We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentine's day dinner”
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Williamsburg Inn
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Valentine's day dinner”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Everything was exquisite. The band played a beautiful selection of classical music as well as some from musical. The service was on point and the food was to die for. I think the future husband and I have found a new tradition.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank funlovingtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    61
    24
    11
    12
See reviews for
173
244
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife spent a wonderful weekend at the Williamsburg Inn in February. We splurged and rented a suite and was not disappointed. From the time we entered the lobby and smelled the fireplace, we knew we were in for a memorable stay and we were not disappointed with our accommodations. The only drawback was the Regency dining room was not open but room service was prompt and well presented. We hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brookdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

My husband had just returned from overseas and we drove straight to Williamsburg! We had heard Christmas at Williamsburg was wonderful and it was! The Inn was beautiful! The staff went above and beyond to make our stay a dream experience! Our room was gorgeous ! I would recommend anyone who can stay in this lovely Inn and enjoy all the history Williamsburg offers! Kim A. Camden, SC

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I needed to take a short break from the stress of our work. We didn't have time to plan a complicated itinerary, and we aren't good at sitting around doing nothing. Our stay at the Williamsburg Inn couldn't have been better. Everyone at the Inn was warm and welcoming. The room was beautiful with a great fireplace that burned real wood. There were plenty of activities and sights to keep us engaged. We ate at the Inn as well as local restaurants - all very good. We'll be back soon, I hope.

Room Tip: Try a corner room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dncoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I spent three nights here over MLK weekend for our 15th wedding anniversary. The experience not only lived up to our expectations, but easily surpassed them.

The room: The room! Wow! It was beautiful, huge and luxuriously appointed with all the amenities a traveler could desire. Though faithful to the period, furnishings were in perfect condition and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was generous with a large soaking tub. The room was quiet and only occasionally did we hear voices passing in the hallway. Wifi is available free of charge. We had a nice view of the golf course.

Service: The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was wonderful without ever being obtrusive. Everyone we encountered was friendly and knowledgeable.

Dining: The Regency Room was closed during our stay, but we enjoyed both dinner and breakfast in the Terrace Room. The chef has devised a menu that includes both modern, fresh choices and Williamsburg Inn traditions.

Public areas: A fire was always burning in the lobby. Part of the charm of the place is the multitude of corridors to explore with the surprise of an unexpected nook or cranny tucked away in a far-flung wing. There is always a cozy place to curl up with a good book. The fitness center is nice with convenient hours.

You could enjoy your stay without ever leaving the Inn, but you are in the center of Colonial Williamsburg and have several golf courses and many dining options at your disposal. There is so much to do and always a welcoming place to come back to. In sum, I would wholeheartedly recommend the Williamsburg Inn.

Room Tip: Be sure to search for special offers. We were able to take advantage of a three nights for the pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eminva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a junior suite. Service from the moment we walked in was super. The property has a warm charm but feels modern. The walk from one end of the building to the lobby area can feel like a maze. The many sitting areas and outdoor courtyards were inviting...more like someone's private mansion than a hotel. The bar and restaurant was nice. All in all, definitely will return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SixpackDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I attended the Christmas Tea at the Williamsburg Inn two weeks before Christmas 2013 with three other lady friends. Our waitress was polished and professional, and the service was impeccable. I am not even a tea drinker, but the Holiday tea was quite good; of course, the champagne was better! I was quite surprised that our waitress opened another bottle for us!. The small dining room is intimate and elegant, the three-tiered serving dish was impressive, and the pastries and condiments were superb. Yes, it is pricey, but the $35.00 included the tip, a sampler of the tea, and several glasses of champagne. The swan boat pastries filled with custard, the lemon curd,the chocolates, the warm scones and clotted cream, need I go on? It was a luxurious treat, not one I could afford on a regular basis, but it was a lovely addition to my Christmas, and I will certainly go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wowgirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Property: Williamsburg Inn
Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Williamsburg Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing