We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Inn/Fabulous Staff”
Review of Williamsburg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Williamsburg Inn
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Inn/Fabulous Staff”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It doesn't get much better than this! The Colonial Williamsburg Inn is a 5-Star Resort of greatest beauty, elegance, charm, and service. No matter how many times we go, it just gets better and better. Well worth the splurge ~ you deserve it!

Room Tip: We were overlooking the golf course with a fabulous room, and it's at the opposite end of the In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    64
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
176
250
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The pleasure was ours. From the first greeting upon check-in to the final farewell every detail was perfect. The rooms are elegant, and every aspect of the Inn made you feel comfortable.
Let me recommend the breakfast and attraction package. The buffet breakfast is superior as is the service. The town of Williamsburg passes allow you into all areas of old town. A real plus not to have to stop at ticket counters.
The Inn is centrally located for all Williamsburg, and is convenient to the local taverns. Try Josiah Chowning's in Old Town for lunch. The outside bar is a hoot with roaming entertainment. In summer you may want to consider the air conditioning. But please don't shun the restaurants at the Inn. They are special. We were celebrating our anniversary, and the extra surprises they gave us really made the occasion.
The Inn is setback far enough from the main street to buffer the tourist throngs. It's about three short blocks, and parking is very convenient. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kissyourdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is not your usual hotel....It is an Elegant mansion that carries you back to late 18th century.
You won't see marble floors or stained glass, but you'll find yourself pampered in quaint Regency elegance and comfort.
Forget about the regular rooms, try the suites.
We had the larger suite (resort suite) and the living room was huge, with 3 draped windows, writing table, conversation area, pull-out sofa. Two small hallways connected the living to the bedroom with Kittinger Colonial Williamsburg reproduction furniture, lace-like pillowcases, gilded mirror, exceeding our (already high) expectations.
Marble bath with oversized tub and separate marble shower opens from the bedroom
Service was impeccable, polite and elegant bellboys, courteous staff, turndown service with a little chocolate carefully placed on the bed, which my kids much appreciated.
If you made your mind to reward yourself for few days, dress up and dine to the Regency room. If you are into golf or swimming, everything is in your backyard!.
My wife did not try the spa... I'll take care of that next time.
I can assure you will go back!

Room Tip: Try the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dr_austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a magical place. The service from everyone was wonderful from beginning to end. I felt very comfortable and pampered. The Inn is very clean and inviting. The buffet breakfast in The Regency Room was delicious. I am planning my next trip already :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuluNY19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jshideler, General Manager at Williamsburg Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for commenting and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our staff. They love hearing about how they had impact to our guests stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at the Williamsburg Inn for our wedding weekend and had nothing but wonderful service. The valets were very accommodating in helping the wedding planner load gifts into our car without disturbing our reception. The bellman helped with our baggage with smiles. We returned to our room after the wedding to find champagne and truffles waiting for us. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newlywed04052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First stay at the Williamsburg Inn, and it couldn't have gone better. Location can't be beat, so convenient to walk into the heart of CW anytime. Staff is super friendly and very helpful, remembered us from day one. We had a Superior room that was huge, lots of seating areas and an oversized bathroom with separate shower and tub. In fact, we turned down the complimentary room upgrade as Leaders Club members because our original room was so fantastic. It really felt as if you were a guest in an English country estate rather than in a hotel. We can totally understand why the Queen of England and other noteworthy guests stay here!

Having daily Leaders Club breakfast in the beautiful Regency Room was a great way to start the day, and complimentary cookies and lemonade in the afternoons was greatly appreciated. We also took the house car to dinner in Merchant's Square once, and it was a really welcome convenience for some tired feet! Can't say enough good things about the Williamsburg Inn, it is definitely the place to stay if you're visiting the area. There are SO many benefits and perks from staying here, be sure to check them all out and make the most of it.

Room Tip: No two rooms are alike, ask to see the room before you check in if they're not too busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpencerLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

From start to finish, everything was fantastic ! People are great and caring . Food at the Regency was delicious ! The location of the Inn is the best you can get. Location, service, quality , food and many special features can not be beat! You will truly enjoy your stay !

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleinpeter0259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Williamsburg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Williamsburg Inn

Property: Williamsburg Inn
Address: 136 E Francis St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-4271
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Family Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Williamsburg
#1 Business Hotel in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Williamsburg Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Country Estate-style Inn situated in heart of historic district. Experience true luxury at the Williamsburg Inn. While you might not be a Rockefeller, we'll treat you like one with our attention to detail and gracious southern hospitality. The Williamsburg Inn features a selection of unique rooms in an unforgettable setting, just steps from the Revolutionary City. Enjoy access to world-class dining, recreation, and spa amenities in addition to admission ticket discounts and exclusive guest-only offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Williamsburg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Williamsburg Inn-Colonial Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Williamsburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing