We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)
Ranked #39 of 73 Hotels in Williamsburg
Reviewed 9 March 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend. We booked the hotel room after reading many of the reviews on this site. I did not expect the hotel to be high end by any means. But I did expect it to be on par with some of the other Country Inns that I have stayed at. Overall, we thought that the hotel was in need of an update. The bathrooms were not as clean as we would have preferred. We are not travel snobs, but my husband travels frequently for work. He thought it was the worst hotel he had ever stayed in. I wouldn't go quite that far, but probably wouldn't book there again. In hindsight, I wish that we had spent just a little more to be at a better hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kutschie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2008

This hotel was only a couple of miles from Busch Gardens so very convenient for our stay.
The front desk staff were very professional and we were provided with the room of choice (top floor back from the road) despite making the reservation the day before.
The room was very clean. The only minor issue was it was a bit musty but that was more likely due to rain the day of arrival and day prior. Running the A/C improved that.
We found having the extra sink outside the bathroom to be very convenient. The baths had granite countertops and seemed to be recently updated.
The breakfast food was pretty good as they offered bacon, sausage, hard boiled eggs, waffles and fresh Krispy Kreme donuts in addition to the usualy cereal, bagels, fruit, yogurt, etc. As noted previously you have to microwave some items like the bacon and sausage.
The cookies in the lobby were a nice touch too.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank not-too-picky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2008

This hotel was located just south of Williamsburg in a quite area away from the hustle and bustle of the major tourist areas and traffic jams yet convenient to all the places that Williamsburg has to offer its visitors. The hotel was very quite and clean and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. The continental breakfast was above average with many options and was in a large dining area to accomodate a large number of guests. The room we stayed in had two queen beds which were very, very comfortable with nice, clean linens. The pool was clean and used the salt method rather than the chlorine method which is probably better for your skin. Just outside the pool area was a covered area with several tables and chairs so that you could be near the pool, yet sheltered from the sun and/or rain. Our room had an additional sink and mirror outside the bathroom which made it very convenient for more than one person to get ready at the same time in the morning. We've been to Williamsburg many, many times over the years and we would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dat1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Great for Busch Gardens and Water Country parks and close to Jamestown and Colonial Williamsburg. Pool was fine breakfast was good. Reception have vouchers for theme parks ($12 off). Would have liked a fridge in the room but had to pay for one. No problems here.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hockeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

This is the best budget hotel .The room is clean especially the carpet. Excellent service. Very good continental breakfast. The only bad about this hotel is close to the rail road,but it did not bother us because we lived in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank julyfourth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

Here are the reasons why I will not stay again....
LOCATION... It is near Busch Gardens, but it is directly across from the train tracks and the train does run every few hours starting around 6 am and going till 11 pm. Travel to Bypass Road or Richmond Road for a hotel.
PRICE... For the amount you pay per night you should have a mini fridge in the standard room. You have to pay $15.00 pn more if you need it for your family.
BREAKFAST... Ok, I know that you do not get much for your free breakfast, however, this is the first hotel I have stayed in who didn't even make the eggs, bacon and/or sausage.. you have to do it yourself.
ROOM.. It was ok. This place needs to renovate the property.
HOTEL... This hotel only has 1 elevator and you always have to wait. The 2 computers that they have for their guest have limitations. You can't even view a menu... I had trouble going into email. The front desk told me that they have added a new program to limit the access to their guest... GEEZ....

Bottom line... I don't think this hotel is worth the amount you are paying per night. There are so many others you can choose from in the Williamsburg area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lisarK4524ZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

We recently stayed at this hotel for five nights. We chose this hotel because it was close to Busch Gardens and offered four nights with one night free.

The good points were that they did have two computers with Internet service. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast selections were not too bad. The cost of the stay was very reasonable.
The bad points were as follows:
1. The pool did not have standard steps with a railing. This did not allow for easy access to the pool.
2. The pillows were very uncomfortable. Bring your own!
3. The elevator was interminably slow. We had to take the stairs the majority of the time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hogskinbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg Historic Area
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic Area
1.7 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#62 of 73 in Williamsburg
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#52 of 73 in Williamsburg
146 reviews
2.2 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens)

Address: 7135 Pocahontas Trl, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4768
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range: £39 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens) 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly & attentive staff invites you to "Be Our Guest" at the Country Inn & Suites – Williamsburg East. Let us delight you with outstanding service in a warm country setting. For your comfort & enjoyment we are pleased to offer a smoke-free family friendly facility with a seasonal outdoor pool, picnic area, video game room, fitness room, restaurant, laundry facilities, wireless internet access, library, complimentary breakfast & fresh baked cookies. Whether you are traveling on business or for pleasure our central location, just 2 miles from Busch Gardens, 1 mile from Colonial Williamsburg and close to shopping, dining & golf make us the perfect location for all that Williamsburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Williamsburg East (Busch Gardens) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Williamsburg (Busch Gardens Area) Hotel Williamsburg
Country Inn And Suites Williamsburg (Busch Gardens Area)
Country Inn Williamsburg East
Williamsburg Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing