-stiff. The shower was unbelievable with the temperature and water pressure. I felt seriously clean and relaxed after each shower. I will say that our AC went out one of the 4 nights, which made for a difficult and stuffy and unrestful sleep. This was a Friday night. I told the front desk person on Saturday morning and asked if we could move rooms. The person said that maintenance would look at it and possibly just replace the AC units since they were all about due. I left an extra note for maintenance on the AC unit which described the problem so that nothing was lost in translation. When we got back after our day at Colonial Williamsburg, I could tell that the unit was not replaced. However, it was fixed and worked perfect for the rest of our stay. So that tells me that they have a very high quality maintenance staff that works on weekends! The breakfast was also unbelievable for the price of the room. Throughout the 4 days we were there, they had different hot breakfast items each day. We also made waffles each day and enjoyed the coffee and cereal selection. Believe me, this was an above average breakfast for a mid-range hotel. Finally, the location was outstanding as it was an easy 7 min drive into Colonial Williamsburg. It was like 15 min to Jamestown and 20 min to Yorktown. So you really cannot beat the central location. We had a blast on our historic triangle tour and this hotel made it extremely easy in every way!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is an okay hotel, with the biggest plus that it is conveniently located to Busch Gardens. The beds and pillows were not the most comfortable, but they sufficed for 2 nights. The breakfast was okay, though the hotel was crowded and there was limited seating. The kids did like the afternoon cookies and hot cocoa. Would probably stay here again, if the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrs_flats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stay in a queen suite for 7 days and enjoyed our stay very much. The room was spacious and comfortable. Another big plus - the staff. From check in to check out the entire staff is great. We received a call 5 minutes after we got to our room to be sure it was all right. The front desk clerks, the housekeepers and the breakfast room staff were cordial, polite, helpful and always had smiles for you. Read several comments on the train tracks. They are across the road and on top of the hill. Never bothered either of us. Loved the roomiest of the queen suite and would definitely request it again. The furnishings were a little dated but comfortable. Breakfast varied every day and the options were good. The location is ideal for sightseeing and the staff has prepared a listing with driving instructions to locate restaurants, markets, stores, tourist attractions and most importantly - a medical facility. Thank you for this information. Also, loved the open air parking under the structure.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are farthest away from the train tracks if you think that will be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynch Station, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We booked two suites and spent two nights here for a weekend at Busch Gardens, and we were very impressed with the size of the suite and the friendliness of the staff. The extra half bath was very convenient. That, along with the free wifi and breakfast, is why I booked this hotel. We frequently stay at Powhatan or Greensprings, which, obviously, offers more room and resort services, but I didn't want to "fight" with our grandsons over their Verizon mifi usage, which I have to do when free wifi is not offered and we have to bring our own. I also preferred to eat breakfast without the hassle of cooking or going out. The entrance to Busch Gardens is just a couple of miles directly down the highway from this hotel, which makes the trip quick and easy -- another bonus. Breakfast is waffles, sausage, french toast, yogurt, bagels, cereals, fruit, etc., similar to most other breakfast buffets. There were two flat-screen TVs in the unit, which helped immensely with our boys, a microwave, a small refrigerator, small sink, and dining table for three. The beds were clean and comfortable. There are a couple of negatives, however: The sofa bed squeaked horribly, and the sofa itself was an ugly dark brown. Also, the toilet in the half bath overflowed the first time we flushed it only a few minutes after our arrival. I will say, however, that the staff members were efficient and polite in repairing it. Also, it is not the quietest place in Williamsburg. The hotel is located across the highway from some train tracks, and there is noise from an occasional train. The heating-air conditioning units are noisy, and there is considerable traffic noise from the highway. None of these bothered us, but someone looking for a quiet oasis should probably stay elsewhere. The pool appeared small but clean. We didn't use it because the weather was a bit too chilly. I shop very carefully for hotels because our needs change with each trip in consideration of who is traveling with us, and I demand perfection in location and privacy in sleeping arrangements for everyone in the family. I think that this hotel, if you want more than an ordinary room but less than a full condo, is the best deal in Williamsbrg

Room Tip: Suites are worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leesvillelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We didn't expect much of this hotel when we saw it from the outside, however, it's very clean and comfortable inside. The bath room is brand new, and no noise from other rooms at all. There's good variety of food for breakfast, too. It's 2 miles walk to downtown Williamsburg from this hotel.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Riverwind91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the CI&S again on a long-weekend trip to Busch Gardens Easter weekend, our second stay at this hotel within the past 2-3 years. Our hotel room this time seemed to be a bit more "worn" and was not as nice as other rooms we've had with this chain. The beds were very firm which I didn't particularly care for and I am usually not picky about mattresses. No complaints on instant hot water though. All of the staff members that we encountered were very friendly and accommodating, especially the breakfast servers. The breakfast was always crowded and sort of chaotic, but we've come to expect that especially when the hotel is fairly well booked. The staff handled that about as best as anyone could. Breakfast is complimentary and the choices are more than adequate for everyone to find something they like (if you go early enough). My family always enjoys the make your own waffles. If you are a very light sleeper you may want to avoid this place since there is a freight train that passes by a couple of times. Overall, the hotel is a good value considering the complimentary breakfast and the rate that we got through the Club Carlson rewards program.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BBandFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Williamsburg Busch Gardens Area
1.7 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#53 of 73 in Williamsburg
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#37 of 73 in Williamsburg
338 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westgate Historic Williamsburg Resort
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Address: 7135 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4768
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens) 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly & attentive staff invites you to "Be Our Guest" at the Country Inn & Suites – Williamsburg East. Let us delight you with outstanding service in a warm country setting. For your comfort & enjoyment we are pleased to offer a smoke-free family friendly facility with a seasonal outdoor pool, picnic area, video game room, fitness room, restaurant, laundry facilities, wireless internet access, library, complimentary breakfast & fresh baked cookies. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure our central location, just 2 miles from Busch Gardens, 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and close to shopping, dining & golf make us the perfect location for all that Williamsburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg (Busch Gardens Area) Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites Williamsburg (Busch Gardens Area)
Country Inn Williamsburg East
Williamsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing